Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Cube U30GT2 Android 4.4.2 KitKat (2014/02/19) firmware - DarthJabba mod in CWM upgrade format
Avatar
airman
Milano
Active Member
Forum Posts: 33
Member Since:
2013/05/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
31
2014/03/15 - 23:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks a lot,  Darthjabba! 

The stock kernel is the best for my baby and Antutu score jumps to 19449.

Avatar
bcansu
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2013/05/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
32
2014/03/16 - 06:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks a lot,  Darthjabba.Everything is beautiful.

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
33
2014/03/16 - 08:02
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Excellent! :-)

By the way, I always use Nova Launcher. The stock launchers often have issues of all kinds ...

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
34
2014/03/16 - 16:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

DarthJabba said
A new record for the Cube! Using the overclocked #352 kernel (cpu1800, gpu768, ddr720) I've got an Antutu score of 22357.

I'm joining to Club22k+ with my 22097 :) That's on #352 kernel (cpu1800, gpu768, ddr667). Other benchmark scores are down below with percentage difference compared to beta1 (cpu1800, gpu798, ddr667). The UI experience is much better now, but benchmarks show that gaming should be much better too. Overall, I'm quite happy with the changes Cube did in this beta.

The only bug I have noticed so far is some weird screen flickering (like a vsynch over 60fps), and screen corruption (but only on a small part of the screen for a brief time). Some people also reported it before me. Most of the time it happens on the navigation bar on the bottom, when scrolling launcher homescreens, when scrolling apps in Settings/Apps, when browsing the content inside gallery, and even in 3DMark and NenaMark2 benchmarks, so I guess it will be visible in other apps sooner or later. I still can't confirm that since I'm completely stock now, but anyway it would be nice to get rid of it. So if anyone knows how to deal with it, I'm open to all suggestions.

And now the results...

Benchmarks (FHD):
AnTuTu = 22097 (+3,6%)
Quadrant = 6043 (+7,3%)
T-Rex HD = 7fps (+16,7%)
Egypt HD = 18fps (+20%)
NenaMark2 = 60fps (+36,4%)
Epic Citadel = 50fps (+51,5%)
3DMark = 4197/3151/4207 (+18,9%/+13,4%/-0,2%?)

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

maikal

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
35
2014/03/16 - 16:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Congratulations! :-)

I haven't built any gpu798 overclocked kernels this time - perhaps I should?

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
36
2014/03/16 - 17:04
sp_Permalink sp_Print

And one more thing worth noting. If you're using the stock launcher (I think it would be no problem with others), do not ever disable or freeze Google Search in this beta! I like to do that because I never use it, and it doesn't reminds me every now and then about the update. If you do disable it, then the first side effect will be not able to get back to homescreen. And if you undo your changes while you still can, then that's no problem at all, but if you restart your Cube (like I did, thinking it's something else), they you will find you can't boot your tablet as it will be waiting on the animated Cube logo indefinitely. But that's not where the fun starts, because even restoring your CWM backup won't help. Not even completely wiping the whole damn thing, and installing fresh CWM rom (for the life of me I can't figure out why that didn't help). The only way to bring it back to life (at least in my case) was flashing Kasty's rom with RKbatch tool first, and then do the whole thing over again (CWM, JB rom, mods, kernel, setting up the settings, restoring apps, ...). Arrgghh. Now I did the same mistake, but I was carefuly checking if everything's ok after each major step, so I was able to figure out what is going on. If I was a developer of that stupid stock launcher, I wouldn't go into infinite loop waiting for Google Search widget to automagicaly appear from somewhere, I would instead not load it or something. And that's how it was on every rom until now. But the way it is now, all hell breaks loose because of that widget. So save yourself a headache, and leave that alone.

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

maikal
Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
37
2014/03/16 - 17:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

DarthJabba said

Congratulations! http://www.arctablet.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

I haven't built any gpu798 overclocked kernels this time - perhaps I should?

If you decide to do it, I can test it on my Cube too.
And I tried #352 ddr720 too, but it wouldn't boot up again.
Before on #305 it could hardly get into recovery or was giving a black bricked screen, so I guess now is a little bit better lol http://www.arctablet.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif But it seems to me it's not worth ~250 AnTuTu points (difference between our scores).

EDIT: the "flickering effect" sometimes also happens when slowly swiping apps from the recents menu. I would say it's something to do with the video drivers. And possibly with the added performance in this beta. Like vsynch is set to off in specific cases where performance is needed, so screen tearing effect shows up. Just wild guessing. Does anyone else experience it?

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

maikal
Avatar
saciorlux
Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2013/04/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
38
2014/03/16 - 18:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

When I select ART, reboot, does not change, is back Dalvick

http://saciormeteo.no-ip.biz

Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
39
2014/03/16 - 19:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Did someone noticed there is no cursor (|) inside any of the text boxes? It's somewhat harder to navigate text inside it. Anyone with that bug? Or is it a feature? http://www.arctablet.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

Also forgot to say that battery drain and stand-by time are better than in previous betas. At least on stock settings/apps. Now after restoring my apps, I will see if that remains the same levels...

I changed my launcher to Next Laucher, and it seems the fickering is somewhat better now. Can't say it's gone completely. Will test it more thorughly later, because now I'm left with 2% battery...

Last but not least, my camera LED started working again. Weeeee! :) I just don't know what to do with it lol

The following users say thank you to Burs for this useful post:

maikal
Avatar
saciorlux
Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2013/04/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
40
2014/03/16 - 20:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print

saciorlux said
When I select ART, reboot, does not change, is back Dalvick

solved

Xposed isn't compatible with ART

If I want to test ART, I must uninstall the framework.

 

http://saciormeteo.no-ip.biz

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
41
2014/03/16 - 21:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

@Burs: yes, I've noticed that there is no cursor in the text boxes - but this is something that I can live with.

I have updated the first post with gpu798 overclocked kernels (download #5). There is "gpu798h" (which is based on the original T14 specs), and there is a new "gpu798ht" ("t" stands for "turbo"). The main difference lies in the in-between frequencies (higher in the turbo version).

To be honest, I haven't found a great improvement in gpu798 over gpu768; and 798 runs hotter. I have gone back to gpu768h, but your mileage may vary ...

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

Burs, maikal

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
42
2014/03/17 - 01:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

So those gpu 798h kernels are the same as the ones we tested before, that are in the repository you put together for us or are these tweeked for use with this particular rom?

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
43
2014/03/17 - 10:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print

maikal said
So those gpu 798h kernels are the same as the ones we tested before, that are in the repository you put together for us ...

No, they are not. These are based on the new kernel #352. The ones that were released before were based on the old kernel #305.

 

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

maikal

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
traysub
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2013/06/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 2
44
2014/03/17 - 10:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I only have "flickering effect"  on the modified kernels, on stock kernel there is no screen flickering effect. 

 

The following users say thank you to traysub for this useful post:

Burs, maikal
Avatar
Burs
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 144
Member Since:
2013/12/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 33
45
2014/03/17 - 11:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print

traysub said

I only have "flickering effect"  on the modified kernels, on stock kernel there is no screen flickering effect. 

 

Haven't thought about that... Why doubting DarthJabba's work? :)
But I will try stock one too, and see how it behaves on my tablet.
It seems it's flickering "only" when someting's scrolling on the screen...

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
106 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (97), Phone (9)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

moroco66

shawner82

dima57

NOLF110

sgthollow

djaddrubal

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix