Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Onda V972 (V1 hardware) Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean root custom firmware V3.2.1 final (2013-07-29)
Avatar
greg22
Active Member
Forum Posts: 21
Member Since:
2013/03/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
46
2013/09/18 - 14:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I have this casty's ROM V3.2.1 final (2013-07-29) for more than a month, and battery drains between 3-4 hours.
Is it battery, or something else?
I use it for browsing internet all the time.
I bought new tablet on february 2013.
I charge batteri every day,  for at least 5 hours, sometimes more, from zero to 100%.

Frown

 

---------------------------------------------------------
Onda V972, V1 & kasty v331_20131122

Avatar
Bondo2
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
47
2013/09/18 - 17:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

greg22 said
I have this casty's ROM V3.2.1 final (2013-07-29) for more than a month, and battery drains between 3-4 hours.
Is it battery, or something else?
I use it for browsing internet all the time.
I bought new tablet on february 2013.
I charge batteri every day,  for at least 5 hours, sometimes more, from zero to 100%.

Frown

 

This is the typical time for the tablet, 3-4 hours continuous use with wifi on. It is the screen

Avatar
bogg
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
48
2013/09/27 - 08:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi guys..

 

  this rom has been out for a while but I didn't upgrade awaiting feedbacks and also because I was happy with my tablet running the previous 3.0 version. I just decided to upgrade and everything went smoothly except that I just bumped on an 'insufficient space' problem while installing some games.. I just realized that where I previously had a full 32GB internal storage it is now split in 2 distinct Internal Storage.. a 2GB for apps and the rest (29GB) for Media..  I still had a few games I wanted to install and I'm also thinking of the future apps I might fumble onto and want to install. What's with that new split.. and what's the solution to my problem ? 

 

  Is there a way to get a unified Internal Storage like I had before, and would that mean reinstalling everything. Or is there a way for me to specify a setting which would decide where apps should be installed, like forcing them to install in the 29GB part ?

 

  Thanx for your help

Avatar
Bondo2
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
49
2013/09/27 - 19:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

bogg said
Hi guys..

 

  this rom has been out for a while but I didn't upgrade awaiting feedbacks and also because I was happy with my tablet running the previous 3.0 version. I just decided to upgrade and everything went smoothly except that I just bumped on an 'insufficient space' problem while installing some games.. I just realized that where I previously had a full 32GB internal storage it is now split in 2 distinct Internal Storage.. a 2GB for apps and the rest (29GB) for Media..  I still had a few games I wanted to install and I'm also thinking of the future apps I might fumble onto and want to install. What's with that new split.. and what's the solution to my problem ? 

 

  Is there a way to get a unified Internal Storage like I had before, and would that mean reinstalling everything. Or is there a way for me to specify a setting which would decide where apps should be installed, like forcing them to install in the 29GB part ?

 

  Thanx for your help

You can use App2SD to move apps to other storage and free the 2GB. Or you can just go to settings -> apps  and click on the app you want to move and you will see move to SD card

 


Avatar
bogg
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
50
2013/09/27 - 21:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi,

  Thanx a lot Bondo2.. this worked great and I was wrongly thinking that moving an app to SD Card meant to the external SD Card which it's not. I freed up a lot of space from my 2GB by moving the biggest games to the internal SD Card, problem solved.

  I noticed that my Tablet reports a total RAM of 1.5GB when the tablet is advertised as a 2GB RAM tablet.. At first I thought there was some 500 megs reserved for the OS but some app let's me see that the total is really 1.5GB with a little over 1GB free when nothing is running. Am I the only one with that problem? Is there a logical explanation to this difference?

  I have one of those tablet tagged as a v2 according to the serial number but requiring a v1 firmware to work properly (camera). Could it be that I own some kinda unofficial copy of a Onda v972 (ram and serial being wrong).

  Love this forum.. thanx for the help guys.

 

 

Avatar
greg22
Active Member
Forum Posts: 21
Member Since:
2013/03/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
51
2013/10/01 - 17:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Why did my onda v972 (before flashing) half year ago lasted 5-6 hours of web browsing and now it lasts just 3 hours?

 

---------------------------------------------------------
Onda V972, V1 & kasty v331_20131122

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3170
52
2013/10/01 - 17:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

That's quite a large difference, have you measured the battery life in the same way between both firmwares ?

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
greg22
Active Member
Forum Posts: 21
Member Since:
2013/03/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
53
2013/10/06 - 14:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yes I did. Frown
I think, that replacing batteries with newer ones will be solution of my problem. 

 

ONDA V972 (v1)

The bad:

- It is tablet with awful: battery, speakers, camera, wifi (short range, cant connect with my Nokia hotspot).

- And is not meant to be used outdoor on sunny weather because of luck of screen illumination.

- Lag is constant problem when more apps, games are installed.

- Also when typing - double, tripple or multiple letters occur. Like: "whhhhhhaat is thhe probblem wiiiith thee keyboaard". It is not the keyboard, but the screen and static electricity...

- Charger is so hot when charging, the plastic around has deformed.

- no BT, SIM, GPS (but we knew that when we bought it)

The good:

- low price (300$ or 250€ for europe)
- high resolution LCD Cool

My next tablet wont be cheap one. Confused

Three more questions:
- Can i somehow move some installed apps to external SD card ?
- What are best value long lasting batteries for Onda v972 (I'm good with soldering) ?
- Which charger from eBay has proven to be successful for the tablet ?

Thank you for answers and all comments are welcome Laugh

Greg

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------
Onda V972, V1 & kasty v331_20131122

Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
54
2013/10/06 - 20:07
sp_Permalink sp_Print

on the keyboard issue. I have this issue, it is only when charging and only when the power supply gets hot. does yours also do it on battery as well? if not is is probably your power supply as you indicated that is gets hot. my only thought is when the supply gets hot it creates dirty power that interferes with the touchscreen.

 

the funny thing is that with my new larger battery installed I have not had an issue with the touchscreen while charging. Perhaps there is an issue with the battery protection circuit which was replaced when I swapped in the battery. 

 

I fixed my wifi by increasing the ground plane of the antenna. the battery is mounted to a metal plate and that metal plate is the ground plane for the antenna. I used copper tape and placed it on the ground plane. This increased the reception reliability and stability greatly.

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3170
55
2013/10/06 - 21:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print

msav, 

I'm curious if you could upload some pics of your hardware modifications (battery & WiFI) ?

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
56
2013/10/07 - 17:11
sp_Permalink sp_Print

here is a link to the photos i posted at xda. 

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2092329&page=129

 

you can see at the top of the photo the copper tape I put over the metal shield. Below you will see the battery I installed after fixing the poor lack of soldering that manufacturer did. Sorry I did not get step by step pics of the tape job documented.

 

I will tell you this. I have 2 v972 tablets one of them the wifi has worked perfectly the other not so good. after doing this mod. I can put it side by side with the good one and the wifi signal is identically the same. 

 

I am getting 6 hours of run time streaming videos off the net consistently with the new battery.

Avatar
superHM
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2013/04/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
57
2013/10/24 - 09:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print

HDMI output in 4K Player is always 720p 50Hz.

Can't find the way to change it to 1080p as in previous ROMs.

 

Any idea??

Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
58
2013/10/24 - 17:01
sp_Permalink sp_Print

go to settings , display, under HDMI setting select hdmi output mode. then select the desired output mode. 

 

I have not tested 4k player after setting this but it works great for NFL Gamepass app

 

 

Avatar
renato0134
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2013/03/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
59
2013/10/30 - 21:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi guys, I just installed this version and my memory is gone. I can't download any application or take any picture. It's says "no external storage is available"

 

my tablet is 972 v1 32gb

 

What can I do?

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3170
60
2013/10/30 - 22:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

You can try reinstalling the firmware, flash with PhoenixSuite (tutorial).

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: Daryel
94 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (85), Phone (9), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

dubsiki

dubsi

vblxcimdwqgcztgrve

billcamp1984

simoxor33

kontra007

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix