Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.4.2 KitKat custom root firmware (2014/01/21)
Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
76
2014/01/24 - 20:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

maikal said

Deathbox said
Hey, i just installed this rom and trying to flash the kernel but im in such situation that my PC shows up "Found RKAndroid Loader" but i dont get any cells or anything.. just blank white :/ 

I had the same problem. Tried it three times, the second was a scary experience but i recovered. Nothing on the screen the third time.

 

Oops never mind, just read the follow-ups, silly me. will try that again when I get home later today.

 

Oh additionally I wanted to add, after the second scarry attempt, were I thought I had bricked my Cube, I reflashed the rom for a third time and lo and behold my camera is now active on both sides! So if you are having trouble perhaps re-flasing the rom again may work, give the tablet a few mins in between to let it settle as someone suggested in another post!

Hmmm ... I've never seen this situation before - and I have been using RKAndroidTool for a long time. Confused

 

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
77
2014/01/24 - 20:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

DarthJabba said
@Burs - the stock kernel is attached.

Thanks a bunch! You never know, right? :) But good job anyway!
I've been throwing all kinds of heavy apps and benchmarks for the whole day, and not a single crash/restart/shutdown, so I guess it's pretty stable afterall. That one time when it did that, who knows what was that, maybe it didn't have anything to do with the kernel. But it was the first one ever and just a little after I patched it up, so that was my first thought. Fingers crossed, so it doesn't happen ever again :)

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
78
2014/01/24 - 21:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Just found a brand new release of RKAndroidTool (v2.1.0.0) that seems to have been crafted specifically for KitKat. It has a lot more functionality than the old v1.37 - but I'm not brave enough to try it yet ...

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

Ohamn, maikal

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
79
2014/01/24 - 21:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Darth both of these last two kernels you posted are overclocked? Its just that he las one is THE stock kernel overclocked, am I understanding that correctly? And you find that the T14 is a better fir for you?

Will either work with Dalvik and ART?

Has anyone tried both Dalvik and ART? I know it's only a couple of hours really since we got the KIT KAT. I read an article I was tryin to find but I can't for the life of me figure out who posted it ANdroid Police or Droid life or XDA. Anyway, just thought I'd ask to see if any one experienced both already.

Thanks

 

On another subject if any could answer. So we have with kit-kat 2 launchers, the first one I assume is "The Kit-Kat" launcher with the full package, correct, would that be the "stock" launcer? The second, or launcher3 is just a plain launcher without the full experience, right? thats the only difference? Just wondering why they even bothered with a second launcher if we could easily shut it off, or just replace that one with our favorite launcher.


Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
80
2014/01/24 - 22:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The stock kernel is exactly as it is in the Kasty 4.4.2 ROM (i.e., not tampered with in any way). The overclocked kernel posted earlier is the same kernel, but overclocked in the cpu and gpu.

In the previous overclocked kernel tests, T13 and T14 were the best in terms of performance and battery life. T14 works best for me even though it can run a bit warm.

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

maikal

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
81
2014/01/24 - 22:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I see thanks for the reply, was just a bit confused by the narrative above the "stock" kernel you posted.

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
82
2014/01/24 - 23:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The new RKAndroid Tool can unpack firmware images, extracting all the individual components (boot, kernel, system, parameter, etc), and has tools to do both packing and unpacking.

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
83
2014/01/24 - 23:42
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Is it any useful for creating CWM for KitKit? Does that make us at least one step closer?
How much is it possible that CWM will be functional in relatively short period (few weeks, or months, or..)?
Being without a custom recovery is like limping on one foot :)

Avatar
airman
Milano
Active Member
Forum Posts: 33
Member Since:
2013/05/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
84
2014/01/25 - 00:37
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Generally speaking, CWM works flawlessly with Kitkat.  The problem here is the Cube branded rom.  Don't think someone could be able to release a modded CWM just for the Cube only,  but who knows... Laugh

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
85
2014/01/25 - 00:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Well, that's what I ment. I'm not interested in CWM for Samsung or HTC or whatever, I was asking in scope of this thread. And why do you think the problem is this rom? And why someone could not be able to make one? If there is CWM for 4.2, I think it's just a matter of time until someone releases it for 4.4. It's just I'm impatient. I don't like to go out without my full nandroid backup :)

Avatar
Sethi
Brazil
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 93
Member Since:
2013/04/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 10
86
2014/01/25 - 01:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello there, when i try to install this new ROM i get error on "Download IDB Fail" and it doesn´t go futher. Any ideais?

Avatar
vandall666
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2013/12/31
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
87
2014/01/25 - 01:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi

Just updated my tablet.

Both cameras work ok, issue with wallpaper on launcher 3, standard launcher is ok.

Brightness reversed.

No other issues so far,...

 

great work !

Avatar
airman
Milano
Active Member
Forum Posts: 33
Member Since:
2013/05/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
88
2014/01/25 - 01:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Mmm,  as I know,  it doesn't exist a device dedicated version of CWM.  It works in the same way for all rooted devices.  And the current version works without problems with CM11. This is the reason why I think the problem is in the Cube ROM.  Of course it's my 2 cents only... 

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
89
2014/01/25 - 01:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi Just updated my tablet. Both cameras work ok, issue with wallpaper on launcher 3, standard launcher is ok. Brightness reversed. No other issues so far,...   great work !

 

Yup launcher 3 is problematic. Mine has been force closing all day. I wondered why its even there since the stock one gives you the so called "full" kitkat experience!

Avatar
Sethi
Brazil
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 93
Member Since:
2013/04/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 10
90
2014/01/25 - 01:54
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Any1 know how to fix this:

 

**********Restore Action**********
**********Restore Start Total<1>**********
<Layer 1-1-4> Download Boot Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Download Boot Success
<Layer 1-1-4> Wait For Maskrom Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Wait For Maskrom Success
<Layer 1-1-4> Test Device Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Test Device Success
<Layer 1-1-4> Check Chip Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Check Chip Success
<Layer 1-1-4> Get FlashInfo Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Get FlashInfo Success
<Layer 1-1-4> Prepare IDB Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Prepare IDB Success
<Layer 1-1-4> Download IDB Start
<Layer 1-1-4> Download IDB Fail
**********Restore Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<60013>ms**********

 

??

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
55 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (52), Phone (3)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

wheaten156

luislx

algua

Twotrains

alexanddercrb

tsmfallen

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix