Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Natec HD242
Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
1
2015/12/13 - 22:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi, I've got a Natec HD242 (damn similar to Measy U4B) . Everything works fine aside from the usual problem: it has 8 GB NAND in total, but formatting is stupid AF and only about 1 GB (a little less) is available for apps and like 5+ GB is reserved for media, which is dumb (especially in a device that has a SD slot...).

So what I want to do is reflash the original firmware (already pulled all the images) with only tweaks to the <b>parameter</b> file. But during pulling it occurred that there is some nonstandard partitions like metadata for example, so I got a little scared and I'd love to tweak an original parameter file instead of creating a new one in order to avoid effing something up.

So what to do? Any ideas how to pull the parameter file from the device if it's possible at all? |(maybe it's only used by the flashing program?)

P.S.: Linux only please, I treat Windows as a last resort and want to use it only if anything else fails...

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5789
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1282
2
2015/12/19 - 10:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Let me have this file:

cat proc/cmdline >/mnt/sdcard/cmdline.txt

- Oma -

Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
3
2015/12/19 - 17:11
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Here it is. It's short, so I'm just pasting it right in:

console=ttyFIQ0 androidboot.console=ttyFIQ0 init=/init initrd=0x62000000,0x00150000 mtdparts=rk29xxnand:0x00002000@0x00002000(misc),0x00006000@0x00004000(kernel),0x00006000@0x0000a000(boot),0x00010000@0x00010000(recovery),0x00020000@0x00020000(backup),0x00040000@0x00040000(cache),0x001FE000@0x00080000(userdata),0x00002000@0x0027E000(metadata),0x00002000@0x00280000(kpanic),0x00200000@0x00282000(system),-@0x00482000(user) bootver=2013-12-27#2.10 firmware_ver=4.4.2

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5789
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1282
4
2015/12/19 - 17:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Attached pls find the parameter file with 2 GB internal storage.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

Amarok

Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
5
2015/12/19 - 17:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks very much. Btw. do you know a workaround to change the keyboard layout? (the standard procedure for Android with external keyboard doesn't work in two TV sticks I have tested)

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5789
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1282
6
2015/12/19 - 17:42
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Keyboard layout ist defind in /system/user/keylayout/Generic.kl. You can do a specific file i.e. Vendor_045e_Product_0291.kl.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

Amarok
Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
7
2015/12/19 - 18:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Wonderful! Thanks!

Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
8
2015/12/20 - 00:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Damn 🙁 It doesn't boot 🙁 Recovery works, but nothing else. Maybe it's because I used wrong software for flashing (Linux upgrade_tool v. 1.21)

What should I do now?

Here's the dump of the original ROM: http://www.filedropper.com/ims

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5789
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1282
9
2015/12/20 - 09:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Did you do LowerFormat?

Kernel.img does not contain a kernel. Pls find it attached.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

Amarok
Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
10
2015/12/20 - 13:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yep, I did, here's my slashing script:

sudo ./upgrade_tool LF
sudo ./upgrade_tool DI -p parameter3
sudo ./upgrade_tool DI -b boot.img
sudo ./upgrade_tool DI -k kernel.img
sudo ./upgrade_tool DI -s system.img
sudo ./upgrade_tool DI -r recovery.img
#sudo ./upgrade_tool DI -m misc.img

After doing that I just did a factory format using the recovery environment and now it all works fine. 

The kernel was the problem, obviously. Thank you very much for your help!

Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
11
2015/12/20 - 16:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I have one last problem, which I have already mentioned: no Polish chars. I mean when I press eg. Alt+S, I want "ś" to appear, when "ß" appears instead. I tinkered with /system/usr/ (with keymaps), but it didn't work... Is there something I'm missing? I'm attaching mu /system/usr/ folder if you want to take a look what I did with it.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5789
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1282
Avatar
Amarok
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2014/11/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
13
2015/12/22 - 13:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

OK, problem solved. The solution might be useful for others, so here it goes. (I have a different dongle based on RK3188 that has the exact same problem, so I figure someone else may benefit from this description).

The problem is not exactly layout-related. It lies not in *.kl files, but key character maps instead (*.kcl files). Path to the folder of interest: /system/usr/keychars/  The stick uses Generic.kcl by default. This is what we need to modify. There are two possible approaches - to edit it manually by yourself or to substitute a ready-made map for it. Either way, the result is to modify entries similar to this:

Original:

key A {
    label:                              'A'
    base:                               'a'
    shift, capslock:                    'A'
}

Modified:

key A {
    label:                              'A'
    base:                               'a'
    shift, capslock:                    'A'
    ctrl, meta, alt:                    '\u0105'
    shift+alt:                          '\u0104'
}

So as you see, special characters need to be provided in unicode notation. I used a ready-made kcm file myself and want it to be noted that in this case you have to look at the very beginning of the file, just after the commented out  section and change

type OVERLAY

to

type FULL

(or  type ALPHA, this should also work)

I'm attaching kcm file I used, it's recovered from the unpacked .apk file downloaded when you download "Additional Keyboard Layouts" by MODECOM S.A. from the Play Store.

The following users say thank you to Amarok for this useful post:

Oma7144
Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5789
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1282
14
2015/12/22 - 13:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Great. Thank you for sharing!

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: oattika
147 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (114), Phone (28), Tablet (6)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5789

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 432

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

davelou

Ashanak

NoonKnight

alex_25_39

astafyan

xdwolverine

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5916

Posts: 58872

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 256564

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix