Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Onda V972 root custom firmware v2.0 (2013-03-30)
Avatar
alligatorluke
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/03/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
16
2013/04/03 - 01:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print

First I tried to update but even if PhoenixSuit said everything went fine, the tablet still stopped to the green Emergency screen. Therefore I went for format and install, and everythng went fine but... all the changes are regurarly lost...

Avatar
groundhogman
Active Member
Forum Posts: 32
Member Since:
2013/02/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
17
2013/04/03 - 01:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Normally  when you format and install all old firmware/software is removed and fresh put on.I can only think it might be corrupted firmware,try downloading a fresh copy and install.

Make sure you have the right version of firmware for your tablet.There are 2 versions of v972.

Avatar
alligatorluke
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/03/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
18
2013/04/03 - 01:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Unfortunately I already tried that... installed 1.35, 2.0, SuperNova_3.1... everything goes fine until I restart the tablet... and then all the data content is lost and you restart from scratch with tutorial and all the application on the main screen as when you have just flashed a rom...

Avatar
kaotikjezta
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
19
2013/04/03 - 05:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Is there any way to update without losing everything on my tablet. When I did the 1.35 update I chose the non format option and still lost everything


Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
20
2013/04/03 - 17:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

whenever you flash , update. ect. there is always a chance you can lose all data. 

 

Rule of thumb Before you do anything use titanium backup to backup all your apps.

 

Another rule of thumb backup the rom with CWM or TWRP before doing anything.

 

This way your covered no matter what happens  You can always restore you previous image if the rom your testing out is complete crap. and if the rom is good you can restore all your apps with TB.

 

I never trust a non format upgrade with phoenixsuite, or a cwm install without clearing data, cache and dalvik.

 

 

Ps after you backup with TB you will need to copy the tb folder to your ext sdcard or your pc or you will lose it all.  also do the same with your CWM backup folder otherwise you will lose it as well. 

 

If you have games that have obb folder you will need to back that up as well or you will have to redownload the data after the restore.  TB does not backup data files so backup the entire android folder to be safe that includes the odb folder

 

The following users say thank you to msav for this useful post:

ankar84, kaotikjezta
Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3169
21
2013/04/03 - 18:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Just a quick note...

In addition to existing CWM Recovery support in ArcTools, I'm currently adding TWRP Recovery (build by ankar84, thanks to him !) more info on this soon.

Cheers.

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

ankar84, jored1222

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
nick789uk
Active Member
Forum Posts: 45
Member Since:
2013/03/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
22
2013/04/03 - 19:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi folks thanks for the rom all appears fine apart from catch up tv having a blank screen and only playing audio, the strange thing is the adds play but the programmes just audio, Netflix, itv player and bbc player all work fine, worked ok on 1.35 any help with this.

 

Nich

Avatar
billkaroly
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 61
Member Since:
2013/03/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 6
23
2013/04/03 - 20:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print

It's not just YouTube...  Some games such as Marble Blast do the same thing. Black screen, ad on the bottom and music.

Avatar
MindMe
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2013/02/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
24
2013/04/03 - 20:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print

oh, so i'm not the only one who has black screen on YouTube (besides audio is playing)?.. interesting.

 

inner "4K videoplayer"works fine for me though.

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3169
25
2013/04/03 - 21:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I'll see if I can fix that video problem, but in the worse case it's probably be fixed soon by Onda thru another firmware update and I'll quickly rebuild the custom firmware.

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
26
2013/04/03 - 21:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Onda probably rushed to get this firmware out. While a lot of improvements were made, they obviously did not test everything and assumed that most things would just continue working. 

 

I hope that the reason that the other manufacturers of A31 tablets have not released their update is due to them perfecting their update.  

 

That being said. I have not found enough issues that bother me to really complain and I am glad they got this out to us quickly. 

 

 

Avatar
TechBalloon365
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/02/25
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
27
2013/04/04 - 15:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Seems that everybody has the black screen issue with the Youtube app.

Mobile Youtube through browsers do not have this issue though on the tablets we have tested.. strange..

 

 

Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
28
2013/04/04 - 15:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print

This is probably due to the GPU optimization changes done with sdk 2.0

 

The fix could either be ondas side or fixed on the individual apps side. Hopefully the allwinner tablets are popular enough to get the attention of the app developer. Can we really expect onda to go down checking every single app for compatibility. 

 

This is just speculation. Hopefully it is an easy fix.  I would think if onda spent the time making sure netflix and the other popular apps worked that they would have made sure youtube worked.  Maybe those apps work with the gpu differently. 

 

Just thinking out loud. 

 

 

Avatar
billkaroly
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 61
Member Since:
2013/03/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 6
29
2013/04/04 - 16:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

It's not the app. It's several apps. I can think of at least two offhand. Worked before but not after.

 

When are they going to fix the charging issue? Why can't I use my tablet and charge it at the same time?

Avatar
msav
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 71
Member Since:
2013/02/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
30
2013/04/04 - 16:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I realize it is more than one app. I was just trying to to theorize way some apps work ans some don't Perhaps there are things in common with the apps that don't work, that a single fix would fix them all. 

 

I have had no problems using while charging my tablet at the same time using the stock charger or an Ipad 4 12W charger. If I try it with a lesser power supply it will go from charging to not charging intermittently.

 

 

 

 

The following users say thank you to msav for this useful post:

billkaroly
Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: Efrairo
101 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (90), Phone (11), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

ielu

IchWillNurEineDateiDownloaden

fafa66

cengiz70

zbieder

alexred-p001

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix