Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Pipo M9 pro custom root Android 4.2.2 firmware (version 1.0.7 2013/11/20)
Avatar
ludoke
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 85
Member Since:
2013/10/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
31
2013/12/01 - 13:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Igor101 said
Install new ROM from external SD card not working for me also.

 

Does it only work from the original ROM?

 

Like he said,he tested on his Riley Rom and tried with Stock and Kasty and both are working for him.

Dont know why it's not working for us.

I think it's odd that this could work at all.

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3169
32
2013/12/01 - 14:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print

segundus said
(A little off topic, maybe admin would like it as a new thread?)   AN EASY WAY TO UPDATE THE ROM   I came across some information that suggested it is possible to install a new ROM on the M9Pro (maybe other PIPO products?) by simply placing the update file in the root of the external SD card and renaming it to "update.img".  When you next boot up the M9Pro, the update file is recognised and you are given the opportunity to install it in a pop-up window. First I tested it whilst my system was (AHEM!) RileyROM2.3   Embarassed and used the official chinese ROM that was released 20/11/13 on my external SD card. I rebooted, and yes, the update was recognised and installed.  During the install the little busy android figure shows along with a sliding scale showing progress of install.  The system seemed to reboot a couple times ... have patience ... and eventually it rebooted into the official Chinese ROM. Just in case it only worked with the official ROM, I then tested it using the latest Kasty ROM  and rebooted the official version, and it recognised the update file and installed that too. So it seems to be an easy method, doesn't it? Maybe other PIPO owners would like to take the bull by the horns and test it out.... (the usual warnings apply... if it bricks it isn't my fault!)

 

Might one ask the source/location of this information.

If correct(and I don't doubt your experience) it seems an incredibly easy way to install without the use of third party tools and the initial hassle of installing drivers,  particularly as Kasty ROM is in the form of "update.img" allready.

Like yourself I am concerned if there are any potential pitfalls, though users seem of the opinion that m9pro is very difficult to brick.

Anyone else have any input?

 

This should have better been posted in another topic, as it's not completely related to this specific firmware.

 

Actually this firmware update method is not encouraged as it can easily break when doing updates between two firmwares with a different partition layout (/data size). Also, it won't wipe dalvik and cache that can cause quite a few problems between firmwares versions.

In the worse case, if this update method fails you would end up with a non booting tablet that would need to be reflashed with Rockchip Batch Tool version 1.7

 

Cheers.

 

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
ludoke
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 85
Member Since:
2013/10/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
33
2013/12/01 - 14:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print

griff2 said in his first post that it possibly not should be on this topic but no reply on this from the mods,with a quick reply on this we can avoid that members reply on it,with your quote as result.

It's not working anyway

Avatar
philmckean
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/11/30
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
34
2013/12/01 - 15:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print

is it possible to use this software on a gemini gem10313bk 16 gb rom 1 gb ram rk3066


Avatar
ludoke
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 85
Member Since:
2013/10/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
35
2013/12/01 - 15:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Dont think so,see first post it's for the PiPO M9 PRO witch is not rk 3066

Avatar
uli-hh
Active Member
Forum Posts: 31
Member Since:
2013/09/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
36
2013/12/01 - 17:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Just installed … Antutu 18665…so far so good.Cool

Thanks! Excellent work! Well done!

Love the new option to hide the status bar. But after reinstalling my apps with titanium backup the hide button was gone. Cry

Does anyone know how I can reactivate the "Hide feature" of the status bar?

Avatar
griff2
Sarlat
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/08/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
37
2013/12/01 - 23:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello folks,

 

I am sorry to learn that so many of you haven't been able to make this 'quick way to update ....' work. :(

 

When I tried it out I thought I had 'discovered' something, but on another forum where I reported it, I was told it is something that will work with all Rockchip devices, and the drawbacks that this way of flashing a new ROM has.

 

I can only tell you what I did, and my initial delight that it worked.

 

Because you have been having problems I did a bit of ferreting around the web for English language confirmation of this and came across this LINK  on VonDroid which appears to confirm that it is possible. I have no idea why it worked on my PipoM9Pro WiFi, and it won't for other people.  :(

 

There's another link, this time about the RK3066 that possibly confirms what I was told that it works on all Rockchip devices. LINK

 

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3169
38
2013/12/01 - 23:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Please, pretty please, if you want to continue on this subject, make a separate topic on the forum about it.

I already explained a few posts above that this firmware update method is not recommended.

Sure it does works on some setup, but that's not the proper way to do it. 

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
griff2
Sarlat
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/08/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
39
2013/12/02 - 17:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print

@Admin: Sure. No problem.  Thanks for your patience.

Avatar
vljamvig
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/11/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
40
2013/12/03 - 10:12
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello folks,

Can somebody tell me why when i try to make work the Antutu Benchmark, Antutu crashes and reboots my Pipo M9 Pro 3G. Tried many things, i even installed 3D rating since my Samsung s4 had the same problem but was fixed with this apps installed.

Hi have the latest rom installed: Pipo M9 pro custom Android 4.2.2 firmware (version 1.0.7 2013/11/20).

Another thing, when i restart the tablet, there´s a double click noise that comes out and i don´t know why? Is it the camera setting itself?

Thanks in advance…

Avatar
cracktech
Malaysia

Moderator
Forum Posts: 432
Member Since:
2013/01/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 112
41
2013/12/03 - 11:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Regarding the double clicking sound , it is harmless just ignore it . I had the same issue with the noise but after a  while got used to it and then after some furthet firmware update the clicking noise has gone away.

 

Regardng the Antutu Benchmark, I dont know what is causing your device to reboot and I would totally uninstall any apps that crashes my device, (just because you want to see the Antutu score?) Forget it if it is causing random reboots. It be detrimental to the long term health of your device. Just forget it! (It is like saying let me see your Cxxk is it longer than my cxxk? and then getting it bitten off by a dog)

The following users say thank you to cracktech for this useful post:

vljamvig

About Me    LENOVO S939 MTK6592 Vibe 2.0 - 1507,LENOVO A8-A5500 KitKat MTK8382 S029,Lenovo Tab2 A7-30HC MT8382 Lollipop,LENOVO A880  S027 MTK6582 (JB),ONDA V975m V3 AMLOGIC M802 (KitKat)PiPo M9Pro RK3188 KASTY ROM (KitKat # 407 Mod), ZENITHINK ZTPAD:C93 Duo Core AMX CM10.2_rc-3, Z102 And. 4.0.4, C91 And. 4.0.4,AIGO M60 Android 4.04 6" A13 (rooted).Lenovo A369i 4.2.2 S011 ROW

 

Avatar
vljamvig
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/11/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
42
2013/12/03 - 13:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print

cracktech said
Regarding the double clicking sound , it is harmless just ignore it . I had the same issue with the noise but after a  while got used to it and then after some furthet firmware update the clicking noise has gone away.

 

Regardng the Antutu Benchmark, I dont know what is causing your device to reboot and I would totally uninstall any apps that crashes my device, (just because you want to see the Antutu score?) Forget it if it is causing random reboots. It be detrimental to the long term health of your device. Just forget it! (It is like saying let me see your Cxxk is it longer than my cxxk? and then getting it bitten off by a dog)

Thanks for your reply, i will forget the Antutu Benchmark for know :)

Avatar
moonwalkie
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/12/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
43
2013/12/03 - 19:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

thanks guys, what a great rom! Last question if perhaps the flashing proces is going wrong, then you can't get in android anymore, how can you switch to flashing state? because the pipo M9 pro cannot boot to recovery with volume up and power button?!?

 

Avatar
ludoke
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 85
Member Since:
2013/10/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
44
2013/12/03 - 19:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

RKbatchtool.exe or Finless Rom Flashtool v 1.37

The following users say thank you to ludoke for this useful post:

moonwalkie
Avatar
moonwalkie
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/12/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
45
2013/12/03 - 19:55
sp_Permalink sp_Print

ludoke said
RKbatchtool.exe or Finless Rom Flashtool v 1.37

but only through switch button, but when the pipo is not going into bootmode, how can you set it to recovery? RKbatchtool doesn't work when i only connect the pipo, i need to know the commands of the pipo M9 pro for restore mode? there are no buttons!

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
117 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (99), Phone (18)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

Ossir88

DGa

mike666

ielu

IchWillNurEineDateiDownloaden

fafa66

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix