Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] FNF iFive 2S HD Android 4.2.2 custom rooted firmware based on v1.1.4 (2013/10/19)
Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5871
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3163
1
2013/10/23 - 10:02
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Here is a rooted custom firmware for the FNF iFive 2S HD tablet based on official version 1.1.9 published 2013/10/19

 

Build information:

Linux Kernel: Linux version 3.0.36+ (root@five-server2) (gcc version 4.6.x-google 20120106 (prerelease) (GCC) ) #171 SMP PREEMPT Sat Oct 19 11:37:13 CST 2013

Android build: IFive/rk30sdk/rk30sdk:4.2.2/JDQ39/eng.root.20131019.114704:eng/opinions-on-teclast-p90hdst-keys

ro.rksdk.version=RK31_ANDROID4.2.2-SDK-v1.04.00

 

Custom firmware features:

  • root with latest SuperSU version 1.65 (free version)
  • removed most Chinese and unnecessary applications
  • Google Play Store fixes so more application are visible/compatible
  • updated busybox¬†v1.21.0.git (2012-11-29)
  • Unix like¬†init.d boot scripts support, more details on init.d scripts¬†here
  • changed permissions on external sdcard to allow write access
  • increased space for applications (/data partition) to¬†4 GB
  • NEW!¬†kernel modules (cifs, tun, lan, serial, xpad) compiled by Oma &¬†Crew RKTablets, thank guys!

Notes: 

I have left the stock iFive launcher, please let me know if it's working fine or if you prefer having a stock Android launcher.

Download: kasty-fnf_ifive_2s_hd-422-114-rooted4.zip

Use Rockchip Batch Tool version 1.7 to flash the firmware, don't flash using the "sdcard" method.

 

Please report any problem with this firmware, I can't verify this custom firmware works as I don't have an iFive 2SHD to test it.

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

nghiakhanh, TecKnight

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
TecKnight
Las Vegas, NV

Contributor
Forum Posts: 91
Member Since:
2012/11/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 20
2
2013/10/28 - 04:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Anyone have one of these yet ? Was curious what any owners thought of this tablet. It looks very similar to the iFive X2, but with higher video resolution.

Avatar
danielt
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/10/30
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2013/11/03 - 16:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I just got my ifive 2s HD

and I have flashed your firmware

It's now doing well~

really good tablet I think

the high resolution was just epic!!!!!!

I will report if meeting any problem~

THX a lot

Avatar
TecKnight
Las Vegas, NV

Contributor
Forum Posts: 91
Member Since:
2012/11/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 20
4
2013/11/03 - 23:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

danielt said
I just got my ifive 2s HD

and I have flashed your firmware

It's now doing well~

really good tablet I think

the high resolution was just epic!!!!!!

I will report if meeting any problem~

THX a lot

Daniel,

Glad to hear that FNF continues to make high quality tablets that push the envelope in both graphic quality and in price. I saw it on sale the other day for $242 with free shipping, which is a real steal for a quad core 10" tablet with 2048x1536 resolution !!

FYI, the firmware on the 2S HD is almost identical to the X2--The only real difference between the two is screen resolution, so I would expect almost all of the procedures on the X2 wiki here:

https://www.miniand.com/wiki/iFive+X2

should also work on your tablet, except I would avoid the change your boot graphic procedure and you would want to use kasty's firmware image for the 2S HD for the firmware flashing procedure.

 

 


Avatar
danielt
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/10/30
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
2013/11/04 - 17:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

TecKnight

thank you for your endeavor to the fw!!

it's has been working great on my tablet till now^^

BTW

I replace the origin ifive UI with nova launcher

and it becomes better i think

I am now learning to modify fw , trying to enhance wifi and reduce ram usage

anyway  thank you a lot!! for making such a awesome thing!

 

Avatar
bigfoot53
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/12/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
6
2013/12/12 - 18:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello All,

Just got my Ifive S2 HD today. Just wanted to see if the new firmware is working well?

Is this still the newest version? do I need any special tools to flash it?

 

Thanks

BruceCool

Avatar
TecKnight
Las Vegas, NV

Contributor
Forum Posts: 91
Member Since:
2012/11/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 20
7
2013/12/13 - 02:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

bigfoot53 said
Hello All,

Just got my Ifive S2 HD today. Just wanted to see if the new firmware is working well?

Is this still the newest version? do I need any special tools to flash it?

 

Thanks

BruceCool

Bruce,

As far as I am aware, the posted image:

http://www.arctablet.com/blog/downloads/firmware/FNF_ifive/kasty-fnf_ifive_2s_hd-422-114-rooted4.zip

is the latest version for your tablet.

Just download the .zip above and extract the contents. You will find a .img file within it.

Follow the instructions linked below using the .img file you extracted in step 12.

https://www.miniand.com/wiki/Flashing+a+new+firmware+image+to+the+iFive+X2+Step+by+Step

Note: those instructions were written for an iFive X2, but will work perfectly for your tablet as well.

Please let us know how it goes, we haven't heard from many S2 HD owners yet.

Avatar
pups99
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/11/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
8
2013/12/13 - 05:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks!  I stitched your fnf_ifive_2s_hd-422-114-rooted4, the pad works at it well and stablly, without notes, for days in a dream mode the charge decreases by 9%. The continuous video playback 1920x1080 goes within 6 hours 29 minutes.

Avatar
bigfoot53
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/12/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
9
2013/12/13 - 16:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the information. I hope to attempt the update this weekend if time permits.

I will let everyone know how it goes.

 

 

Bruce

Smile

Avatar
bigfoot53
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/12/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
10
2013/12/14 - 19:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print

!!!Update!!! 

I flashed the Ifive and all seems to be fine. Running smooth. Do have one question I installed Titanium Backup and it says it failed to obtain root access. Is this an issue with the free version of SU or do I need to configure Titanium Backup?

also any way to get the temp app on the main launcher to be in English ?

 

Thanks

Bruce

Smile

Avatar
pups99
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/11/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
11
2013/12/14 - 20:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

My Titanium Backup was set and works normally, in case of the first start simply granted permission to it from SU.

Language can be any.

 

Reinstall Titanium Backup and in case of start grant to it the rights from SU

Avatar
TecKnight
Las Vegas, NV

Contributor
Forum Posts: 91
Member Since:
2012/11/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 20
12
2013/12/14 - 21:07
sp_Permalink sp_Print

bigfoot53 said
!!!Update!!! 

I flashed the Ifive and all seems to be fine. Running smooth. Do have one question I installed Titanium Backup and it says it failed to obtain root access. Is this an issue with the free version of SU or do I need to configure Titanium Backup?

also any way to get the temp app on the main launcher to be in English ?

 

Thanks

Bruce

Smile

Bruce,

Sounds like you never granted root access to Titanium Backup. Launch the SuperUser app and it should have a log and a list of applications that have been granted root. See if it will let you grant root to Titanium there. I use SuperSU myself and it is very user friendly once you launch it.

As for the weather app, It is Chinese only. I suggest you follow the instructions here:

https://www.miniand.com/wiki/Removing+all+traces+of+the+iFive+chinese+weather+app

Cheers

 

Avatar
bigfoot53
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/12/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
13
2013/12/14 - 22:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the info. Titanium Backup now working. Now to remove the weather app.

 

Thanks

Bruce

Avatar
bigfoot53
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/12/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
14
2013/12/15 - 20:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Anyone know what case fits this unit?

 

Thanks

Bruce

Avatar
pups99
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/11/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: fadbruno, Miki0
199 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (160), Phone (33), Tablet (8)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5664

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 430

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

ronbo3

yhetro

Sangui

Miki0

mahesh_parmar

Xahc

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5884

Posts: 58443

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 255384

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix