Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
CM10.1 - help/advice an memory configuration
Avatar
serpi
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2012/10/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
2014/08/30 - 20:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi,

I've installed the CM10.1 by Oma on my NextWolf 7 and I wonder, how I can make a memory configuration I would like to have.

There are some "fix" packages available but these are missing some description.

What I would like to have: Mount all of the internal "sd card" (8 GB) as internal memory and the external sd card (16 GB) as internal sd card so that an app, that is moved to sd is moved to the (now) external sd card.

Is this possible?

There is a fix named "mount intSD to NAND" which looks like doing at least the first the part what I want.

Is this all that I have to install?

Or maybe is there an app for that?

I think I have to format the NAND again after this and reinstall the apps?

Thanks & Ciao,

Alfred

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
2
2014/08/31 - 14:01
sp_Permalink sp_Print

if you want the external sd card mounted instead of the internal one then you need the mount extsd to nand fix.

Avatar
serpi
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2012/10/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2014/08/31 - 19:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

JochenKauz said
if you want the external sd card mounted instead of the internal one then you need the mount extsd to nand fix.

But wouldn't that add the external sd card to the internal (NAND) memory?

I'm not sure if we are talking about the same.

There are three memory types, internal memory (NAND?), internal sd, external sd.

With the Oma ROM the internal is already expanded to 2,5GB (and about 3,5 internal sd).

So now, when I move apps to sd they are moved to the (relatively) small internal sd. Also, many games (for example racing game) that download a lot of data are using the internal sd for this.

I cannot use the external sd card as "the" sd card to move apps to.

This is why I would like to expand the internal memory with the amount of the internal sd and use the external sd as internal sd (so no external sd for the system).

Is this possible?

For me it seems the internal sd to NAND fix could add the (whole?) internal sd to the internal memory.

But will it also use the external sd as internal sd?

Is there a desciption available for the fixes?

Sadly I'm not allowed to post the relevant xda forum :-(

Thanks & Ciao,

Alfred

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
4
2014/08/31 - 21:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I think you don't know what the NAND is used for.

You have 8GB NAND, this NAND has several partitions or used space

1. loader

2. boot

3. kernel

4. system

5. userdata

6. the rest

the first 5 parts are fixed and used. Only part 6 is normally mounted as /mnt/sdcard and the external sdcard is mounted as /mnt/external_sd, and that is less then 8GB depending on 1-5 perhaps 4GB or less.

the mount extsd to NAND turns the mounting point of part 6. The external sdcard ist mounted as /mnt/sdcard and the internal rest of the NAND is mounted as /mnt/external_sd.

That's all. 


Avatar
serpi
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2012/10/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
2014/08/31 - 22:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi,

many thanks for the explanation, didn't know that, now I understand.

I've installed the extsd fix now but it didn't change anything.

So I think I have to reflash ROM & patches?

Thanks & Ciao,

Alfred

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
6
2014/09/01 - 00:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yes.. complete new installation.

Avatar
serpi
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2012/10/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
7
2014/09/02 - 18:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for your help but it seems I'm too dumb for this...

I've tried several new installs but it seems nothing works.

I'm thinking that no zip file is installed that I install from CWM recovery because even screen rotation/tilt isn't working but it should with the right fix.

Here's my problem:

When I flash all the files with RKAndroidTool I have to use the stock recovery or else it will forever boot into recovery.

But if I use stock recovery I cannot install zip files from sd.

So, first I flash everything with stock recovery, reboot, install CWM revcovery, reboot, install zip files (sensor fix, ext sd to nand, format nand), reboot, no rotation and only internal sd card.

So, how can I get what I want?

Sorry for these dumb questions :-(

Thanks & Ciao,

Alfred

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
8
2014/09/02 - 23:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

First flash with Oma's stock recovery, this will do the format for you.

After that flash the CWM recovery, boot down the tablet, restart rkandroid tool, uncheck all, except parameters and recovery and flash that.

Now tablet should boot into CWM, so you can install all fixes that are needed, format_nand is not needed in this case, cause stock recovery made the format.

Avatar
serpi
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2012/10/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
9
2014/09/03 - 11:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks, but that's exactly what I did but the fixes do not work.

I think I found the problem, the CWM recovery seems not to work fully with my tablet.

When I install a fix it says mounting /system, copy files, unmount /system but when I go to the option to manually mount the /system partition, it says error, partition not found, not mounted.

So, I "installed" the rotation fix by simply copying the .so file to it's place, rebootet and rotation/tilt works!

For the /sdcard /external_sd swap I will look into the fstab file (do you know where it is?), all I need to do would be swapping the mount points, right?

Thanks & Ciao,

Alfred

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
10
2014/09/13 - 00:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

look at /system/etc/vold.fstab

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: murigny64, SwOrDFiShSolo, keshav22
112 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (89), Phone (22), Tablet (4)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5664

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 430

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

keshav22

Stuccoboy

kozlinka

lucasn

gina d

bartgtr

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5884

Posts: 58439

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 255362

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix