Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
V813 Black screen, Dead?
Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
2013/07/28 - 06:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

my 813 appears to be dead.

Received yesterday, was working OK until I powered off, held power button around 10 sec to reboot.

 

When unit restarted got error message that some google file did not start. (Can not verfiy the correct message as unit now not starting). I then commenced to try to upgrade via Pheonix suit. In doing so unit restarted a few times instead of going to debug mode (held home & power button several presses). Eventually unit started with Chinese, was in English.

 

Powered off again to retry debug but then unit appears not to respond at all. Have checked for dark grey screen as suggested in one thread, but screen is black. When I press power button for around 10 sec to reboot, there is a slight click after around the 10 secs but screen does not light up and nothing seems to happen.

Edit Seems the click happens every second power button press, like switching on/off.

 

Any suggestions VERY welcome 

Avatar
Crossrock
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/06/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
2
2013/07/28 - 07:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Start up can take a while after FW install. Maybe u thought it was OFF and it wasnt and u actually did turn it OFF. Try reinstalling KastyFW. Starting in Chinese is no problem as u can change the language after boot.

 

Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2013/07/28 - 07:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi Crossrock

Thanks for your reply.

The problem is that I did not manage to get to the FW upgrade stage. Unit has failed whilst trying to connect to the computer in bebug mode.

The tablet is still in original state, but refuses to start. Can confirm that the clicking does occur every second press of power for around 10 sec, then power again for around 10 sec, no click. Appears like could be toggling power off/on but nothing happening.

Edit

Possible problem with USB connection? Maybe stuck in debug mode but not connecting to computer?

Have tried 2 different USB cables and 2 different computers but no luck.

Help anyone?

Avatar
Crossrock
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/06/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
4
2013/07/28 - 09:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Is your computer recognizing the 813 ie connecting usb at all.... the 813 has to use the usb cable that came with it!! The silver plug is longer than normal. Has it ever been recognized by ur computer??? 


Avatar
Crossrock
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/06/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
2013/07/28 - 10:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I am off to bed soon.... if u follow the tutorial and download this firmware http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/onda-v812/onda-v813-v1-hardware-android-4-2-2-jelly-bean-root-custom-firmware-v3-2-2013-06-25/ you should be right. I would say u r soft-bricked which u will be able to recover from. Also run PhoenixSuite in admin mode (right click windows 7 or tick and click run down the bottom in win 8)

 

Avatar
oldfella
Australia
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/07/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
6
2013/07/28 - 10:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Crossrock

Yes was using correct USB cable, yes was recognised by computer at first then gave up.

Not sure what happened but guessing it somehow got stuck in the computer/debugging mode but was not being picked up by Pheonixsuit. Whatever happened, after LOTS to button pushing over about 4 hours Pheonixsuit suddenly sprung into life and went through the update!!!

What was strange was that Pheonix suit was actually showing 'no device connected' when the dialog came up about formatting. 

Thanks very much for your replies, nice to know some one cared. Maybe someone else will find this when they have problems, seems the answer is not to give up on these units when they appear dead. Can not give any other advice as I really don't know what caused the tablet to recover itself.

Cheers all

 

 

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: hotair1983
163 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (139), Phone (20), Tablet (5)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5786

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 432

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

richo

Kosmozz87

bengor123

hungarycry

Falowww

VT750

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5917

Posts: 58862

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 256530

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix