Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT C4 Android 4.4.1 KitKat custom root firmware (test version dated 2013/12/12)
Avatar
pasconat
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/05/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
61
2014/01/10 - 13:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

validatus said
@pasconat

what's your cube

 

bests

 

U30GT2

sorry :)

 Update : Actually was written in my 1st post at the beginning I see :)

Avatar
pasconat
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/05/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
62
2014/01/10 - 13:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Additional info (3/3)

See previous page for problem detail ^^

To summarize I have a U30GT2 flashed by mistake with this U30GT C4 firmware ...

 

With the U30GT C4 firmware, I managed to have access to the Recovery System page (again the page is plit in 4 but I still can read the menu)

//reboot sysem now

//apply update from ADB

//apply update from external storage

//update rkimage from external storage

//apply update from cache

//wipe data/factory reset

//wipe cache partition

//recovery system from backup

 

That being said .. Will it help finding a way to flash back a U30GT2 firmware ?

Thank you !

Avatar
pasconat
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2013/05/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
63
2014/01/10 - 15:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Additional info 4/4

It simply seems the tab doesn't want to downgrade from 4.4 to 4.2 (or maybe not) ..

But just to give you some info, I tried to flash to Neomode-Custom-Rom-U30GT2-Android-4-4-Version-0-9 using RKAndroidTool 1.37 and it worked !

link : http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php?9395-Neomode-Custom-Rom-U30GT2-Android-4-4-Version-0-9

The problem is that this rom is not "stable" (no camera, no auto rotation etc ...)

 

My question is now, do you think I can now downgrade by any way from this Neomode-Custom-Rom-U30GT2-Android-4-4-Version-0-9 to Cube U30GT2 Android 4.2.2 custom root firmware version 2.06 final (2013/10/29) ?

Looking forward to reading your advices !

Thanks

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
64
2014/01/10 - 21:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

It seems that KitKat has a different bootloader (v2.x). It also seems to occupy twice the space occupied by the old (v1.x) bootloaders. This could be problematic when trying to flash an older (i.e., Jelly Bean) firmware, because the offsets would be all wrong. You might first have to restore a v1.x bootloader.

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta


Avatar
hasanpb
Member
Forum Posts: 19
Member Since:
2013/07/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
65
2014/01/11 - 11:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

pasconat said
Additional info 4/4

It simply seems the tab doesn't want to downgrade from 4.4 to 4.2 (or maybe not) ..

But just to give you some info, I tried to flash to Neomode-Custom-Rom-U30GT2-Android-4-4-Version-0-9 using RKAndroidTool 1.37 and it worked !

link : http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php?9395-Neomode-Custom-Rom-U30GT2-Android-4-4-Version-0-9

The problem is that this rom is not "stable" (no camera, no auto rotation etc ...)

 

My question is now, do you think I can now downgrade by any way from this Neomode-Custom-Rom-U30GT2-Android-4-4-Version-0-9 to Cube U30GT2 Android 4.2.2 custom root firmware version 2.06 final (2013/10/29) ?

Looking forward to reading your advices !

Thanks

The best ROM ever... 

Avatar
stassen
Sweden
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 62
Member Since:
2013/04/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 43
66
2014/01/11 - 19:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

If anybody will try this rom on U30GT2 you need to download latest rom for u30gt2 unpack the .img save only recovery.img and kernel.img i use RK31xxImageTools to do that! do the same with this C4 4.4 .img, replace the files and pack the .img, now you can flash it on you u30gt2, :) its not just for this rom its like all RK3188 firmware i have tried! Bless

Avatar
Bsoft2007
Portugal
Active Member
Forum Posts: 36
Member Since:
2013/04/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
67
2014/01/11 - 21:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

If anybody will try this rom on U30GT2 you need to download latest rom for u30gt2 unpack the .img save only recovery.img and kernel.img i use RK31xxImageTools to do that! do the same with this C4 4.4 .img, replace the files and pack the .img, now you can flash it on you u30gt2, :) its not just for this rom its like all RK3188 firmware i have tried! Bless

 

Does the C4 4.4 rom, work well on your u30gt2?

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
68
2014/01/11 - 22:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I would also like to know how does it work on U30GT2 and if there are any issues with it?

Is it better than the one from Neomode on FreakTab (ported from Pipo U8)?

By "latest rom for u30gt2" you mean the official one?

Would be greatly appreciated if someone could do all the repacking, so we have a version which can be flashed directly...

Thanks!

 

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

o.g.ram
Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
69
2014/01/12 - 21:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

I repacked U30C4 KitKat with kernel and recovery from U30GT2 JB (official 2.06), but - don't have my tablet yet, so I can't test it :)

If anyone's willing to flash it, I can upload it somewhere. Can someone tell me how can I upload to this site, or if it's more appropriate, to which file hosting service should be the best to upload it?

It would be of much help if 'stassen' could reply with his findings and impressions, so we can get the information from first hand. But I did exactly as he said (I used RK Firmware Tools), so my resulting image file should be the same as his.

My upload speed crawls at 512KBit, so it might take awhile until it gets uploaded, but sooner you respond, sooner it will be online :)

 

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

Jgarciaillanf1
Avatar
Jgarciaillanf1
Active Member
Forum Posts: 35
Member Since:
2013/06/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 13
70
2014/01/12 - 22:02
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Burs said
I repacked U30C4 KitKat with kernel and recovery from U30GT2 JB (official 2.06), but - don't have my tablet yet, so I can't test it :)

If anyone's willing to flash it, I can upload it somewhere. Can someone tell me how can I upload to this site, or if it's more appropriate, to which file hosting service should be the best to upload it?

It would be of much help if 'stassen' could reply with his findings and impressions, so we can get the information from first hand. But I did exactly as he said (I used RK Firmware Tools), so my resulting image file should be the same as his.

My upload speed crawls at 512KBit, so it might take awhile until it gets uploaded, but sooner you respond, sooner it will be online :)

 

Hi mate, great job!!! :D :D :D I wish someone try to port Pipo m9 ROM too ;) Hahahaha!

 

I think the best site to upload the ROM is MEGA, try with that site, and thanks again for your efforts.

Regards! :)

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
71
2014/01/13 - 00:30
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Here's the download link. Took me 2,5 hours lol :) Hope it was worth it.

https://mega.co.nz/#!Q1ZiVIwa!b-13dVlw7ev81fCUpmP1JRQnX_pDq4brtj3DaNJjSUY

The image is compressed with 7zip. You can extract it either with WinRAR or 7zip extractor.

Flash tool and drivers are not included. They can be separately downloaded by searching the forum.

Again, I was doing everything by instructions, so I can't be held responsible for any issues.

Anyone who tries it, make sure you create a backup before flashing it.

Now... who's first? :) Keep us all informed...

 

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

Bsoft2007
Avatar
kellbain
Active Member
Forum Posts: 25
Member Since:
2013/04/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 17
72
2014/01/13 - 08:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Burs!

I gave your KitKat hybrid a try and it will load in and the loader tells you it's successful, but it can't boot up again (dead droid). Sorry, I was able to come back from a soft brick, no problem, but your ROM needs more work before it can fly.

Cheers, Kell

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
73
2014/01/13 - 09:34
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Thanks for trying. I did exactly what 'stassen' wrote in his earlier post, so if he got it running, then this should run too. I'm afraid I can't do much more without him telling us what else he did. Meanwhile, hoping that a full-blown KitKat comes to our devices soon :)

Avatar
Wintermute
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 89
Member Since:
2013/09/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 30
74
2014/01/13 - 12:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I'd say the best you can do at this point is to wait patiently for official 4.4 KitKat update from Cube (+ hopefully mods from Kasty and DarthJabba). Anything else is just way too risky, experimental and simply does not worth the hassle. Patience people... Wink

The following users say thank you to Wintermute for this useful post:

validatus
Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
75
2014/01/13 - 13:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yeah, I know. Patience is a virtue. But I know when I burn custom rom from kasty, install all apps and configure everything I wanted, it will be a day or two after when official 4.4 will be released :) And then I'll have to go all over again. I know there's Titanium backup and all that, but I don't like to do the same things twice, ecpecialy if it's two days apart. And I hate when I have to go with all from scratch. Back in the days when Vista came out, I was on WinXP for more than 4 years lol. So much about upgrading my operating systems. Still think that Vista was crap, so maybe that wasn't such a bad decision, but moving to something new and changing all that stuff I'm used to, give me the creeps. Back2topic.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
66 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (58), Phone (7), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

Shincozen

karim78190

mario millan

estelavg

Skyzhay

HorstG

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix