Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.4.2 KitKat custom root firmware (2014/01/21)
Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
31
2014/01/22 - 19:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I don't understand how it can still be problematic after the storage has been completely reformatted, and there is no possibility of a carryover from the old firmwares. Perhaps the hardware itself has gone awry?

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

maikal

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Ohamn
Member
Forum Posts: 16
Member Since:
2013/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
32
2014/01/22 - 20:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Have flashed the KitKat FW and things sort of work, mostly.

Has anyone managed to change the wallpaper?

Have tried in both the "stock" launchers and also in Nova Launcher to no avail.

Guess we will have to wait for a FW that has been cleaned up a bit?

 

Camera doesn´t work, not a dealbreaker for me though.

 

Good work so far!!!

 

// Ohamn

The following users say thank you to Ohamn for this useful post:

maikal
Avatar
jy_p
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/11/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 20
33
2014/01/22 - 20:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I haven't tried with lauchers that are included.  I am using NEXT on the BETA 4.4 and I am having a downloaded live wallpaper that is working just fine.

 

Again, can someone post the CIFS.KO and TUN.KO module please?  (from System/lib/modules folder)

Avatar
aydin2973
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/04/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
34
2014/01/22 - 20:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi, I have a problem

I install this rom. But my touch screen is not working. Actually works, but showing the wrong.

In previous versions has never been any problem.


Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
35
2014/01/22 - 21:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

jy_p said

Again, can someone post the CIFS.KO and TUN.KO module please?  (from System/lib/modules folder)

Attached.

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

jy_p

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
bender83
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
36
2014/01/22 - 21:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

hi

i am having problems enabling location

35jmq86.pngImage Enlarger 

also I switched from Dalvik to ART in the developer options menu and there is noticeable lag but antutu shows almost the same score as in 4.2.2

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
37
2014/01/22 - 21:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

DarthJabba said
I don't understand how it can still be problematic after the storage has been completely reformatted, and there is no possibility of a carryover from the old firmwares. Perhaps the hardware itself has gone awry?

 

If you are talking to me, I'll check tonight when I reflash to see if the camera works Darth.

Someone asked about the touch screen I just checked a email I had from last night and the touch screen is doing what its supposed to for me. expanding and contracting the text and so forth.

 

I have 2 separate wall papers and a Live wall paper under display, and of course gallery. Both wall papers seem to work as does live wall paper. Oh I see. One wall paper is activated by regular launcher the other by launcher3. Launcher3 wall paper fc if you are using the regular launcher.

 

Hmm, wall paper is glitchy...yup just tried to change it under regular launcher. And just tried launcher3. also glitching with fc of launcher.

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
38
2014/01/22 - 22:54
sp_Permalink sp_Print

My tablet arrived today with 2.06 (JB 4.2.2) and I flashed it immediately to this 4.4.2 :)

I must admit it's not so fluid as the stock one was (4.2.2). Is it because of custom stuff added into this rom, or because it's a test version? Someone here said it's more fluid than previous versions, but I don't see it that way, so been wondering what is the reason?

Here are my findings based upon few hours of usage:

1) Brightness in inverted, so draging slider to right actualy lowers the brightness. Also few seconds before the screen is about to switch off, the brightness increases instead of lowering itself :)
2) Video recording can be set to 720p. Not completly sure how it was on JB, but I've been reading everywhere that 480p (VGA) is maximum. Correct me if I'm wrong. And all those conversations about camera, I think I'm not folowing you, because both front and back camera work flawlesly when taking pictures and recording videos.
3) As I already said, it lags a bit. Actualy maybe it's not lagging in full sense, more like some micro-stuttering. But definetely not as Jellybean's project butter.
4) After first reboot, I got an error that SuperSU/Gmail cannot be updated, but when I manualy tried to update them, everything went smooth.
5) Slightly faster booting.
6) Decent stand-by battery consumption.
7) In Launcher3 static wallpapers cannot be set (only live wallpapers).
8) No more deep sleep issue. Actualy this is the only problem I found so far (on 4.2.2), but seems it's gone now. Fingers crossed for never to happen again.
9) Sometimes the beginning of sounds are cut-off (when tapping on homescreen and keyboard typing). It also happens when I'm typing 5 letters, and hear clicking sound for 4 letters only.
10) Charging over USB port is possible! I remember many questions on why isn't that working on previous versions, so I guess this is also new. That means if my charger dies (and it wouldn't be the first one as far as I've been reading about those issues), then I can at least charge it while connected to a PC or through another charger with USB connector on itself.
11) AnTuTu is about 18,300. But the last 3D scene lags like hell and all looks like it's render on VGA resolution screen - just awful...

Last but not least, a question. How much is the battery capacity? I've been reading 7200/7600/8000mAh all over the internet and I don't know whom to trust anymore.

That's all for now. Tomorrow I will install my apps and games, so I will update this post if I find something new.

Avatar
staard
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/10/22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
39
2014/01/22 - 23:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Does anyone know why my shitty windows vista laptop can't install the driver when booted in recovery mode? In device centre it reconigzes 'RK3066' as a device but when I try to install the driver it fails. I prevously installed the kasty ROM 4.2.2 from october, with adjusted kernell. Please help.

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
40
2014/01/22 - 23:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

You could try installing drivers from geekbuying's blog:

http://blog.geekbuying.com/index.php/2013/11/08/have-problem-in-install-the-rockchip-drivers-no-worry-rockchip-release-the-drivers-auto-installation-tool-download-here/

The procedure is super simple, and it's all over with two clicks. I did it just before instaling this custom rom, and all went smooth on windows8, but it should be backward comaptible all the way to winxp. Give it a try.

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
41
2014/01/23 - 01:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

DarthJabba said

jy_p said

Again, can someone post the CIFS.KO and TUN.KO module please?  (from System/lib/modules folder)

Attached.

Are these not included in rom per first post?

Also, I reflashed the rom and still the camera fc when it opens. So any ideas would be appreciated.

Avatar
jy_p
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2013/11/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 20
42
2014/01/23 - 03:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I am still on the original BETA.  That is why I wanted to try the CIFS and TUN modules from this ROM.  My tablet works good as it is so I won't install another ROM before we can get the official 4.4 (or a custom build on it).  

 

Unfortunately, the two modules don't seems to work with the BETA ROM.  The CIFS installed correctly but I can't access my NAS.  The TUN returns error at install time.  Are they working with this custom ROM? 

 

 

Avatar
--CoolZone--
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2013/10/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
43
2014/01/23 - 07:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Flashed this rom last night on my U30GT2. I did previously have the 2.06 with custom kernel at 1.8GHz; with this one I had some problems with slow loading applications and if I wanted to run two or more applications at one time the tablet was becoming very slow, laggy. However, the interface was pretty smooth after everything was loaded in the RAM and gaming was alright I might say.

 

With the Kit Kat firmware the desktop is pretty choppy, not as smooth as on the 4.2.2, but aspects like application loading times, startup times have been improved dramatically. With the 4.2.2 I thought that this is the maximum performance I would obtain with the tablet because of slow internal memory but seems I was wrong since application installation and loading is much faster with the Kit Kat release. Besides the choppy desktop animations, menus I have also seen that the CPU has a pretty high load in IDLE (15-30% most of the times) while on 4.2.2 I had 1-5%. Because of this the tablet feels warmer than on Jelly Bean.

Avatar
validatus
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 180
Member Since:
2013/06/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 18
44
2014/01/23 - 08:01
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

@bender

 

to use location u have to install apk asking for (earth maps ) & then enable location

 

it seems that maps can't access www

 apks ok: nova, app monster, earth, maps ?

regards

 

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
45
2014/01/23 - 10:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I need to take back what I said yesterday about "decent stand-by battery consumption". I left my tablet overnight for 8 hours in stand-by, and the battery dropped down from 24% to 5%. That's almost 2,5% per hour! Not acceptable at all. And that's with no other apps installed. Is it because it's a first discharge or because it drains faster when low on battery? I'll have to install some battery apps and see if I can find the culprit.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
98 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (88), Phone (10)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

moroco66

shawner82

dima57

NOLF110

sgthollow

djaddrubal

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix