Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ RK3288 ROM ] Insignia Flex Elite LP 5.0.2 custom root firmware (2015/08/08)
Avatar
Dan EE
Active Member
Forum Posts: 21
Member Since:
2015/07/17
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
16
2015/08/11 - 18:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I don't see the USB dropping out.

I have come to the conclusion that the bootloader is a special build. I think only way to root it and get a new ASOP ROM using the AndroidTool would be to get into the MASKROM mode. This may be a second shooter on the grassy knoll theory.

The lower 2K*32bit space where the bootloader resides cannot be read other than the CMDLINE area. This prevents me from dissembling bootloader.

The internal images on the FCC site show a different board with a pressure switch that can be activated by squeezing the cover. This is not present on the production card. I suspect this was used to recover bricks during development.

I think that the manufacturer has a version of the AndroidTool that can send a special command to unlock the bootloader to enable reflashing for units. Unless this get leaked and posted, the MASKROM must be used for the AndroidTool.

Maybe there will be an update for this tablet in the future that fixes the short comings that the firmware has right now. Other than an undersized battery, the hardware is very good. Most of the issues seem to be in the firmware. RockChip could compete with Samsung, Qualcomm and others if they would just clean up the SDK and help the manufacturers with the firmware. This chip seems to have more support for set top boxes than tablets.

Until there is a field update that can be examined to find another approach, this is going on the back burner for now. I have too much going on to devote much time to this now. I may go ahead and magwire the eMMC clock someday, however as an engineer I am working on stuff that is more challenging and fun.

Thanks for the time you have spent on it.

Dan EE

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
17
2015/08/11 - 19:01
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I don't see any reason why this should not work, except the hardware is corrupted. We will see if there is other feedback.

- Oma -

Avatar
TesseractSpace
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2015/08/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
18
2015/08/13 - 20:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I'm getting the same result. I'm no engineer so I'm afraid I can't pop it open and mess with it, but I too get 0% of the lowerformat when I try to do so, as well as test fail.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
19
2015/08/13 - 20:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Ok, I guess the tab is still booting? Can I have the log from folder RKAndroidTool/Log? Which Windows?

- Oma -


Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
20
2015/08/14 - 06:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Ok, we will go another way.

Here is the factory tool and an update.img: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=2622

Run RKBatchtool with admin rights and flash acc. to included instructions.

- Oma -

Avatar
TesseractSpace
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2015/08/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
21
2015/08/14 - 14:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
Ok, I guess the tab is still booting? Can I have the log from folder RKAndroidTool/Log? Which Windows?

- Oma -

Sorry about the delay, here's the log

 

08:01:14 816 AndroidTool v2.3.0.0 start run
08:01:27 190 Layer<3-2>: RunProc is ending, ret=0
08:02:03 524 Layer<3-2>: RunProc is ending, ret=0
08:03:13 744 AndroidTool v2.3.0.0 start run
08:03:45 016 ERROR:SwitchAdbToRockusb-->No connect Ack received.
08:05:22 684 Error:RKU_Open-->CreateFile failed,err=2,path=\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_320A#5&384AAE62&0&2#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}
08:05:22 692 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,subCode(0x0),RetCode(-1)
08:06:56 598 Error:RKU_Open-->CreateFile failed,err=2,path=\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_320A#5&384AAE62&0&2#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}
08:06:56 598 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,subCode(0x0),RetCode(-1)
08:07:13 809 Layer<3-2>:Test Device Start
08:07:13 817 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
08:07:13 817 Error:Layer<3-2>:Test Device Fail
08:07:13 825 Layer<3-2>: RunProc is ending, ret=0
08:07:21 952 Layer<3-2>:Test Device Start
08:07:21 961 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
08:07:21 966 Error:Layer<3-2>:Test Device Fail
08:07:21 972 Layer<3-2>: RunProc is ending, ret=0
08:07:29 265 Layer<3-2>:Test Device Start
08:07:29 265 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
08:07:29 273 Error:Layer<3-2>:Test Device Fail
08:07:29 279 Layer<3-2>: RunProc is ending, ret=0
08:13:00 788 Error:RKU_Open-->CreateFile failed,err=2,path=\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_320A#5&384AAE62&0&2#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}
08:13:00 788 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:LowerFormatDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,subCode(0x0),RetCode(-1)

 

downloading the new tool, will try it soon

Avatar
TesseractSpace
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2015/08/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
22
2015/08/14 - 15:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print

tried new tool, here is log

06:06:39 338 Rockchip Batch Tool v1.8.5.0 start run in vs2008 build
06:14:04 195 **********Upgrade Start Total<1>**********
06:14:04 203 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Start
06:14:04 203 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
06:14:04 211 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Fail
06:14:04 211 **********Upgrade Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<0>ms**********
06:14:46 427 Rockchip Batch Tool v1.8.5.0 start run in vs2008 build
06:15:16 892 **********Restore Start Total<1>**********
06:15:16 896 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Start
06:15:16 896 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
06:15:16 904 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Fail
06:15:16 904 **********Restore Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<16>ms**********
06:21:13 921 **********Restore Start Total<1>**********
06:21:13 929 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Start
06:21:13 929 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
06:21:13 937 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Fail
06:21:13 945 **********Restore Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<15>ms**********
06:21:20 264 **********Upgrade Start Total<1>**********
06:21:20 272 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Start
06:21:20 272 <LAYER 3-2> ERROR:TestDevice-->RKU_TestDeviceReady failed,Total is zero
06:21:20 280 <Layer 3-2> Test Device Fail
06:21:20 288 **********Upgrade Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<16>ms**********

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
23
2015/08/14 - 20:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

This is still a connection/driver issue.

Which Windows? Is there a specific USB cable coming with the tab? Do not use USB3.0 ports.

Can you pls check if you can start flash mode by: Reset, hold Vol+ and press (or hold) Reset?

If you do not get connection, then pls flash the update.img via Linux: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?p=3973

sudo ./upgrade_tool uf /path/to/update.img

- Oma -

Avatar
TesseractSpace
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2015/08/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
24
2015/08/15 - 17:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

No

Oma7144 said
This is still a connection/driver issue.

Which Windows? Is there a specific USB cable coming with the tab? Do not use USB3.0 ports.

Can you pls check if you can start flash mode by: Reset, hold Vol+ and press (or hold) Reset?

If you do not get connection, then pls flash the update.img via Linux: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?p=3973

sudo ./upgrade_tool uf /path/to/update.img

- Oma -

Windows 10, using the cable it came with.  Can't test any further because I returned the tablet to the store. Sorry about that, it just got to frustrating with the battery dying so fast.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
25
2015/08/15 - 19:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print

There are no Rockchip drivers for Windows 10. So, cannot work.

- Oma -

Avatar
TesseractSpace
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2015/08/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
26
2015/08/17 - 15:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
There are no Rockchip drivers for Windows 10. So, cannot work.

- Oma -

I was using the windows 8 drivers and the system seemed to have no problem seeing that the tablet was connected and which mode it was in, but I'm guessing the flashing software is more sensitive.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
27
2015/08/17 - 16:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

The unsigned Rockchip driver and Win 8 are no friends. Best is to use Win 7 or Linux.

Here is the latest FactoryTool 1.39 and DriverAssistant v4.3, released with the upcoming RK3368 builds.

- Oma -

Avatar
Rigattoni
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2015/09/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
28
2015/09/27 - 13:54
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi folks,

just a short question from my side:

I got an Andoer RK3288 Smart TV box. Would it be possible to use this ROM too?

 

BR,
Peter

Avatar
rrobinson1216
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2015/10/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
29
2015/10/19 - 05:02
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Would love to get this working! Tried on two computers so far but might try more at work tomorrow. Followed all the instructions, but the tool never sees the device - also, to see it, shouldn't the device notice the computer when Debugging is turned on and ask you to 'trust' the device? The computer I tried also seemed to love attempting to install other drivers as well. 

 

Anyway, looking forward to trying more tomorrow. 

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1381
30
2015/10/19 - 06:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

08:05:22 684 Error:RKU_Open-->CreateFile failed,err=2,path=\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_320A#5&384AAE62&0&2#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}

This is still a flash driver issue. Use the tool set from post #27. Update.img see post #20.

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
97 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (83), Phone (13), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

CEONET

AndriusS

Andrius_S

pasha_minsk

genius

genius770

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix