Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ RK3288 ROM ] Insignia Flex Elite LP 5.0.2 custom root firmware (2015/08/08)
Avatar
bobb
Active Member
Forum Posts: 40
Member Since:
2013/01/31
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 9
121
2016/08/25 - 00:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

buzzly said
Off topic. 

 

Would someone show me which 6000mah battery purchased from Aliexpress would fit this tab?   A link would be very helpful.  TIA.  

Here is a link http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shipping-6000-mah-lithium-polymer-3766125-3-7-V-tablet-battery-V811-812-battery/32313459584.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.90.EyeOTg

The size of the battery is 3.7 x 66 x 125.

It is a tight fit in length.

Take the circuit board off the old battery and solder it onto the new battery (remove circuit board from new battery also and solder short wires onto it, to be then soldered onto old circuit board).

The following users say thank you to bobb for this useful post:

buzzly

Onda V972

Ainol Fire

iFive mini 3

Teclast P90HD

Avatar
buzzly
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2016/08/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
122
2016/08/25 - 18:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print

bobb said

Here is a link http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shipping-6000-mah-lithium-polymer-3766125-3-7-V-tablet-battery-V811-812-battery/32313459584.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.90.EyeOTg

The size of the battery is 3.7 x 66 x 125.

It is a tight fit in length.

Take the circuit board off the old battery and solder it onto the new battery (remove circuit board from new battery also and solder short wires onto it, to be then soldered onto old circuit board).  

Thanks.   Brought two of them.   

Then I found a maybe better fit one at Aliexpress/eBay :  3.7v 6000mah 38110114 lithium polymer battery.   Basically the size is 3.8 x 110 x 114 mm.   Oh well.   I have 3 tab all together.   May be I will try this one after I perform successful surgery on the first two.    

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
123
2016/08/25 - 21:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

bobb said

Here is a link http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shipping-6000-mah-lithium-polymer-3766125-3-7-V-tablet-battery-V811-812-battery/32313459584.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.90.EyeOTg

The size of the battery is 3.7 x 66 x 125.

It is a tight fit in length.

Take the circuit board off the old battery and solder it onto the new battery (remove circuit board from new battery also and solder short wires onto it, to be then soldered onto old circuit board).  

How do you solder the 2 tabs on the old circuit to the new one?  I can't, for the life of me, solder tin to tin.  Do you use electrical wires instead to connect?  I wonder if solder wick would do.

Avatar
bobb
Active Member
Forum Posts: 40
Member Since:
2013/01/31
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 9
124
2016/08/26 - 00:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

graphdarnell said

bobb said

Here is a link http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shipping-6000-mah-lithium-polymer-3766125-3-7-V-tablet-battery-V811-812-battery/32313459584.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.90.EyeOTg

The size of the battery is 3.7 x 66 x 125.

It is a tight fit in length.

Take the circuit board off the old battery and solder it onto the new battery (remove circuit board from new battery also and solder short wires onto it, to be then soldered onto old circuit board).  

How do you solder the 2 tabs on the old circuit to the new one?  I can't, for the life of me, solder tin to tin.  Do you use electrical wires instead to connect?  I wonder if solder wick would do.  

Yes, use the electrical wires to connect. The tin strips (on new battery) do not line up with the solder points on original battery circuit board.

The following users say thank you to bobb for this useful post:

graphdarnell

Onda V972

Ainol Fire

iFive mini 3

Teclast P90HD


Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
125
2016/08/26 - 19:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print

bobb said

Yes, use the electrical wires to connect. The tin strips (on new battery) do not line up with the solder points on original battery circuit board.  

Thanks for the clarification and the source for the battery.

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
126
2016/08/28 - 07:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I know..I know...  The devs have grown tired of my silly questions, but I ran across THIS link where I found a tool called "create-sdcard" that supposedly would create a nand out of an external sd card and boot the tablet from there instead of the internal storage. The author specifically mentioned this method would help where the tablet would not boot from the internal storage.

So I executed the create-sdcard.jpgImage Enlargertool using Oma's update-img and all kind of went well up to the point where it began to unpack the image and failed:  "unpacking of Android image unsuccessful...exiting"  Has anybody tried this?  If not, does anyone have an idea why the update.img cannot be unpacked?

I have this tab that's lying around doing nothing so I might as well try to destroy it and learn something in the process. Thanks in advance for any input. 

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
127
2016/08/28 - 10:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

This doesn't work anyway without bootloader/kernel support.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

graphdarnell
Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
128
2016/08/28 - 10:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Is there the same firmware on all three tabs? Can you pls post a screenshot of settings/about the tab?

- Oma -  

@buzzly: I am still interested if there are different firmware revisions on your three tabs.

- Oma -

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
129
2016/08/28 - 12:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I'd like to test another loader. Pls use this Flashpack: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=2956

Copy over the firmware files in folder rockdev/Image and flash incl. LowerFormat.

- Oma -

Avatar
buzzly
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2016/08/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
130
2016/08/28 - 14:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said

@buzzly: I am still interested if there are different firmware revisions on your three tabs.

- Oma -  

Oops.  

I have one tab still running stock firmware

Insignia#5.0.2 date 201506.134729 V01.00.08

The other two tabs already loaded with your rom via bobb's   method.   

 Build number    Oma RK32 Insignia LP 5.0.2 build v1.0 08.08.2015

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
131
2016/08/28 - 21:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
I'd like to test another loader. Pls use this Flashpack: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=2956

Copy over the firmware files in folder rockdev/Image and flash incl. LowerFormat.

- Oma -  

Oma:

Are you asking me to do this or someone else?  If it's me, should I flash the uboot file in MaskRom mode first before doing the others?  Failing this, is there anyway to restore a backup of stock rom on mine?  If possible, can I ask Buzzly to make a backup of your stock rom without any personal info and upload it somewhere?  Thanks a lot guys.  

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
132
2016/08/30 - 17:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yes. Flash the loader in MaskRom first. LowerFormat and then Run.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

graphdarnell
Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
133
2016/08/30 - 23:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
Yes. Flash the loader in MaskRom first. LowerFormat and then Run.

- Oma -  

Finally some great news.  I flashed successfully!  It's working fine now.  I will recount the process in details later in case people need to replicate it to resuscitate their stuck tablet.  Again many thanks to Oma the Man.  You beat it!

Edit:  Better yet, I'll wait to see if there's any interest from anyone first.  The only thing I forgot to test was to flash the TWRP custom recovery, though I have the feeling it wouldn't have gone well since as soon as the RK Tool finished flashing the system.img, the tab automatically rebooted. Also the Tool Oma provided didn't have a slot for recovery.  A custom recovery would've been a great help.

Avatar
buzzly
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2016/08/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
134
2016/08/31 - 14:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

graphdarnell said

Oma7144 said
Yes. Flash the loader in MaskRom first. LowerFormat and then Run.

- Oma -  

Finally some great news.  I flashed successfully!  It's working fine now.  I will recount the process in details later in case people need to replicate it to resuscitate their stuck tablet.  Again many thanks to Oma the Man.  You beat it!

Edit:  Better yet, I'll wait to see if there's any interest from anyone first.  The only thing I forgot to test was to flash the TWRP custom recovery, though I have the feeling it wouldn't have gone well since as soon as the RK Tool finished flashing the system.img, the tab automatically rebooted. Also the Tool Oma provided didn't have a slot for recovery.  A custom recovery would've been a great help.  

Of course there is interest.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
135
2016/08/31 - 19:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print

graphdarnell said

Finally some great news.  I flashed successfully!  It's working fine now.  I will recount the process in details later in case people need to replicate it to resuscitate their stuck tablet.  Again many thanks to Oma the Man.  You beat it!

Fine. I can repack the build later. Pls try the TWRP first. Rename it to recovery and flash it, just ticking parameter, misc and recovery.

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
60 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (58), Phone (2)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

edet

NapierDeltic

mohamed198

ocajnikorisnik

arnova9g

arnovag2

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix