Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.4.2 KitKat custom root firmware (2014/06/06)
Avatar
majg2002
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2014/04/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
166
2014/09/20 - 18:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

admin said

Here is an Android 4.4.2 KitKat rooted firmware for the Cube U30GT2 tablet . This custom firmware is based on Chinese KitKat Funrom_Studio firmware dated 2014/06/06.
 
(Funrom_Studio-CUBE_U30GT2_4.4.2_V1_140606.img)
 
400xNxpipo_m9_pro_android442_kitkat_20131226_kitkat_b.png.pagespeed.ic.OX66oTHP96.jpg 
 
Build information:
Kernel: Linux version 3.0.36+ (tangy@tchipserver2) (gcc version 4.6.x-google 20120106 (prerelease) (GCC) ) #95 SMP PREEMPT Sun May 4 15:50:58 CST 2014
Android 4.4.2: CUBE/u30gt2/rk3188:4.4.2/KOT49H/eng.root.20140211.100632:eng/opinions-on-teclast-p90hdst-keys
ro.rksdk.version=RK31_ANDROID$(PLATFORM_VERSION)-SDK-v1.00.00
RK3188Loader(L)_V2.10.bin
 
As you can read, this firmware seems to be mostly a kernel update as the Android system is still one from February 2014.
 
Custom firmware features:
  • root with latest SuperSU version 1.99r3 (free version)
  • removed most Chinese and unnecessary applications
  • Google Play Store fixes so more application are visible/compatible
  • updated busybox v1.21.0.git (2012-11-29)
  • Unix like init.d boot scripts support, more details on init.d scripts here
  • changed permissions on external sdcard to allow write access
  • increased space for applications (/data partition) to 7 GB
  • disabled OTA updates (may cause problems, see Notes below)
  • added Google Experience Launcher (GEL) in addition to Cube's stock launcher
  • kernel modules (cifs, tun, lan, serial, xpad) compiled by Oma & Crew RKTablets, thank guys!

Notes: 
- any update received thru OTA may interfere with our custom firmware, we recommend to refuse any update pushed OTA. 
- current KitKat based firmwares should be considered as beta software

Download: kasty-cube_u30gt2-442-funromstudio_20140606-rooted7c_mu.zip

Flash with Rockchip Batch Tool version 1.7, use Restore button.

If you like our work, please support us to keep the site alive and contribute to our efforts.
 
 
Please report any problem with this firmware, I can't verify this custom firmware works as I don't have anymore a Cube U30GT2 tablet to test the custom firmware.

 

I have bought two tablets U30GT CUBE-2. One of the tablets, I've installed the rom listed in this thread (kasty-cube_u30gt2-442-funromstudio_20140606-rooted7c).

For the tablet that I've installed this rom the result is satisfactory, the tablet is more stable and faster. I've passed the test AnTuTu Benchmark v5.1 with a score of 22.280 (which is pretty good).

However, I've found two errors that do not know how I can fix. I would appreciate any help.

* The brightness of the tablet and its brightness decreased.

As I have two tablets U30GT2, a tablet has rom with 4.4.2 and other tablet with rom original (android 4.2.2), I can easily compare.
I compared photos and videos, and the original tablet has a luminosity and higher brightness, and sharper colors.

I've even gone back to the original rom and brightness and luminosity is improved. I installed the rom again (kasty-cube_u30gt2-442-funromstudio_20140606-rooted7c) and tablet becomes to lose brightness and luminosity.

Do not know what can occur, because the resolution (1200x1920) and density (240dpi) screen did not vary from the tablet that has the original rom.

Can anyone give me any idea what this error can occur?

* Every time I charge the tablet, starts.
This error, however, also happens in the tablet with the original rom.

Avatar
buzzerr
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/01/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
167
2014/11/18 - 12:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

My tablet is U30GT 2MH, Rockchip RK3188, installed this ROM and working perfectly, its much quicker than original one.

The only problem is brightness, its quite low even when set up for max.

I'm looking for solution for this.

Thank you very much for the ROM.

Avatar
buzzerr
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2013/01/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
168
2014/11/24 - 12:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I resolved this problem with flashing custom kernel from this topic, I used kernel kernel_305kitkat_cpu1800_t14_gpu798h_ddr667.zip, brightness is much better but regulation works upside down, quite funny but I can live with that.

Another problem is rotation, its twisted 90 degrees to the right. I found the solution with these steps:

1. install Terminal IDE

2.Install ssh/sftp server

3. Login via ssh to the tablet

4. type:

/data/user/10/com.spartacusrex.spartacuside/files/system/bin/bash --rcfile /data/user/10/com.spartacusrex.spartacuside/files/.bashrc

mount -o remount,rw /system

vim /system/build.prop

5. edit ro.sf.hwrotation=270 to ro.sf.hwrotation=360

exit, close everything, reboot, done

Probably you can edit build.prop directly from the tablet, remounting /system partition first, but this way was easier for me

Avatar
NeurOSick
Montreal
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2014/01/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
169
2014/11/30 - 17:07
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi, any way to have the "Location" setting/option working? For now all options are disabled.

 

tanks


Avatar
plumplum88
Active Member
Forum Posts: 40
Member Since:
2013/06/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 14
170
2014/12/14 - 15:14
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Strange...

I install Alpha 1.2 version of Lollipop...

Then go back to Kasty...

It seem that battery drain now normally...

Avatar
UnLoco
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2014/01/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
171
2014/12/16 - 19:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello,

is it possible to have this rom overclocked in CWM?

Avatar
shokk2
New Member
Forum Posts: 7
Member Since:
2014/04/17
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
172
2014/12/18 - 21:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello guys, who can give me overklocked 95 karniels for cwm. 

thanks in advance.

Avatar
jockscott1
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/06/10
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
173
2015/01/02 - 11:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi,

 

I try to install firmware in first post but i cant manage to make it work. I tried to install USB drivers for my tablet but they seems not to work even if i try to install in compability mode.  And when i loaded firmware in rockchip batchtool and press Volume + buttom and connect the tablet to computer nothing happends.

 

I have Win 8.1 64x system. What to do to make it work?!

 

I have earlier installed other firmwares through Rockchip batchtool and it has gone well...but this time not.

Avatar
anka475
Member
Forum Posts: 12
Member Since:
2014/12/30
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
174
2015/01/06 - 11:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks Admin

I spent these last days trying to "wake up" my cube u30GT2 tablet, as I was asking questions to everybody.

I thank you all.

Finally I managed to connect the tablet to my pc but Rockchip Batch Tool v1.7 only displays a blue connection.

I can not update or restore anything.

What should I do now ?

Thanks again.

Avatar
Mark06

Contributor
Forum Posts: 222
Member Since:
2013/05/25
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 41
175
2015/01/06 - 12:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

You can try androidtool instead of rockchip tool to flash the rom. I thought the blue icon would too let you flash the rom though. What error do you get?

Cube u30gt2 tab

Avatar
SebT
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/01/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
176
2015/01/06 - 13:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello,

 

I have same problem (NeurOSick)

Hi, any way to have the “Location” setting/option working? For now all options are disabled.

Avatar
anka475
Member
Forum Posts: 12
Member Since:
2014/12/30
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
177
2015/01/07 - 00:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Mark06 said
You can try androidtool instead of rockchip tool to flash the rom. I thought the blue icon would too let you flash the rom though. What error do you get?

Thanks Mark06 for your reply

When I press restore ( with different images ) the color starts flashing yellow and then gets red:

I get (layer 8-4) Download boot fail

"Restore done sucess ( 0 ) Fail ( 1 ) Time ( 10234 ) ms

All this in red letters.

I tried several images but it seems that nothing works.

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
178
2015/01/07 - 03:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

SebT said
Hello,

 

I have same problem (NeurOSick)

Hi, any way to have the “Location” setting/option working? For now all options are disabled.

Have you downloaded the map apps? I seem to remember with this rom or the other kit Kat rom that there was an issue and it was fixed downloading the Google map or Google earth app.

Also be sure to set up Google + to show location if you haven't in the settings.

Avatar
Mark06

Contributor
Forum Posts: 222
Member Since:
2013/05/25
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 41
179
2015/01/07 - 08:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

anka475 said

Mark06 said
You can try androidtool instead of rockchip tool to flash the rom. I thought the blue icon would too let  you flash the rom though. What error do you get?

Thanks Mark06 for your reply

When I press restore ( with different images ) the color starts flashing yellow and then gets red:

I get (layer 8-4) Download boot fail

"Restore done sucess ( 0 ) Fail ( 1 ) Time ( 10234 ) ms

All this in red letters.

I tried several images but it seems that nothing works.

You should flash a rom with the same bootloader. So 4.4 or 4.2 android version. The one bootloader is first generation and works with 4.1 and 4.2 and lollipop, the other bootloader is second generation and only works with 4.4 android.

Cube u30gt2 tab

Avatar
SebT
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/01/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
180
2015/01/07 - 09:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print

maikal said

SebT said
Hello,

 

I have same problem (NeurOSick)

Hi, any way to have the “Location” setting/option working? For now all options are disabled.

Have you downloaded the map apps? I seem to remember with this rom or the other kit Kat rom that there was an issue and it was fixed downloading the Google map or Google earth app.

Also be sure to set up Google + to show location if you haven't in the settings.

 

Hello,

I uninstall maps, street view, google earth.
I delete data for these applications
I download maps, street view, google earth.

I download Google+ & Configuration OK
Always the same problem :(

I do not have the button "ON / OFF" near Location.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
65 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (57), Phone (7), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

Felis

jmlopez

makseroo

fstiven

milahamilton

dertod

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix