Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ RK3288 ROM ] Insignia Flex Elite LP 5.0.2 custom root firmware (2015/08/08)
Avatar
psiufoxx
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2016/06/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
76
2016/07/01 - 19:03
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yes, but the device is only recognized through ADB sideload. Tab won't boot into bootloader. Just goes black.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
77
2016/07/01 - 19:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Ok, then you need to open the tab to start the Mask Rom Modus by shorting two NAND pins.

-Oma

Avatar
psiufoxx
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2016/06/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
78
2016/07/01 - 19:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Sadly that's gibberish to me. Might go beyond my capabilities.

Avatar
psiufoxx
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2016/06/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
79
2016/07/05 - 23:34
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I got it to work! Was able to restore a backup, and then before doing anything else I followed bobb's instructions exactly and got OMA on there. Very nice ROM you got here. ūüėČ Thanks all!


Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
80
2016/07/06 - 16:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Glad to hear that!

- Oma -

Avatar
psiufoxx
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2016/06/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
81
2016/07/07 - 16:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Anyone have any luck getting xposed to run? I'd love to install Amplify and Powernap. Also, I used "L Speed" and it really smooths out the overall experience.

I'm really surprised this little tab doesn't get more attention. Quite the find for $45 used on eBay!

Again, great work here OMA.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
82
2016/07/07 - 18:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Negative. Xposed doesn't run on RK customized LP. The reason is unknown.

- Oma -

Avatar
psiufoxx
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2016/06/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
83
2016/07/07 - 18:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Darn, cuz I'm still getting a ton of battery drain when idle. I hope L Speed alleviates that a bit, but it's kinda nuts.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
84
2016/07/07 - 18:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Try DS Battery Saver (see Play Store).

- Oma -

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
85
2016/08/11 - 06:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

psiufoxx said
I got it to work! Was able to restore a backup, and then before doing anything else I followed bobb's instructions exactly and got OMA on there. Very nice ROM you got here. ūüėČ Thanks all!¬†¬†

This thread has been inactive for a while so I'm not sure if anyone is following, but I stake my chance just in case.  psiufoxx may I ask how you managed to make a backup where no custom recovery can be installed?  Also, my unit right now is boot-looping at the insignia logo flashing and dimming stage.  I've tried to sideload the img's in OMa's rom but it would not update because of the signature or lack thereof.

1.  Would anyone be lucky enough to have the official OTA somewhere that I can download?  I'd appreciate that very much.

2.  Failing that, can I ask Oma if there's a way to flash your rom at the bootloader screen with something similar to fastboot command?  Or is this function totally locked?  If yes, is there anything else I can try?  The tab is totally stuck at the moment so I'm ready for whatever risky procedure there is.  Thanks again for any reply.  

PS:  Oma, I did try the method you suggested some time ago for flashing the TWRP recovery.  The android tool recognized the loader (tablet) but as DANee posted at the beginning, the tool did nothing.  I can't do the dd script because the tablet won't finish booting.

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
86
2016/08/14 - 06:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi psiufoxx:

I found myself in a similar situation as yours, where my tab would go as far as recovery and ADB sideload.  I've been trying to load Oma's rom (or parts thereof) without success because of the signature requirement.  Wonder if it would be at all possible for you to upload your stock rom that you restored on your tablet in its skeletal form (minus the personal and custom stuff thereon, of course) so I can try to revive mine.

I've been looking for a stock rom in vain.  I'd appreciate it very much if you could help.  Thanks again.

G. Darnell.

 

Oma:

 

In the alternative, is it possible to have a copy of DanEE's stock rom that you used as the basis for your rom? As said, I've only access to stock recovery so flashing anything other than stock is not feasible.  Thanks again.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
87
2016/08/14 - 08:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The stock recovery is only good to format partitions. Other functionality is not given by fact.

We do not know this behaviour from any other RK tab. It does not make sense that the bootloader on the NAND cannot communicate with the FlashTool.

Other typical major issue is the driver installation under Windows. Unsigned RK driver and Win8, Win10 are not friends

So, I would recommend to use Linux. You will find a Linux flashtool and other useful stuff here: http://radxa.com/Rock/flash_the_image

Try this:

upgrade_tool LF
upgrade_tool UL RK3288UbootLoader_V2.19.07.bin
upgrade_tool DI -p oma_parameter_lp.txt
upgrade_tool DI -k kernel.img
upgrade_tool DI -b boot.img
upgrade_tool DI -r TWRP_1536x2048_CrewRKTablets_v3.0.img
upgrade_tool DI -m misc.img
upgrade_tool DI -s system.img
upgrade_tool RD

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

graphdarnell
Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
88
2016/08/14 - 22:30
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the instructions.  AndroidToolRK in Windows has no problem recognizing the tab.  But just as reported earlier by DanEE, it cannot write anything to the NAND.  Low level format gets stuck at 0% and won't progress further.  To flash according to Bobb's method requires that the tab boot up, which it doesn't in my situation.  But I will try Linux to see what happens.  Again thanks for the reply.  I know you have bigger fish to fry and do appreciate your taking the time to answer trivial questions like mine.   

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
89
2016/08/15 - 10:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Tried Linux.  Device was recognized, but everything else was just the same with Win 7 as reported.  Enclosed is log by Upgrade Tool, if it means anything. 

01:09:52 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
01:10:02 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
01:10:06 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
01:11:41 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
01:32:26 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
01:47:29 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
02:15:19 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:12:14 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:15:46 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:26:00 Error:RKU_Write failed,err=-4
23:26:00 Error:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,subCode(0x0),RetCode(-3)
23:26:01 Error:RKU_Write failed,err=-4
23:26:01 Error:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,subCode(0x0),RetCode(-3)
23:26:02 Error:RKU_Write failed,err=-4
23:26:02 Error:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,subCode(0x0),RetCode(-3)
23:27:11 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:29:00 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:29:00 Test Device Start
23:29:00 <LAYER 1-5> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
23:29:00 Test Device Fail
23:31:23 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:31:23 ERROR:download_parameter-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
23:32:09 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:32:09 get_parameter_loader-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
23:33:07 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
23:33:07 get_parameter_loader-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero

Oh well....

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
90
2016/08/15 - 18:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The bootloader doesn't like to communicate with us. In such cases we need the 1st stage bootloader, which is in the SoC. Is it possible to open the tab?

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: fomenko, melguebli2
82 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (68), Phone (15), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

melguebli2

melguebli

Havry

trefftronik

asvalk

du22

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix