Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.2.2 custom root firmware version 2.06 final (2013/10/29)
Avatar
validatus
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 180
Member Since:
2013/06/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 18
136
2013/12/04 - 14:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello DJ

You said

"

max cpu = 1800 mhz

max gpu = 798 mhz

ddr = 720 mhz

"

can you remember us what are the stock values

 

thx

 

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
137
2013/12/04 - 17:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print

validatus said
can you remember us what are the stock values

cpu=1608 mhz

gpu=600 mhz

ddr=528 mhz

 

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

validatus

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
StefMug
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/09/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
138
2013/12/06 - 12:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

 

vlevi said

Oyeee said

In sleep mode, 1% per hour is quite normal

I have about the same battery drain, but I don't think it is "normal". I've chechked the system tuner app, and it says, the processor is offline most of the time. This is the expected, for example, whole night it is suspended. The battery monitor shows the wifi active all the time, but it is false, because clearly visible, that the wifi connects when I start using the tablet. But something must be there, which drains the battery in sleep mode. 1% per hour is not normal with 7600 mAh batteries. For comparison, my phohe has a 2000mAh battery, and mtk65.. quad core processor, and it can be idle for 6-7 days. 1/4 battery capacity, but longer idle time, it means, that my phone uses idle power more than 5 times better.
The other thing, which I see as a difference, for example play updates. With the cube, while play is running updates, the tablet is nearly useless, but my phone (lenovo s750), i didn't notice anything, but the gogle play update progess in the statusbar, I can use may phone while updating, withouth any break or slowdown.
I don't know if it is Rockchip's, or Cube's responsibility, but I don't see any significant improvement since the version 2 sdks came out from rockchip.
The only thing, why I don't switch back to the 2.04 is, that I have win8.1 on my pc, and I can't install rockchip drivers http://www.arctablet.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_sad.gif

hy,

I see the same problems as vlevi!

I don't think this short standbytime is normal for Polymere batteries, there is still some bad battery usage in cube firmware

Battery drains within 3-4 days WITHOUT ANY usage! this would be only last 100 hours in standby/sleep...

compared to Google/Samsung/other Tablets which have around 300 hours Standby!!!

also there is the problem with the playstore updates - in this time the cube is useless like a brick, i think there is a problem with chipset, too low cache or something...

but in daily usage i still like my cube ;-)

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
139
2013/12/06 - 15:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Battery drain depends on many things. Some are not under the manufacturer's control (e.g., which apps you have installed, and what they are doing in the background). Some are under the manufacturer's control (e.g., the kernel). Some kernels are battery hogs, and some are not. Some don't have the phone problem, and some do.

What kernel version does your ROM have?

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta


Avatar
vlevi
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2013/07/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
140
2013/12/06 - 18:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I tried many ROM versions. 2.04test, 2.04 final, 2.06, ... I have CWM backups, and I can switch between them easily.
Battery drain in idle might be some of the apps, but I don't think.
System tuner shows, that the processor is offline most of the time (for example 22hrs offline, 15mins are running low speed, 4-5 minutes at higher speeds). I think, if a processor is offline, it means 0Mhz, and nothing can run and use power.

But I will try to install one the stock ROMs, and see what happens.

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
141
2013/12/06 - 18:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

vlevi said
I think, if a processor is offline, it means 0Mhz, and nothing can run and use power.

I think you will find that you are mistaken. I doubt that the system will ever run at 0mhz. There is always something going on (else how would the system detect signals?) and so the cpu would be running all the time. If idle, it would mostly be running at the lowest clock speed above zero that the kernel supports.

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
DocBubba
New Member
Forum Posts: 7
Member Since:
2013/11/30
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
142
2013/12/06 - 20:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

DJ,

It's 3.0.36+

lincp@tchipserver1 #12

wed oct 16 11:48:36 CST 2013

But listen, my beef is not that it is a battery hog, but that it becomes a battery hog with kasty's ROMs, both 2.04 and 2.06. It behaves normally with stock ROMs.

I am, however, open to suggestions.

Avatar
validatus
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 180
Member Since:
2013/06/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 18
143
2013/12/06 - 20:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Yes

 

This is called "idle loop" where the system stands since an event occurs

Avatar
vlevi
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2013/07/01
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
144
2013/12/07 - 10:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

" It behaves normally with stock ROMs."
I will try it.

Avatar
tobbe
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/12/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
145
2013/12/09 - 22:34
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Does anyone have any more input on this subject about the battery idle drain? 

My experience is that my Cube drains about 2 % per hour when it is on stand by. 

That means that I have to charge it many times a week, which is a shame compared to i.e. an iPad. 

I am going to try this app -> "cron tasker free" to see i this app can completly turn off the wifi during night time to see if the wifi is the problem. 

Can you, vlevi, give more input from your try with "stock ROM"?

Avatar
ntinos_tech
Member
Forum Posts: 19
Member Since:
2013/09/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
146
2013/12/10 - 15:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi everyone,

 

2 Questions:

a.does anyone tried to connect u30gt2 with a USB LAN Ethernet adapter? I need this in order to have the tablet connected to internet without wifi. If yes can you please share with me the adapter model....and from where you got it.

b. does anyone succeeded to connect external usb HDD to the tablet? even using an external power USB hub and OTG cable....?

thank you all in  advanced 

 

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3177
147
2013/12/10 - 15:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello,

a. I successfully used an adapter based on ASIX AX88772 chip on another tablet, I don't know if the Cube U30GT2 supports it as well as I don't own this tablet. Don't expect fast speeds for the LAN, you'll probably get something in the 10/100 Mbit/s range.

b. As for the external HD connected thru an OTG cable, it may work or not, depending on which filesystem it's formatted and if it's self powered or not. I don't know the exact rules there...

 

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
Wintermute
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 89
Member Since:
2013/09/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 30
148
2013/12/10 - 16:14
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hi,

a. Kind of. Had bought a cheap ASIX AX88772 from Chinese site which turned out to be using a clone of original ASIX chip (oh well, they copycat about everything apparently...). Worked out of box in Linux. Worked on Windows and OSX only with particular drivers, older ones that didn't include checking of HW authenticity. In Android however, no luck whatsoever. Tried two Android tablets, both froze a few moments after plugging ASIX USB device in. Everytime. It might work with authentic AX88772 HW, i don't know. Also when tested in Linux/Windows, transfer speeds were tolerable, hitting 100mbit limit both up and down.

b. I have connected several, 2.5" - 3.5", NTFS formatted, <=1TB, USB2 HDDs to U30GT2. Detected and accessed just fine. No comments on stability. Can't remember whether I used powered USB hub or connected directly via OTG cable. Will check again and post here eventually.

Avatar
Wintermute
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 89
Member Since:
2013/09/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 30
149
2013/12/10 - 19:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

@ntinos_tech

Update.

No device connected to an USB hub (powered or not) gets detected by tablet. As pointed out elsewhere, there must be a specific support in kernel to allow for USB hub functioning. How it comes default kernels are lacking such trivial feature is difficult to understand.

Results:

1) 2.5" USB-powered HDD connected to OTG fails to spin-up due to insufficient power provided by U30GT2. Tried two different HDD brands and models. No luck.

2) 2.5" same as above, but connected using Y fork cable is detected and works. I've used powered USB hub as power source only this time.

3) 3.5" externally-powered HDD connected to OTG is detected and works. No problems here.

 

All HDDs were NTFS formatted, capacities 0.5TB and 1TB, mounted as read-write by default. Write speed was ridiculously low, like ~2MB/s for large files, much less for small files. Measured by copying files from internal NAND.

The following users say thank you to Wintermute for this useful post:

maikal, ntinos_tech
Avatar
ntinos_tech
Member
Forum Posts: 19
Member Since:
2013/09/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
150
2013/12/11 - 19:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Really thank you.can anyone let us know how we may avoid battery drain during stand by? Does anyone succeded something please share your findings and yor actions...else i have to go back to august kasy rom.......i hate updates hahaha especially when it create issues.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 803

Currently Online: Stellar7, WhiteD2125
104 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
2 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (69), Phone (37)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

WhiteD2125

Bokser

hamishduke

squal

squalangel

anqilan456

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix