Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.4.2 KitKat custom root firmware (2014/02/19)
Avatar
ian
United Kingdom
Active Member
Forum Posts: 30
Member Since:
2012/05/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
151
2014/05/08 - 09:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

DJ - When you say the cube is still (just about) alive are you referring to your own machine or generally?  I have noticed we haven't had a firmware update for some time - does anyone know if they are still working on a final kitkat version?  My Cube is moribund, I am awaiting a new battery to hopefully give some new life.  I have since bought a Hudl which is working really well (also RK3188) and battery life is really good.

DarthJabba said

maikal said
Just wondered since all these folks have been having problems going back from kitkat to previous roms why not just do a regular old factory reset and then flash the rom they wanted to go back to. It would be the same amount of work pretty much, apps would have to be reloaded anyway.

 

But hey glad to see we did not loose your sage advice and knowledge to the cube mishap!

Just doing a factory reset will not solve the KitKat-to-JellyBean downgrade problem. That problem arises because of the new 2.x loader (and extra partition stuff) used by KitKat. A factory reset will not touch the loader or change the partition information.

The Cube is still (just about) alive. I'll eventually have to dump it.

In the meantime, I got myself a Ceros Revolution at a very cheap price - also RK3188, but with 2048x1536 resolution, and a number of reported issues (so I bought with my eyes wide open). I've managed to overcome all the issues that are being reported about it (very easy, really). The kernel can't be overclocked stably beyond cpu1700/gpu768/ddr600 (with 18.5k Antutu score), but it is actually quite smooth, and the display is miles ahead of the Cube. We shall see how long my optimism lasts!
// <![CDATA[

(function(){var e=encodeURIComponent,f=window,h=document,m="width",n="documentElement",p="height",q="length",r="prototype",s="body",t="&",u="&ci=",w="&n=",x="&rd=",y=",",z="?",A="Content-Type",B="Microsoft.XMLHTTP",C="Msxml2.XMLHTTP",D="POST",E="application/x-www-form-urlencoded",F="img",G="input",H="load",I="oh=",J="on",K="pagespeed_url_hash",L="url=",M=function(a,c,d){if(a.addEventListener)a.addEventListener(c,d,!1);else if(a.attachEvent)a.attachEvent(J+c,d);else{var b=a[J+c];a[J+c]=function(){d.call(this);b&&b.call(this)}}};f.pagespeed=f.pagespeed||{};var N=f.pagespeed,O=function(a,c,d,b,g){this.d=a;this.f=c;this.g=d;this.a=g;this.c={height:f.innerHeight||h[n].clientHeight||h[s].clientHeight,width:f.innerWidth||h[n].clientWidth||h[s].clientWidth};this.e=b;this.b={}};O[r].j=function(a){a=a.getBoundingClientRect();return{top:a.top+(void 0!==f.pageYOffset?f.pageYOffset:(h[n]||h[s].parentNode||h[s]).scrollTop),left:a.left+(void 0!==f.pageXOffset?f.pageXOffset:(h[n]||h[s].parentNode||h[s]).scrollLeft)}};O[r].i=function(a){if(0>=a.offsetWidth&&0>=a.offsetHeight)return!1;a=this.j(a);var c=a.top.toString()+y+a.left.toString();if(this.b.hasOwnProperty(c))return!1;this.b[c]=!0;return a.top<=this.c[p]&&a.left<=this.c[m]};O[r].l=function(){for(var a=[F,G],c=[],d={},b=0;b<a[q];++b)for(var g=h.getElementsByTagName(a[b]),k=0;k<g[q];++k){var v=g[k].getAttribute(K);v&&g[k].getBoundingClientRect&&this.i(g[k])&&!(v in d)&&(c.push(v),d[v]=!0)}b=!1;a=I+this.g;this.a&&(a+=w+this.a);if(0!=c[q]){a+=u+e(c[0]);for(b=1;b<c[q];++b){d=y+e(c[b]);if(131072=a[q]+d[q]&&(a+=d),b=!0);N.criticalImagesBeaconData=a;if(b){var c=this.d,b=this.f,l;if(f.XMLHttpRequest)l=new XMLHttpRequest;else if(f.ActiveXObject)try{l=new ActiveXObject(C)}catch(P){try{l=new ActiveXObject(B)}catch(Q){}}l&&(l.open(D,c+(-1==c.indexOf(z)?z:t)+L+e(b)),l.setRequestHeader(A,E),l.send(a))}};O[r].h=function(){for(var a={},c=h.getElementsByTagName(F),d=0;d<c[q];++d){var b=c[d],g=b.getAttribute(K);if("undefined"==typeof b.naturalWidth||"undefined"==typeof b.naturalHeight||"undefined"==typeof g)break;if("undefined"==typeof a[b.src]&&0<b[m]&&0<b[p]&&0<b.naturalWidth&&0=a[b.src].n&&b[p]>=a[b.src].m)a[g]={renderedWidth:b[m],renderedHeight:b[p],originalWidth:b.naturalWidth,originalHeight:b.naturalHeight}}return a};N.k=function(a,c,d,b,g){var k=new O(a,c,d,b,g);M(f,H,function(){f.setTimeout(function(){k.l()},0)})};N.criticalImagesBeaconInit=N.k;})();pagespeed.criticalImagesBeaconInit('/mod_pagespeed_beacon','http://www.arctablet.com/blog/index.php?sp_ahah=quote&sfnonce=8b5bcd381c&post=42241&forumid=132','W4fY5kTX1u',false,'JCgy1cE7VLU');
// ]]>

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
152
2014/05/08 - 12:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I was referring to my own Cube only.

I don't think any new official ROM will come out - but I think that the current Kasty KitKat 4.4.2 ROM (or the DJ mods of it) makes the Cube useful now.

PS: given that I haven't been able to overclock my Ceros up to levels that the Cube could easily cope with, Cube is going up in my estimation (although I think the Ceros is much better built).

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

maikal

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Cuz
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2013/09/17
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
153
2014/05/08 - 20:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

DarthJabba said
I don't think any new official ROM will come out - but I think that the current Kasty KitKat 4.4.2 ROM (or the DJ mods of it) makes the Cube useful now.

Are these the official Cube guys? Looks like we will be getting a new KitKat ROM if they are?

http://www.cube-tablet.com/cube-u39gt-quad-core-tablet-pc-rk3188-9-0-inch-1920-1280-android-4-2-bluetooth-2gb-questions.html

 

<EDIT> Moment of madness I'm looking at the wrong tablet;-0

Avatar
Joey
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2014/04/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
154
2014/05/09 - 06:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Anyone can tell me if this ROM is compatible with u30gt 2mh.

Thanks.


Avatar
Wintermute
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 89
Member Since:
2013/09/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 30
155
2014/05/09 - 19:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi,

I am just stopping by to share some first hand experience on freshly released XBMC 13 (Android apk version) on U30GT2 and this ROM with OC kernel.

XBMC works really nice, actually much better than anticipated. Crucial hardware video acceleration works (first time with Android XBMC!), UI is well responsive. All in all best video navigation and playback experience on this device for me, including streaming MKV 720/1080p files via SMB share or from Live Add-Ons. Wonderful.

Tomas

Avatar
Blochni
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2014/04/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
156
2014/05/13 - 10:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi

I have battery issue and I want to uninstall "GSM Standby".

Someone knows how to do ?

Avatar
yewsuck
Member
Forum Posts: 12
Member Since:
2013/07/25
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
157
2014/05/13 - 13:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Try putting the phone in "Airplane mode" and see if that helps.

Avatar
Blochni
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2014/04/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
158
2014/05/13 - 20:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Unfortantely, no change with the "Airplane Mode"

Another idea to uninstall or to kill "GSM Standby" app ?

Avatar
luterio
New Member
Forum Posts: 7
Member Since:
2013/08/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
159
2014/05/14 - 04:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi everybody!

Im having problems with this rom. Back camera doesnt work.

Im thinking about downgrade to 4.2 version. Is it possible?

How do I do it? Can someone help me please?

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
160
2014/05/14 - 08:55
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

luterio

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
annoluce
Member
Forum Posts: 19
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
161
2014/05/14 - 10:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi,

a little more encouragement would have been appreciated: I installed the ROM and indeed it runs very smooth, stable, and the battery life is fine. I think I will definitely settle down with this one.

Thanks

Max

Avatar
mohag519
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2014/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
162
2014/05/15 - 11:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Typically me, I rushed into this and now I have some problems with my tablet.

I think the main problem is that I have the u30gt2mh model and I didn't really think about it much when I installed this ROM. Stupid as I am I didn't even make a backup of the ROM that I had and now I can't find it anywhere.

Now the screen is less bright and also sometimes the graphic glitches, the colors get distorted, it's like it goes down to 256-colors instead of 32-bits.

I can't find the original firmware anywhere. Any ideas? I really didn't think that the screen brightness could be affected by a custom ROM. This means some other set of drivers are installed I guess? I looked into /sys/class/backlight/actual_brigthness and it says 89, even though max_brightness is 255 and brightness is also set to 255. But I don't know much of this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Avatar
lambo2000
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2013/05/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
163
2014/05/15 - 14:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print

What is the difference between the MH and the "normal" Tablet, I've checked the specification. and can't find any difference. Now that you have LCD issue, could they have changed it?

Avatar
mohag519
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2014/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
164
2014/05/15 - 19:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Quite possible that the LCD was different, since I've read about brightness being too low on the U30GT2 and when I received the tablet I noticed I wasn't bothered about the brightness at all.

I couldnt even find the specifications for MH, I had no idea that was what I ordered when I purchased the tablet. This is also why I thought I could flash this rom since the MH didn't seem to be any big difference. 

I'm calling out to anyone who might have the u30gt2mh to make a nandroid for me and send it. Would be so much appreciated.

Avatar
Grenade
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2014/03/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
165
2014/05/17 - 21:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print
Hello everybody

Excuse me for my poor english. I am new android tablet user. I own  cube U30GT2 and have installed 4.4.2 KitKat custom root firmware (20140219). When i try to set user or owner, nothig works but i can read the message "Unfortunately, Satting has stopped".

Please, could someone help me ?

Thanks you

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
116 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (105), Phone (11)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

anonymunbekannter14

dimas6086

JiotaCe

Oboronprom

vlk88

JozekPL

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix