Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ RK3288 ROM ] Insignia Flex Elite LP 5.0.2 custom root firmware (2015/08/08)
Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
136
2016/08/31 - 21:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said

graphdarnell said
Finally some great news.  I flashed successfully!  It's working fine now.  I will recount the process in details later in case people need to replicate it to resuscitate their stuck tablet.  Again many thanks to Oma the Man.  You beat it!

Fine. I can repack the build later. Pls try the TWRP first. Rename it to recovery and flash it, just ticking parameter, misc and recovery.

- Oma -  

Yes, sire. I'll get to it later and report back.

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
137
2016/08/31 - 21:07
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The faint-of-hearts might hesitate. But given that a stuck tab is of little use, one stands to lose little by diving in. I'll list the steps in chronological order:

ALWAYS DISCONNECT the battery FIRST.

1. Peel the silver tape off the surface of the board. Be careful where it sticks to the lcd amber ribbon underneath as you might tear it with too much force. Go slowly;

2. Pry off the metal shield covering the CPU with a pointed flat blade at the tiny clips around the perimeter. Be careful not to insert the blade too deeply as some components are tiny and can be easily damaged;

3. With the components exposed, locate the FORESEE chip; locate pins 8-9 and mark them (see Post # 93 – red rectangle). I had to count the pins under a magnifier because they're so close together;

4. Copy all files in the rockdev/image folder + the “oma_parameter_lp.txt” in the zip package in post # 1 to the same folder in the package in post # 129. Launch RKTool of the # 129 package. In the GUI, select all the correct files. Uncheck all but the loader (first column);

5. Ain't no other damn way to flash the loader with this thing.  With power off, connect the data micro USB cable to the tab; short and hold 8-9 with a tiny flat screwdriver tip, then connect the USB cable to the PC. Done correctly, the GUI should switch from “No DEVICE Found” to “Found One MASKROM Device” at the bottom. If not, repeat this step again. Before repeating, make sure the tab is completely off again (I had to do it several times at each attempt to get it right so don't expect it to work at first try).

6. Flash the loader. If successful, the GUI will show “Found One LOADER”;

7. Lower Format the tab;

8. Uncheck loader; re-check all other items; flash them all.

It takes quite a few minutes (in my case) to finish. Once the download is complete, the tab will reboot on its own. First boot might take some minutes so be patient. When it gets to the “Oma” animation, you know you're good to go. Have fun.FlexMB1.jpgImage Enlarger

Illustration: Motherboard with metal shield removed.

Yellow: mesh tape patch. There are 2: one covering the metal shield that needs to be peeled off first.

Blue: this is where the lcd ribbon connects. Be careful in separating the covering tape from the ribbon.

Red: clips holding the metal shield (I did not highlight them all, but you get the idea).

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
138
2016/09/01 - 00:03
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said

graphdarnell said
Finally some great news.  I flashed successfully!  It's working fine now.  I will recount the process in details later in case people need to replicate it to resuscitate their stuck tablet.  Again many thanks to Oma the Man.  You beat it!

Fine. I can repack the build later. Pls try the TWRP first. Rename it to recovery and flash it, just ticking parameter, misc and recovery.

- Oma -  

Tried flashing.  Came out ok as you can see in the picture, except touch functionality is not there.  No touch, period.  OTG mouse likewise does not work because the 5V supply is unavailable.  A CWM alternative might, if one exists, but what do I know?  Tempted to try THIS, but maybe should wait for your advice thereon.

Question on the side:  We had to resort to MaskRTWRP.jpgImage Enlargerom Mode where there's no ADB because no OS.  However, if ADB in developer's options is available, can we not flash the recovery through ADB shell, the way you and bobb did it with all images?

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
139
2016/09/01 - 10:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

As reported, TWRP installed but touch not working.  I know Oma may be super busy so I jumped the gun and installed CWM (Oma crew's own) using ADB shell commands (page 3 & 4).  Seemed to stick ok.  I'm testing to see how it works.  First impression:  Must use volume + button only.  Volume - button acts like power button.  Sd card formatted in NTFS cannot be mounted.  Fat 32 ok.  Which makes it rather inconvenient since the OS only recognizes NTFS.  Otherwise, it backs up fine.  Haven't tried to restore yet.  But will post results once done.  


Avatar
mjsharon
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2012/09/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
140
2016/09/02 - 02:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi - trying to install the rom.  Everything is fine until I get to step 13 - installing system.img.  Won't install and says "Operation not permitted".  All help appreciated.

Thanks.

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
141
2016/09/02 - 03:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

mjsharon said
Hi - trying to install the rom.  Everything is fine until I get to step 13 - installing system.img.  Won't install and says "Operation not permitted".  All help appreciated.

Thanks.  

If I were you, I'd make sure of the following:  

1.  The system.img is not corrupted in any way.  This could happen during download, extraction, and copying;

2.  Recheck for syntax errors;

3.  Use the PC to issue commands instead of Terminal Emulator.  The touch sensitivity on this model is not the best I've seen.

Good luck.

BTW, has anyone experienced this tab not connecting to Linux as an MTP Device?  There's obviously communication in Linux since I can issue ADB commands, just not as a media device.  Mine shows up fine in Win 7, but not otherwise. Wonder why.

Avatar
mjsharon
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2012/09/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
142
2016/09/02 - 14:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

All set.  Used a different emulator.  Thanks.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
143
2016/09/03 - 05:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Missing touch support in TWRP is kernel related. Pls use CWM from here: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?p=5336

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

graphdarnell
Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
144
2016/09/03 - 10:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
Missing touch support in TWRP is kernel related. Pls use CWM from here: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?p=5336

- Oma -  

Flashed CMW through ADB shell without incident.  Tested with full NAND backup successfully.  However, I'm a bit concerned about testing restore since I don't know if it works reasonably well.  Any precautions I should take?

On the side, I see no difference between package 2.2 and 3.0 insofar as the CWM.img, apart from the volume buttons' function.  I got 6.0.5.1 both times, I believe.

Lastly, you mentioned in post #69 about the possibility of using another kernel and system.img.  I assume the stock kernel can't be modified to activate touch for TWRP.  Any chance that the other kernel might do it?  Hopefully my tinkering would be of help to others.

I know you're way too busy so I'll wait until whenever.  I do appreciate your guidance very much.  Thanks again.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
145
2016/09/03 - 12:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

A kernel (hardware abstraction layer) is a binary and tab specific. Consequently it cannot touched and without kernel sources this is a dead end.

The mounting and other stuff (i.e. PMC driver) are different in LP. So, I would recommend to use the CWM compiled for LP.

If the CWM can backup it also will restore. It is only the reversed way.

Can I also have a screenshot of settings/storage (full length)?

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

graphdarnell
Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
146
2016/09/04 - 06:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
A kernel (hardware abstraction layer) is a binary and tab specific. Consequently it cannot touched and without kernel sources this is a dead end.

The mounting and other stuff (i.e. PMC driver) are different in LP. So, I would recommend to use the CWM compiled for LP.

If the CWM can backup it also will restore. It is only the reversed way.

Can I also have a screenshot of settings/storage (full length)?

- Oma -  

At your request.  I also noticed that the internal storage is about ~12GB. However, with only 2.40GB of data, it's reduced to 5.71GB left, which does not add up.  Anyway.....Storage2.pngImage EnlargerStorage1.pngImage Enlarger 

The following users say thank you to graphdarnell for this useful post:

Oma7144
Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
147
2016/09/04 - 21:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Here is the re-packed firmware: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=2957

It does contain the mini-loader, the stock parameter file (for max partition sizes) and a CWM.

I guess it is possible to flash this firmware in Loader-Mode now.

Can somebody try to flash the CWM, pls (see attached picture)? It is a limited risk. If the loader will not work it won't flash anything.

- Oma -

flash_CWM.jpgImage Enlarger

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

graphdarnell
Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
148
2016/09/05 - 00:34
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
Here is the re-packed firmware: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=2957

It does contain the mini-loader, the stock parameter file (for max partition sizes) and a CWM.

I guess it is possible to flash this firmware in Loader-Mode now.

Can somebody try to flash the CWM, pls (see attached picture)? It is a limited risk. If the loader will not work it won't flash anything.

- Oma -
  

I'll try to flash CWM in Loader Mode tonight and report back.  One thing I forgot to mention is that if you flash Oma's Rom using the stock (lollipop) parameters, you'll get stuck at the Insignia Logo page.  You need Oma's parameters instead.

BTW, Oma, how do I format the data partition thoroughly as with TWRP?  CWM does it in a flash, and I don't think that's thorough because I still miss about 4GB of space afterwards.  I ran eMMC Brickbug Check and memory block check and they both came back positive.  Or if you point me to a site that shows how to do that with ADB, I'd appreciate it.  I've been looking online, but no one provides complete analysis and instructions.  Thanks. 

Avatar
graphdarnell
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2015/12/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
149
2016/09/05 - 06:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

It's a no go with the new repacking.  See enclosed thumbs.

 

CWM.pngImage Enlarger

 

Edit:  Can't dash the question I asked above about formatting the internal storage.  I was able to do it with CWM and reclaim the "lost" storage.  Also I did restore the tab with CWM backup, and it worked quite well.  At least if you install CWM through ADB shell, we don't have to worry about OTAs bricking the tab like it happened to a few of us before.  Big step forward, I'd say.   

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
150
2016/09/05 - 18:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The stock recovery running first will format all user partitons. In TWRP or CWM one will get the same doing a factory reset.

So, to recap:

- we can now flash the rooted system.img and CWM.img through adb (with dd comand)
- in case of a bricked tab it is necessary to flash the repacked build in MaskRom mode

Do I miss something?

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
75 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (69), Phone (6)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

Bishop1250

md liton

Sevan

FrpUnlock

zx758542

michaelgatwood

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix