Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Onda V813 root custom firmware v2.0 (2013-04-01)
Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5871
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3163
1
2013/04/03 - 10:34
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Here is a custom firmware based on Onda official update version 2.0  for the Onda V813 tablet.

(V813Core4_v2.0.rar)

 

Build information

Linux Kernel:  Linux version 3.3.0 (lgm@SzExdroid5) (gcc version 4.6.3 20120201 (prerelease) (crosstool-NG linaro-1.13.1-2012.02-20120222 - Linaro GCC 2012.02) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Mar 26 16:07:24 CST 2013

Android system: onda/fiber_onda804q9/fiber-onda804q9:4.1.1/MASTER/20130401:user/opinions-on-teclast-p90hdst-keys

 

Our rooted custom firmware features:

- root with latest SuperSU 1.25 (free version)

- system default setup English

- removed most Chinese and unnecessary applications

- Google Play Store fixes so more application are visible/compatible

- added ArcTools for easy ClockworkMod Recovery (CWM) installation, see details here

 

 

We need your support to continue building and improving our firmwares, please consider making a donation if you appreciate our work. paypal_donate_small.gif

 

Download: kasty-onda_v813-41-v20-rooted3.zip

Flash with PhoenixSuite (tutorial)

 

Please note that I don't have a V813 to test this firmware, feedback welcome.

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

arrasmith, momak69, obeguin, pingu123456, catfish, ru.Egor, xgeneralex

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
arrasmith
Kansas, USA
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 65
Member Since:
2012/06/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
2
2013/04/03 - 13:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

This was a great surprise to wake up to today!

 

Thanks so much for doing this. I'll grab some time at work to flash it.

 

Avatar
plisplas
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/04/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2013/04/03 - 18:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

arrasmith said
This was a great surprise to wake up to today!

 

Thanks so much for doing this. I'll grab some time at work to flash it.

 

I'll wait for your further comments. My 813 arrives next week and it would be nice to improve it.

 

Thanks for the new firmware!

Avatar
arrasmith
Kansas, USA
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 65
Member Since:
2012/06/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
4
2013/04/03 - 19:59
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Well I got it flashed. My only windows box on hand was an old WinXP. And it kept connecting and disconnecting the tablet before the flash could start. Took me enough tries to make me sick with worry about bricking it.

 

It may also be that the USB connector on the v813 is a bit to deep. I really need to hold it in place to keep it charging. So I cut away a bit of the plastic on a cable to make it fit better. The flash worked after that.

 

The networking guys killed the wireless by my office so I'll have to wonder to another part of the building to get all my apps back on to check how much better the 2.0 firmware is. But for now ... THANKS. You rock admin!


Avatar
arrasmith
Kansas, USA
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 65
Member Since:
2012/06/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
5
2013/04/04 - 04:07
sp_Permalink sp_Print

arrasmith said
It may also be that the USB connector on the v813 is a bit to deep. I really need to hold it in place to keep it charging. So I cut away a bit of the plastic on a cable to make it fit better. The flash worked after that.

Had to get back home for a good wireless connection. Haven't really ran it through the paces yet. BUT, for everyone who wants to flash their v813 ...

 

The cable that comes with the tablet has a nice sticker on it that says "Onda". That cable will be very important to you. Because the metal connector is a bit over 1mm longer than any other micro usb cable I own. And the tablet's USB connection is about 1mm deeper than any other tablet I own as well. That is a 'feature' of the bevel shape.

 

So you really really need to always use the Onda cable. If you want to use a generic cable you will need to shave about 1mm of plastic off the end (if you can).

 

Second, a request to admin. Can you put Google Talk in the firmware? I didn't notice the first day I got my tablet that it didn't have Talk in it.

Avatar
arrasmith
Kansas, USA
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 65
Member Since:
2012/06/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
6
2013/04/04 - 15:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

To add Google Talk to the firmware you only need to add ...

 

system\app\Talk.apk
system\lib\libvideochat_jni.so
system\lib\libvideochat_stabilize.so

 

From http://goo.im/gapps and the Android 4.1.x zip file. They just need to be in the correct /system/ directories with correct ownership and permissions. I still need to make a video call with it. But, I'm back at work. And gremlins continue to eat the wireless router.

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5871
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3163
7
2013/04/04 - 15:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the tip, I'll consider including those in next firmware build, or maybe as an optional ArcTools package.

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
alchemygear
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2013/04/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
8
2013/04/15 - 11:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Im on linux mint 14 can anyone provide a app or directions to flash with, as PhoenixSuite is for widows only.  I tried to flash it in the recovery menu but it always fails.  I had a coby kryos that I had not problem flashing in the recovery mode.  I also installed the clockwork mod easly but i bought this new onda v812 which is worlds better if only i could get the custom firmware to work.

Avatar
globula_neagra
Birmingham

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 2424
Member Since:
2012/01/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 264
9
2013/04/16 - 12:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

have you tried using a vm on the linux ?

Avatar
obeguin
Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2013/04/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
10
2013/04/18 - 19:03
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I've just flashed that firmware.. Well, having root is quite nice, i must say..

 

But when using Youtube, ive got absolutely no picture.. I've got the sound, no problem with that but the screen stay back. No video. I'm using the newest version available on the market...

 

Am i the only one to have that problem ?

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5871
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3163
11
2013/04/18 - 19:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

No video on Youtube is a know problem for all firmwares based on Onda V2.0

There is a fix using an older Youtube version, check in our V972 forum section.

Cheers.

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

obeguin

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
obeguin
Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2013/04/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
12
2013/04/19 - 11:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Well, I tried the firmware v2.0 ( custom and official ). And I think it is still buggy from a video point of view.. Not only with Youtube.

 

Usually, I like to have the "show touches" option on ( in the developper settings ) and wherever I touch, you go clearly see a black square being displayed before showing the touch pointer. And it never happened before to any of my tablets or mobile phone... So, clearly, there is some big bugs with that version.. 

 

So i dont think the firmware v2.0 is really good enough at the moment and I've just flashed back the old firmware, and I rooted my device using the little zip file that are available to root most allwinner a31 tablet, so people can download from here : 

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/featured/root-onda-v812-onda-v972-and-allwinner-a31-based-tablets/

And it works like a charm.

 

So, until a new firmware come out that fic that video problem, i will stay on the v1.35.. Less buggy. 

 

 

Avatar
plisplas
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/04/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
13
2013/04/19 - 19:59
sp_Permalink sp_Print

admin said
No video on Youtube is a know problem for all firmwares based on Onda V2.0

There is a fix using an older Youtube version, check in our V972 forum section.

Cheers.

My V813 has a 2.0 firm and has no problems with youtube...

Avatar
teercee
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2013/04/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
14
2013/04/19 - 20:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I just posted about this same issue

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/onda-v812/v2-0-firmware-full-screen-video-no-image-audio-also-utube-v4-4-11/

 

I found on v2 firmware  & you down grade to youtube v4.1.47

it all works you can grab it from here

http://www.androiddrawer.com/7215/download-youtube-4-1-47-app-apk/#.UXGHCFco-p4

The following users say thank you to teercee for this useful post:

obeguin
Avatar
obeguin
Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2013/04/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
15
2013/04/23 - 19:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I tried again to use v2.0 but there is too many bugs in it... the display isn't optimized at all... back to v1.35

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: nok, dimaza12, pldmich, ricochetsniper78, taulier
249 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (200), Phone (43), Tablet (11)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5664

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 430

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

Jayso

thisizM1

taulier

ricochetsniper78

JULIUS98

tariom18m

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5884

Posts: 58437

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 255319

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix