Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Onda V972 (V1 hardware) Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean root custom firmware V3.2 (2013-06-21)
Avatar
edific
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/07/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
61
2013/07/03 - 16:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hallo,

can I use this rom on a Archos 97 Platinum HD.

Avatar
famimon
Member
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
2013/03/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
62
2013/07/03 - 16:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

In theory it should be possible to flash it with Phoenix but the camera won't work because the Archos uses a different hardware for the cameras

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3170
63
2013/07/03 - 16:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hallo,

A while ago, I read some feedback of users who tried the ARCHOS firmware on the ONDA V972 and it did not fully working, the camera was failing if I recall right. So it seems there are some small differences in hardware between the Onda V972 and the ARCHOS 97 Platinum. I am not sure if it's any better with the different hardware revisions of the V972 (V1/V2/V5)

Anyway, it's probably not very safe to try it as I believe ARCHOS hasn't yet released a firmware a full firmware image and rather supplies a part OTA update on their website.

Still, if someone wants to try it, I am interested in the results Wink

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
famimon
Member
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
2013/03/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
64
2013/07/03 - 16:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The Archos porting issue with the camera was solved in a custom rom some weeks ago, I tried both and this rom performs much better (despite the battery drainage).

 

I wouldn't recommend testing this rom in the Archos since there wouldn't be an easy way back to the archos rom, you'd need to flash first the 2.0 of the Onda and then install the OTA by recovery


Avatar
Bondo2
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
65
2013/07/03 - 16:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print

famimon said
The Archos porting issue with the camera was solved in a custom rom some weeks ago, I tried both and this rom performs much better (despite the battery drainage).

 

I wouldn't recommend testing this rom in the Archos since there wouldn't be an easy way back to the archos rom, you'd need to flash first the 2.0 of the Onda and then install the OTA by recovery

How is the battery of Archos, does it drain like Onda ? Is it the same battery ?

 

Avatar
famimon
Member
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
2013/03/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
66
2013/07/03 - 17:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The Archos is basically the same tablet with exception of the cameras (I wonder why), they both have the same battery

 

Avatar
Bondo2
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
67
2013/07/03 - 17:11
sp_Permalink sp_Print

famimon said
The Archos is basically the same tablet with exception of the cameras (I wonder why), they both have the same battery

 

i understand they are the same but you said "except for the battery drain" does this mean the battery drain is different on Archos firmware ?

 

Avatar
famimon
Member
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
2013/03/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
68
2013/07/03 - 17:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Archos firmware is based in Onda's 2.0 which is Android 4.1.1, in this version the battery consumption is lower, both in Archos and Onda devices but the performance is much poorer

Avatar
Bondo2
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
69
2013/07/03 - 17:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

famimon said
Archos firmware is based in Onda's 2.0 which is Android 4.1.1, in this version the battery consumption is lower, both in Archos and Onda devices but the performance is much poorer

Can you tell how much long battery last using it continuously ?

 

Avatar
Foxxy
Member
Forum Posts: 15
Member Since:
2013/07/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
70
2013/07/03 - 17:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

My battery indicator states that the battery is always at 30C, never, ever changes, does anyone else have this problem?

Avatar
ferrochrome
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/03/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
71
2013/07/03 - 19:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print

http://t.cn/zQhPLxc - official firmware

The following users say thank you to ferrochrome for this useful post:

Foxxy
Avatar
inacom
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/07/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
72
2013/07/04 - 00:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I tried to put my device on USB debug mode and put it off. I tried connecting it to the system I followed the steps 1-6. It behave as it was upgrading and off. Now the device keep restarting before boot completion. It cannot even boot again. When I plug the charger it will start booting automatically without completion.

Any help will be appreciated.

ONDA V972
Version 1.33

Thanks.

Avatar
Andrew
Bucks., UK
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2013/06/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
73
2013/07/04 - 08:54
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I have been trying to squeeze as much out of my battery as I can. This is what I have done so far:

 

- Turned off all sync options on the google account via settings.

- Installed Juce Defender, made sure its enabled and set to aggressive mode.

- Made sure vibration is turned off in settings.

- Reduced the brightness of the display under screen in settings.

 

I have extended my battery life by about 15% according to 'JD' so far, but I hope to get more out of my v972 still.

 

Andy

Avatar
Bondo2
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
74
2013/07/04 - 11:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Facebook problem

Just upgraded to 3.2 and I am having a strange problem using facebook page (Firefox and built in browser), friends photos in posts (the small photo) doesn't show and even when I take the link to the photo and paste it in a new window, it timesout

 

Settings problem

 

I can't enable USB debugging as most settings are disabled ?!

Avatar
Alban1
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2013/03/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
75
2013/07/04 - 11:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Go to top right in developer options to switch on/off options to enable usb debugging

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: kkn
73 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
3 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (66), Phone (8)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

dnjakabssh

KaanFDS

jackthomas

hakhiem

jenom

kfwacky

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix