Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
V813 possibly bricked during upgrade
V813 possibly bricked during upgrade
Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
2014/08/28 - 03:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hope someone can help.

Purchased a new V813 for my sister as have 2 ourselves and VERY happy with them.

As per my usual practice I immediately got latest FW from this forum and reflashed. When I started PheonixSuite it prompted for new version, downloaded and installed then commenced reflash using 'format' option, as I have in the past.

The reflash failed "please ensure firmware valid and device workout correctly".

I have tried older version of firmware from this forum and also all new versions from Baidu/Onda China.

All have same result 'upgrade' gets to 3% then appears to stop after several minutes timeout before above message appears. On one occasion upgrade got to 7% on scale but then same result. In desperation I also removed completely my virus and firewall protection, just to be sure not computer related, computer running XP and I have never had this problem before.

ANY help appreciated. Is there a higher level recovery procedure or program? 

 

Edit

I also tried the V813S FW from Baidu as I had a horrible thought that it may have been an S model received inlieu of V1 V 813. Same result. Edit Seems like it is V813, not 813S as model is stamped on back cover, unless cover has been changed.

Also tried a previous version of PheonixSuite.

Avatar
arrasmith
Kansas, USA
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 65
Member Since:
2012/06/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
2
2014/08/28 - 18:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Make sure you are using the USB cable that came with the v813. The angle of the case makes it so only a really long microUSB tab (like the one it ships with) will seat correctly into the tablet. I had the same problem until I always made sure to use that correct cable (or the one I modified by cutting away excess plastic from the cable plug).

Also, it may take a time or two to finally flash. You can't permanently brick an Allwinner based tablet. Just need to keep trying until it works.

Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2014/08/29 - 04:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print

arrasmith said
Also, it may take a time or two to finally flash. You can't permanently brick an Allwinner based tablet. Just need to keep trying until it works.

Hi

Thankyou for your reply, much appreciated.

I would certainly like to think this is the case. I have been using both a trimmed down USB cable and also the original cable. I have found the original cables have not lasted very long, cables wires seem to break easily. In fact have just found that reusing this cable a few times it has failed!! Also the USB sockets on the mother board appear rather weak, is it possible to replace these?

I have tried probably over 100 times over the last 3/4 days as I am of the same opinion that these tablets are very good although my first one did fail dramatically, had multi coloured flashes scrolling across the screen and when I tried to reflash could not connect at all. The present 2 we have have been great.

Going to get a new USB cable, just in case this is the problem.

Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
4
2014/08/29 - 07:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Got new cable, same result. 

Couple of things

1. I did not turn on ADB debug, I forgot.

2. On Pheonixsuite install there appears to be 2 options but as it is Chinese, which should it be?

3. Is it possible to use another program?

4. On Pheonix suite home page when connected and FW upgrade running, p/suite says'no device connected. This is despite the program apparently detecting and allowing upgrade to commence. Also it I unplug the USB during the upgrade it immediately comes up with 'same failed message as above.

5. If I plug in USB without setting 813 to 'flash' mode, I get 'unrecognised USB' message on computer. This would indicate that cable etc appears to be working??

6. Is v813S FW useable on  v813?

This has certainly got me stumped!!! Help!!!!


Avatar
arrasmith
Kansas, USA
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 65
Member Since:
2012/06/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
5
2014/08/29 - 15:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

For an english Phoenix Suite, MSI has an Allwinner 31s based tablet (the Primo 81) and it's firmware download has in it the Chinese and English Phoenix Suite. You can download it here. And you can only use Phoenix Suite to flash Allwinner based tablets.

And the firmwares are very very specific to tablets. So I doubt the v813S would work.

If unplugging the USB gives same failure as before ... I'm guessing it is tablet USB connection, Computer USB connection, or cable. You've replaced the cable, you can try a different Windows computer as well. If you still get the failure then it may be the tablet's USB connection (I really hope not though).

Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
6
2014/08/29 - 16:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Thanks again for your reply.

Downloading the file, rather large so taking awhile!

If tablet is faulty hopefully I can do something via Aliexpress, bought through them.

Edit

Afraid the Pheonixsuite version in download was same as my original, same result when I ran it. At present updating to newest vrsion again, don't hold out much hope though.

Avatar
pingu123456
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 103
Member Since:
2013/04/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 28
7
2014/08/30 - 22:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print

oldfella said
Got new cable, same result. 

Couple of things

1. I did not turn on ADB debug, I forgot.

2. On Pheonixsuite install there appears to be 2 options but as it is Chinese, which should it be?

3. Is it possible to use another program?

4. On Pheonix suite home page when connected and FW upgrade running, p/suite says'no device connected. This is despite the program apparently detecting and allowing upgrade to commence. Also it I unplug the USB during the upgrade it immediately comes up with 'same failed message as above.

5. If I plug in USB without setting 813 to 'flash' mode, I get 'unrecognised USB' message on computer. This would indicate that cable etc appears to be working??

6. Is v813S FW useable on  v813?

This has certainly got me stumped!!! Help!!!!

1 Forget this - makes no diference

2 are you talking about install on PC? follow the tutorial precisely here

3 No

4 You need to have Phoenix suite running on the PC with the firmware upgrade ready to load, and only then connect the tablet (which must be fully powered off - if in doubt hold power key for approx 10 secs) via USB

5 sorry, I am not sure if this indicates a problem with the cable or not. If thecable works reliably as a normal USB connnection to PC ( i.e. the PC recognises a device attached, then I can't see why the cable should be at fault

6 No

Can you find a Windows 7 PC to try it on? It may help.

Pingu

Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
8
2014/08/31 - 04:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Thanks for your reply.

I am now pretty sure that the tablet supplied was faulty. As per my original post, I am pretty conversant with the reflash procedure as have 2 V813 and one other that failed. I can not see where I have gone wrong on this one.

Reasons I think faulty.

1. The tablet did not come in it's original box, though not definitive certainly an indication that may be a returned, possibly 'refurbished' unit

2. I opened up the unit and was surprised how loose and easily opened the back cover was. I have opened my other V813's at different times, and certainly initially, the back cover was quite hard to dislodge. 

3. I carried out the steps of the reflash procedure meticulously and was definitely in in 'flash' mode as PheonixSuite showed the timer line which timed out at 3% or 7% depending on the the image file I was using. Also I have found there is a definite soft 'click' when holding the power button down. After which PheonixSuite comes up with the notices to 'upgrade'.

4. The cables I was using were initially the that supplied but also 3 others trimmed/modified to suit the Onda. All cables operated on both my other V 813's.

Conclusion in my opinion now is that the tablet has faulty hardware/software, either a faulty USB socket or BIOS not operating USB correctly.

The computer I am using has successfully upgraded my V813's several times.

I have put in a dispute with AliExpress, now waiting result.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: murigny64, Wizard13gr, fadbruno, giaur500, saju23, EricGTS5570
175 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (141), Phone (33), Tablet (7)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5664

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 430

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

ronbo3

yhetro

Sangui

Miki0

mahesh_parmar

Xahc

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5884

Posts: 58443

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 255384

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix