Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Pipo M9 pro (3G model) custom root Android 4.2.2 firmware (OTA_1.0.0 - 2013/09/13)
Avatar
cracktech
Malaysia

Moderator
Forum Posts: 432
Member Since:
2013/01/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 112
16
2013/09/24 - 01:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Yes and No at the same time!! You will be using and have to download the firmware in a few parts broken up into a few **.img files  maybe a *.bin and a parameter file but they all come in a zipped folder where you unzipped them but the difference lies in the the flashing Tools use it use a NOT the normal RK Batch tool that we used to flash the standard firmware but another custom application called the RK AndroidTool where it looks for this varoius **.img file and once it is found it will start the flashing procedure I am not sure but I think the current version for this tool is the v1.34. But I prefer the KASTY ROM it is as close to the factory ROM and it shouldnt posed any hiccups or incompatibility and we have the most recent kernels and updates whereas the customs ROMs uses sometimes a kernel 4 or 6 version earlier and with the modifications cames problems like flickerring screens when power falls below a certain limit or freezes due to incompatibilities sometimes with the CWM or TWRP recoveries itself.

Other than that I think the OMA ROMS should be the better ones although I hate anything using TWRP/CWM recoveries. The KASTY ROM is the best rock solid Firmware customised and updated and you should be able to do anything with it with the "init.d" enabled kernel. I have heard a lot of feedbacks from other forums which I personally have not experience on my M9Pro using KASTY ROM ( and it uses the latest firmware updates from factory) I started of with build #270 and now on #314 in ashort span of less than 1 month can any custom ROMs beat that??

About Me    LENOVO S939 MTK6592 Vibe 2.0 - 1507,LENOVO A8-A5500 KitKat MTK8382 S029,Lenovo Tab2 A7-30HC MT8382 Lollipop,LENOVO A880  S027 MTK6582 (JB),ONDA V975m V3 AMLOGIC M802 (KitKat)PiPo M9Pro RK3188 KASTY ROM (KitKat # 407 Mod), ZENITHINK ZTPAD:C93 Duo Core AMX CM10.2_rc-3, Z102 And. 4.0.4, C91 And. 4.0.4,AIGO M60 Android 4.04 6" A13 (rooted).Lenovo A369i 4.2.2 S011 ROW

 

Avatar
zorolili
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/08/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
17
2013/09/24 - 10:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

hello
I installed the rom and it works very well
the problem that the tablet recognize my microsd samsung 64 gb but I can not read or write has disappointed
the error message with es-explorer is "java.io.IOException: Write error: I/O error"
thank you for your help

Avatar
tsam2
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/09/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
18
2013/09/24 - 12:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

zorolili said 

hello
I installed the rom and it works very well
the problem that the tablet recognize my microsd samsung 64 gb but I can not read or write has disappointed
the error message with es-explorer is "java.io.IOException write error" thank you for your help

 

Hi.I think you should check your tablet specs.My pipo m9 pro recognises up till 32 gb, so maybe its the same for you.

Avatar
tsam2
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/09/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
19
2013/09/24 - 12:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print

cracktech said
Yes and No at the same time!! You will be using and have to download the firmware in a few parts broken up into a few **.img files  maybe a *.bin and a parameter file but they all come in a zipped folder where you unzipped them but the difference lies in the the flashing Tools use it use a NOT the normal RK Batch tool that we used to flash the standard firmware but another custom application called the RK AndroidTool where it looks for this varoius **.img file and once it is found it will start the flashing procedure I am not sure but I think the current version for this tool is the v1.34. But I prefer the KASTY ROM it is as close to the factory ROM and it shouldnt posed any hiccups or incompatibility and we have the most recent kernels and updates whereas the customs ROMs uses sometimes a kernel 4 or 6 version earlier and with the modifications cames problems like flickerring screens when power falls below a certain limit or freezes due to incompatibilities sometimes with the CWM or TWRP recoveries itself.

Other than that I think the OMA ROMS should be the better ones although I hate anything using TWRP/CWM recoveries. The KASTY ROM is the best rock solid Firmware customised and updated and you should be able to do anything with it with the "init.d" enabled kernel. I have heard a lot of feedbacks from other forums which I personally have not experience on my M9Pro using KASTY ROM ( and it uses the latest firmware updates from factory) I started of with build #270 and now on #314 in ashort span of less than 1 month can any custom ROMs beat that??

Hi.Thanks for your reply but i have already flashed the tablet.One thing that i need to ask is that i used the RKTool(downloaded from pipo oficial site which they use to upgrade stock fw) and not the one you are suggesting me.So far no problem or low performance(in fact this custom rom is much better).Should i flash it with the rk android tool or stay with it?I mean if there will be any possible bricks in the future.


Avatar
cracktech
Malaysia

Moderator
Forum Posts: 432
Member Since:
2013/01/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 112
20
2013/09/24 - 15:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print

first question does your custom ROM comes in various *.img (I mean there are a few *.img files or only one *.img file like the KASTY ROM)

If your answer is no it doesnt come s in a few *.img files  and only one *.img file then the upgrade pprocess  is the same as the factory firmware upgrade proccess and uses the same tools. If it comes in a few *.img files then only the kernel files were updated ( I think so) and the rest remains as per stock firmware.

If it comes in the a few *.img files and it has other various fliles in there, then you have to use the RKAndroid Tool and see for yourself what it tries to load onto your pad.

Which ROM are you using most of them has modified kernels and recoveries and most customs ROM would have come in a few *.img files, parameter files and other one (I forgot). The only exception is the KASTY ROM which sticks close to factory ROM format.

 

About Me    LENOVO S939 MTK6592 Vibe 2.0 - 1507,LENOVO A8-A5500 KitKat MTK8382 S029,Lenovo Tab2 A7-30HC MT8382 Lollipop,LENOVO A880  S027 MTK6582 (JB),ONDA V975m V3 AMLOGIC M802 (KitKat)PiPo M9Pro RK3188 KASTY ROM (KitKat # 407 Mod), ZENITHINK ZTPAD:C93 Duo Core AMX CM10.2_rc-3, Z102 And. 4.0.4, C91 And. 4.0.4,AIGO M60 Android 4.04 6" A13 (rooted).Lenovo A369i 4.2.2 S011 ROW

 

Avatar
tsam2
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/09/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
21
2013/09/24 - 17:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

cracktech said
first question does your custom ROM comes in various *.img (I mean there are a few *.img files or only one *.img file like the KASTY ROM)

If your answer is no it doesnt come s in a few *.img files  and only one *.img file then the upgrade pprocess  is the same as the factory firmware upgrade proccess and uses the same tools. If it comes in a few *.img files then only the kernel files were updated ( I think so) and the rest remains as per stock firmware.

If it comes in the a few *.img files and it has other various fliles in there, then you have to use the RKAndroid Tool and see for yourself what it tries to load onto your pad.

Which ROM are you using most of them has modified kernels and recoveries and most customs ROM would have come in a few *.img files, parameter files and other one (I forgot). The only exception is the KASTY ROM which sticks close to factory ROM format.

 

I used the custom rom which is on the top of this topic (M9pro_OTA_1.0.0_update_20130913.img).So i think i'm ok.

By the way i highly recommend it, just to mention that it improved my wifi signal a lot.Many thanks to the creator of this rom!

Avatar
rifkin
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2013/08/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
22
2013/09/30 - 16:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi guys,

I need your help and I hope you understand my problem. In the last update, Pipo has erased the 3G toggle to disable the mobile data. Now, if you disable the mobile data and reboot the tablet with the SIM card introduced, you can't pass the lock screen (you type your PIN but the tablet doesn't detect the SIM card).

I think that this is awful. I've been looking for how to put again the 3G toggle but I couldn't. I read in XDA that editing a file with a program called SQLite Editor you can change your toggles. In our firmware, that file doesn't have the line to edit and if you type it, it doesn't work.

In another post, they say that you can put the toggles editing the file framework.xml on folder system/csc but we don't have that folder.

I've installed a MOD for Android 4.2.2 through CWM but it doesn't work either and I've been searching if with the Xposed Framework I could do anything (hey, thanks to Xposed I put the battery percentage on the status bar!)

So I don't know where is the option to edit the Notification Center Toggles, extract the SIM each time that I reboot is bored (and very complicated to re-introduce it again!).

Thanks for your time.

Avatar
cracktech
Malaysia

Moderator
Forum Posts: 432
Member Since:
2013/01/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 112
23
2013/09/30 - 17:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

I hope your device is rooted : You can try this simple trick by adding this line in  your build.prop (I think you are sophisticated/versed in Android rooting and mods)

try this  by adding the line in build.prop

keyguard.no.require_sim=1

 

If it is not rooted yet use this script file and put it on your PC which must have the RK drivers installed already connect PC to device and see whether ADB connected  notification comes up on your device and wait for at least 10 minutes to 15 minutes for your PC to install ALL RK drivers (it should show on your PC as new device found and installing drivers click on on the notification to see the progress of the installation until ALL have finished  and have  GREEN ticks) and then RUN DAN.bat

the link to ROOTING Script is here : https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzXIan93EkgkYVlld3N3MXZiZ0k/edit?usp=sharing

good luck

The following users say thank you to cracktech for this useful post:

rifkin

About Me    LENOVO S939 MTK6592 Vibe 2.0 - 1507,LENOVO A8-A5500 KitKat MTK8382 S029,Lenovo Tab2 A7-30HC MT8382 Lollipop,LENOVO A880  S027 MTK6582 (JB),ONDA V975m V3 AMLOGIC M802 (KitKat)PiPo M9Pro RK3188 KASTY ROM (KitKat # 407 Mod), ZENITHINK ZTPAD:C93 Duo Core AMX CM10.2_rc-3, Z102 And. 4.0.4, C91 And. 4.0.4,AIGO M60 Android 4.04 6" A13 (rooted).Lenovo A369i 4.2.2 S011 ROW

 

Avatar
TechDude
US
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/08/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
24
2013/09/30 - 22:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I reside in the US and have 2-week old M9Pro Wifi-only model running this Kasty 09/13/13 OTA #314 ROM. Works pretty well, have not tried OTA update due to comments here. Does anyone know for sure that the OTA update process even works with the stock PiPO OTA ROM? Has anyone loaded the stock OTA ROM and successfully updated to 1.0.1? I have seen posts on other sites that seem to indicate that it does work, but nothing definitive. If it does, and is only broken due to ROM mod/customization, is Kasty or anyone else currently researching why its broken?

Avatar
cracktech
Malaysia

Moderator
Forum Posts: 432
Member Since:
2013/01/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 112
25
2013/09/30 - 23:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Yes the stock frimware works with OTA update but it is a rather small update around 8Mb size.

But please if you use the KASTY ROM do not do OTA update or you will be faced with a "dead android" bootup screen (remember the belly up thing that we told ?). But your device is not broken just get a pin and reset the device at (near the back camera) it will boot up OKay  after that.

If I understand it correctly it doesnt work with the custom ROMs or any other customs ROM (the OTA). But there are efforts to get the stock firmware updated and capture the updated files and the more difficult part is the kernel updates (thats why the android goes belly up thingy). All of the M9Pro custom kernels were modified to have 4,6, 8, or 16 Gb versus stock of only 2gb data space and it gets in the way of a proper kernel updates.and the other is the PiPo registration (some device are preactivated by the factory before sending out thas why we dont see or feel any difference when we first boot it up) thing which most customs ROM do away with, it is sucha hassle to call PiPo to give us a registration code.

So the team that could get their customs ROMs to successfully do an OTA update will be the winner. But it will be at least a few months away by the looks of things.

About Me    LENOVO S939 MTK6592 Vibe 2.0 - 1507,LENOVO A8-A5500 KitKat MTK8382 S029,Lenovo Tab2 A7-30HC MT8382 Lollipop,LENOVO A880  S027 MTK6582 (JB),ONDA V975m V3 AMLOGIC M802 (KitKat)PiPo M9Pro RK3188 KASTY ROM (KitKat # 407 Mod), ZENITHINK ZTPAD:C93 Duo Core AMX CM10.2_rc-3, Z102 And. 4.0.4, C91 And. 4.0.4,AIGO M60 Android 4.04 6" A13 (rooted).Lenovo A369i 4.2.2 S011 ROW

 

Avatar
rifkin
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2013/08/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
26
2013/10/01 - 10:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

cracktech said
I hope your device is rooted : You can try this simple trick by adding this line in  your build.prop (I think you are sophisticated/versed in Android rooting and mods)

try this  by adding the line in build.prop

keyguard.no.require_sim=1

 

If it is not rooted yet use this script file and put it on your PC which must have the RK drivers installed already connect PC to device and see whether ADB connected  notification comes up on your device and wait for at least 10 minutes to 15 minutes for your PC to install ALL RK drivers (it should show on your PC as new device found and installing drivers click on on the notification to see the progress of the installation until ALL have finished  and have  GREEN ticks) and then RUN DAN.bat

the link to ROOTING Script is here : https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzXIan93EkgkYVlld3N3MXZiZ0k/edit?usp=sharing

good luck

Hi again,

I'm sorry for don't answer before, I was very busied. I'm using this ROM and it's rooted. So, my build.prop has a similar line:

keyguard.no_require_sim=true

I changed 'true' for '1' as you said, nothing happened, tablet kept on asking me for the PIN. After, I changed '1' for 'false' and all remained the same. Anyway, thank you very much for your help.

Avatar
despojos69
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/09/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
27
2013/10/01 - 22:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

I have installed ROM in my device and all is ok except Skype.

However, I am developing an android application and device is not recognized by adb process. I have changed settings in order to enable USB debugger. If I connect other device (huawei or samsung) it is recognized because I have installed google usb drivers for them. Does someone know where I can download driver for PIPO in order to develop with Google android sdk?

When I connect PIPO device is showed in my Windows 7 "devices list" as "PIPO M9 Pro", but it does not have driver.

Thanks,

Avatar
slackerlx
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 52
Member Since:
2013/09/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 9
28
2013/10/02 - 08:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print

There's a folder in the uploaded package with drivers for several x64 bit systems

The following users say thank you to slackerlx for this useful post:

Mr.BlueSky

horizontal.gif

The Force shall free you but the bankers won't

Avatar
robulle
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2013/10/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
29
2013/10/10 - 13:35
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi everybody,

first of all I beg you pardon for my English but I am French !

I own a Pipo M9-Pro 3G tablet for 1 month and I flashed the Kasty 09/13/13 OTA #314 ROM of this topic.

I didn't get any trouble neither with wifi nor 3G with the stock rom but wanted to get rid off chinese apps and other stuff.

Actually I have one question about the multi-users. It was working well with the stock rom but now it is not.

I haved modified the build.prop to had the "max_users=..." line in order to get the "users" menu available in the setting panel.

I have added a second user then when I start the tablet I can choose between my account and the account of the second user (my wife).

If I choose the second user, the gmail account setting apps starts. Everything is fine but at the end of the process, the launcher doesn't start and the tablet displays a black screen with "com.android.provision.DefaultActivity" at the top left of the screen, only the settings at the top right is working. If I log in on my account it is working well (Launcher, apps, etc.) the issue is only with the second user. 

Can someone help me ? Is the multi-users available with this ROM ? On french forums I read that I have to wait until android is creating the second user profil after gmail settings but I waited for 10 minutes and nothing appened !

Thanks !

PiPO M9-Pro 3G

Avatar
amgat
Norway
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/09/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
30
2013/10/10 - 14:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I have also enabled multiuser profiles on my android tablet without any problems (i'm also on Kasty 09/13/13 OTA).

At first I enabled multiuser profiles using an android shell software. I did the following from shell:

entered "su" to switch user id, and then enter "setprop fw.max_users 4" (4 family members are using this tablet). Then created the first account using "pm create-user username". This reboots the tabled, and then multiusers are enabled. The problem however is that every time the tablet is rebooted (or crash for that matter), the users are gone.

So to solve this, i added "setprop fw.max_users 4" to build.prop, Multiusers are now always available after reboot.

Don't know if this helps - best of luck!

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
135 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (126), Phone (8), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

jacklewis3

123456asd

valdes1964

pipo2015max

Vickyabc

massoud

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix