Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.4.2 KitKat custom root firmware (2014/06/06)
Avatar
jesmail
usa
Active Member
Forum Posts: 26
Member Since:
2013/04/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
46
2014/06/13 - 13:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Cuz, you may be able to duplicate it with the NBC app in play store.

Just call up any of the recent HD programs and play.

The interesting thing is the CBS app works fine and I have HD stuff on my server that play fine as well.

On another topic does any one have the driver to make the compass work again?

 

Thanks

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
47
2014/06/13 - 14:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

There are several NBC apps. Which are you referring to?

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
targa
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2014/05/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
48
2014/06/13 - 15:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

maikal said
can you provide a picture of the tablet? could it be a vido m10? We already had one person who was shipped a vido instead of a cube. we also had at least two people who got tables that were a different model, tow letters after the u30gt2. So a picture might help identify your tablet.

hi,

yes, it seems you're right, I don't have it at hand, but from Google images I'm pretty sure that I have a Vido M10, though it displays U30GT in the system dialog, and on the actual case it saus just nothing.

What do I do ? Try to return ? Seems to me the specs are very similar and the metal case seems good, the only disadvantage I can see is not so very good Wi-Fi, which seems to be the case for the Cube as well ?!

Thanks for advice.

/To

Avatar
jesmail
usa
Active Member
Forum Posts: 26
Member Since:
2013/04/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
49
2014/06/13 - 16:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

DarthJabba said
There are several NBC apps. Which are you referring to?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nbcuni.nbc


Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
50
2014/06/13 - 18:35
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

jesmail said

DarthJabba said
There are several NBC apps. Which are you referring to?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nbcuni.nbc

Apparently, it is "incompatible with all of [my] devices".

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
frazze
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2014/04/24
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
51
2014/06/13 - 19:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

i have the A/V problem with the Fox Sports app. I'll try to make a video of it and post it.

Avatar
targa
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2014/05/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
52
2014/06/13 - 22:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

targa said 
I'm pretty sure that I have a Vido M10, though it displays U30GT 

Avatar
NeurOSick
Montreal
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2014/01/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
53
2014/06/13 - 22:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

All work great for now. tanks for this release.. probably the best for my CUBE.

 

And tank you to keep the original logo and boot animation.

 

Good continuity

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
54
2014/06/14 - 01:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

targa said

targa said 
I'm pretty sure that I have a Vido M10, though it displays U30GT 

Hmm don't know what to tell you. The one guy who found out he got a vido decided to keep it rather than spending the time and money to send it back. Its dependant on your communication with your dealer. Contact them and see what they say! If they choose to pay for return it may be worth it to you. Did you get it from a store in your country or China? Is it getting support? There is an arctablet forum for it and a YouTube video on that tablet. Talk to folks on the arctablet forum about it. I almost bought one on eBay but lost the auction on it. Its a nice looking tablet though, like you say, specs are similar to cube. Sending it back to China is going to be too much a hassle I think and you may still not get what you want or loose your money. You can try selling it on eBay and buy a Cube through a non Chinese dealer on eBay. I just saw a Cube there for $199US.

Good Luck

Avatar
Cuz
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/09/17
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
55
2014/06/14 - 01:37
sp_Permalink sp_Print

jesmail said
Cuz, you may be able to duplicate it with the NBC app in play store.

Just call up any of the recent HD programs and play.

The interesting thing is the CBS app works fine and I have HD stuff on my server that play fine as well.

On another topic does any one have the driver to make the compass work again?

 

Thanks

Hi late reply been at work...

I've got the same as Darthjabba posted above the app is  "incompatible with all of my devices"?

Avatar
jesmail
usa
Active Member
Forum Posts: 26
Member Since:
2013/04/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
56
2014/06/14 - 02:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Cuz said

jesmail said
Cuz, you may be able to duplicate it with the NBC app in play store.

Just call up any of the recent HD programs and play.

The interesting thing is the CBS app works fine and I have HD stuff on my server that play fine as well.

On another topic does any one have the driver to make the compass work again?

 

Thanks

Hi late reply been at work...

I've got the same as Darthjabba posted above the app is  "incompatible with all of my devices"?

Hmmm, oh well, I was trying all my apps to see if I had any A/V problems mentioned by others.

This app was the only one giving me problems, but I did not get the incompatible message.

Any way all my movies play fine, the only issue I had left is the compass issue that started with 4.4

The driver is missing to run the mag chip and so it does not work. This is a minor issue as the uplift we got in 4.4 for everything else. There is no going back.

Thanks for the reply!!

Avatar
serdarau
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/07/17
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
57
2014/06/15 - 00:27
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

admin said

Here is an Android 4.4.2 KitKat rooted firmware for the Cube U30GT2 tablet . This custom firmware is based on Chinese KitKat Funrom_Studio firmware dated 2014/06/06.
 
(Funrom_Studio-CUBE_U30GT2_4.4.2_V1_140606.img)
 
400xNxpipo_m9_pro_android442_kitkat_20131226_kitkat_b.png.pagespeed.ic.OX66oTHP96.jpg 
 

Build information:

Kernel: Linux version 3.0.36+ (tangy@tchipserver2) (gcc version 4.6.x-google 20120106 (prerelease) (GCC) ) #95 SMP PREEMPT Sun May 4 15:50:58 CST 2014

Android 4.4.2: CUBE/u30gt2/rk3188:4.4.2/KOT49H/eng.root.20140211.100632:eng/opinions-on-teclast-p90hdst-keys

ro.rksdk.version=RK31_ANDROID$(PLATFORM_VERSION)-SDK-v1.00.00

RK3188Loader(L)_V2.10.bin
 
As you can read, this firmware seems to be mostly a kernel update as the Android system is still one from February 2014.
 
Custom firmware features:
  • root with latest SuperSU version 1.99r3 (free version)
  • removed most Chinese and unnecessary applications
  • Google Play Store fixes so more application are visible/compatible
  • updated busybox v1.21.0.git (2012-11-29)
  • Unix like init.d boot scripts support, more details on init.d scripts here
  • changed permissions on external sdcard to allow write access
  • increased space for applications (/data partition) to 7 GB
  • disabled OTA updates (may cause problems, see Notes below)
  • added Google Experience Launcher (GEL) in addition to Cube's stock launcher
  • kernel modules (cifs, tun, lan, serial, xpad) compiled by Oma & Crew RKTablets, thank guys!

Notes: 

- any update received thru OTA may interfere with our custom firmware, we recommend to refuse any update pushed OTA. 

- current KitKat based firmwares should be considered as beta software

Download: kasty-cube_u30gt2-442-funromstudio_20140606-rooted7c_mu.zip

Flash with Rockchip Batch Tool version 1.7, use Restore button.

If you like our work, please support us to keep the site alive and contribute to our efforts.
 

 

Please report any problem with this firmware, I can't verify this custom firmware works as I don't have anymore a Cube U30GT2 tablet to test the custom firmware.

I've got Cube U30GT2 and test this rom .Thank you verymuch that is a good job,but only one think this rom has not browser and calender.Smile thanks

Avatar
targa
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2014/05/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
58
2014/06/15 - 20:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

thanks for your advice... actually I wanted to post pics, seems they got lost due to their size. Anyway, I think I keep it, seems quite decent, and there's KitKat ROMs available.

 

this must have happened on purpose given that it was package with the cube logo, it starts up using the cube logo and identifies using a cube product code. I wonder how I can make sure that vido roms will work....

 

It's probably enough that I'm kind of taking those risks usually ;)

Avatar
vlevi
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2013/07/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
59
2014/06/15 - 23:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said

Ok, let's do some quick testing http://www.arctablet.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif

 

Cube U30GT2 has RK903 wifi.

Just finished an aproach for a generic KK build, which is here: http://www.arctablet.com/blog/forum/crewrktablets-rk3188-entwicklung-customroms-development-croms/rom-kiano-elegance-android-4-4-2-kitkat-custom-root-firmware-20140610/#p43136

Before flash just replace the kernel in folder rockdev/Images: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=1817

 

- Oma -

I tried this ROM, using your kernel replacement, and after a few minutes of trying, it looks soo good!
With the CWM update, the rotation problem is gone. I will try it, and I thik, I will use it.
Thank you!

The following users say thank you to vlevi for this useful post:

Oma7144
Avatar
Sethi
Brazil
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 93
Member Since:
2013/04/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 10
60
2014/06/16 - 05:02
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi there;

 

I can´t connect hrow Rockchip.. It turns pink, then when i click switch, it goes off and doesn´t come green.. any chance for a CWM file?

 

I´m on Win8.1 x64 - just to point out, if anyone can help me :(

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
103 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
2 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (96), Phone (7)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

moroco66

shawner82

dima57

NOLF110

sgthollow

djaddrubal

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix