Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Onda V812 root custom firmware v1.32 (2013-02-05)
Avatar
tim1979
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/02/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
16
2013/02/11 - 03:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Can we have the default 2G rom space back? I try flashing to offical v1.32, but i cant get back 2G rom space.
pls help

Avatar
darren553
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/02/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
17
2013/02/12 - 05:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I agree with tim1979. Could you possibly compile a custom rom using the default of 2GB.  There is plenty of internal memory as it is so no need for the extra 1GB for storage purposes.  Many thanks in advance for your hard work.Laugh

Avatar
befa34
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2013/02/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
18
2013/02/12 - 10:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print
Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3171
19
2013/02/12 - 11:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

darren553 said
I agree with tim1979. Could you possibly compile a custom rom using the default of 2GB.  There is plenty of internal memory as it is so no need for the extra 1GB for storage purposes.  Many thanks in advance for your hard work.Laugh

I just wanted to mention that I didn't limit the apps storage space on purpose, I am working with binaries only, and that limitation came up when rebuilding the firmware. I'm currently working on having the 2 GB back and I'll post a new firmware as soon as this is fixed.

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.


Avatar
luca40
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/02/10
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
20
2013/02/12 - 13:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello,
I noticed that in version v1.32 root, I lost synchronization browser (stock) in the management account by google, I'm not then see the favorites that I had saved on the gmail account.
You can verify it for yourself?
Maybe remove the app in Chinese has also annoyed some apk that deals with the sync of your browser.
Have solutions about?

Avatar
ang3lix
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/02/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
21
2013/02/12 - 13:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

befa34 said
CWM recovery

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2143581

 this CWM recovery work on v812?

Avatar
befa34
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2013/02/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
Avatar
kcthomlau
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2013/02/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
23
2013/02/13 - 15:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Would be better to add build.prop tweaks to utilize more of the 2G ram.

 

amend:
dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=16m
dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=256m
dalvik.vm.heapsize=512m

add the script here to improve touch response

 

add:
view.touch_slop=25
view.minimum_fling_velocity=35
view.scroll_friction=0.002

 

I have tried them all. They are working.

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3171
24
2013/02/13 - 15:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for that, I'll test these settings and make sure to incorporate these changes in next custom firmware release if they work all right.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
Meiborg
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/02/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
25
2013/02/14 - 14:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Specially registered to express my interest in this rom :) .

I found that running v1.1 wifi -g aswell as wifi -n slow down to like a few kB/sec after a while. Can't seem to solve it, tried a different router but didn't help.

also, tabs in the browser are hard to close, appearantly the "x" sits close to the edge of the touchscreen or something. Tilting the device in portrait mode somewhat lessens the problem.

regards Meiborg

Avatar
Meiborg
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/02/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
26
2013/02/15 - 21:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

I flashed the custom rom today, I did notice improved performance compared to the former v1.1. I could indeed install some apps that formerly were unavailable. So far all good, the rom appears to be stable and I didn't find any bugs yet.

Will try the tweaks for improve touch response, near the edge of the screen it's still hard to press tabs etc. Sadly, Wi-Fi is still bugged aswell. Ofcourse these are problems in the original firmware and don't relate to the tweaks in this custom rom.

Regards Reinder

 

Update:

 

Since running the custom rom, I get all kinds of apps in Google play wich are regional to other parts of the world. No problem but they are all non usable to me :p. Stuff like buslines app0 from India etc.

Furtermore, since running the custom rom, i can't go to tapjoy no more out of shadowrun:deadzone. When i click he option for "free gold" it directs me from shadowrun to the tapjoy page where it says: "please try again". My guesse is that it doesn't know my location and what regional stuff to show me because with v1.1 it already malfunctioned by showing me all the stuff for the USA (wich i couldn't use ofcourse being from the Netherlands). Perhaps some of the bloatware contained stuff needed for locational services?

Also, when I tilt my device from landscape mode to portaitmode when playing a flash movie in the standard browser, the flashmovie doesn't resize correctly. Not a big deal but this wasn't the case in the standard v1.1 firmware I was using when i got it.

And last but not least: I tried the tweaks above and it appears that the touch experience did indeed improve a little. Not only is it easier to touch stuff near the edge of the screen but overal when I'm playing games I seem to do remarkably better, having less trouble shooting people and steering my car (so either the touch input improved or magically I became much better at playing games :p). Also touching links on crowded pages is easier with less mispressed links.

Finisching of, the tweak to improve the RAM size worked flawlessly but performance wise i can't tell the difference.

 

With regards, Reinder

Avatar
kcthomlau
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2013/02/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
27
2013/02/17 - 21:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

A bug found not only in this custom fireware but also the original.

Installing busybox by busybox installer and restart will make all reset and the storage for app installation will become zero.

Wired flashing will restore everything but that's the bug.

Avatar
ang3lix
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/02/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
28
2013/02/18 - 13:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

just flash the root.zip (chinese version), reboot and everything is as before (becouse the root.zip re-install the old busybox). You do not need to format all or reflash the rom.

You can not install the latest version of busybox ... this is a terrible bug!

Avatar
Meiborg
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/02/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
29
2013/02/18 - 14:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I found out that the Wi-Fi problem is atleast partially related to power saving in the driver / settings. I installed a app that keeps Wi-Fi in high performance mode, downloading problem is somewhat better. Also, tapjoy now works correctly so the problem was related to that issue too somehow.

perhaps better drivers exist for this Wi-Fi module?

regards Reinder

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3171
30
2013/02/18 - 14:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I haven't heard of updated drivers or settings for the WiFI, but the V812 (and V972) are still recent tablets, Onda may be able to make some improvements on WiFI support in future firmware releases.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
90 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (82), Phone (8)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

swan12

fansosagelos

Snowm

andrewbest

heftpflaster

ruta6

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix