Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.2.2 custom root firmware version 2.03 (2013/06/06)
Avatar
belleville
Member
Forum Posts: 14
Member Since:
2013/08/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
91
2013/09/17 - 15:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

maikal said

belleville said
Did you recalibrate the battery after installation?
 
no, because i don't think it is related.
the problem of v.2.04 is sleep mode. the machine can't really go to sleep at all, even though the screen is off. from battery meter, the screen (strange enough that the screen is actually off most of the time) and wifi are always on. it can be proved by simple hand touch on the machine back. on v2.04, the back is still warm after a few hours of sleep. on v2.03, the back is always cool in sleep mode.

 

Without trying, then you can't rule it out Belleville! So here is my report since instaling Darth's zip, and after follow up mod. So far with the new rom and the mod and after 18:15:35 on the battery is at 31% usage on sleep mode, with a few wake ups to go online to look in on the archtablet forum. Wifi was active. Phone radio did consume 91.5 % of the power used, wifi 0.8%, screen 3.0%, held awake 2.9%. power left 69%. I did do a calibration when I installed your zip Darth, but not after the follow up mod.

 

Just a simple physics question, how can a machine get warm when idle? If not from the battery drain, where does the heat come from?

I didn't try to recalibrate the battery, but didn't mean that i didn't try anything. I tried a lot of rom ver all the way from v1.05 to v2.04. each ver of the rom, i tried original and a bunch of custom roms modified by different people as well. More than a dozen roms i tried already. I never recalibrated the battery, and had no problem until v2.04. both original and custom v2.04 roms, including kasty, darthjabba (with and without mod), a couple of chinese custom roms, had the same battery drain problem. Once i get back to v2.03, my machine magically become cool again in sleep, and no battery drain of course. Now, it maybe only 1-2% lost for 12hr standby. Did i recalibrate the battery? No, never.

I don’t mean all machines are the same. It may be just my own case.

 

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
92
2013/09/17 - 23:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

belleville said

Just a simple physics question, how can a machine get warm when idle? If not from the battery drain, where does the heat come from?
 

The heat does not come from battery drain. It comes from the fact that something is running and is taxing the cpu. The heat arises from the cpu getting hot. Find what is running when it is not supposed to be running, and you find the source of your battery drain. Perhaps it is a kernel thread (I doubt it). Perhaps it is an errant app - e.g., a particular media player. Do an inventory of the apps on 2.03 and 2.04, and you might discover the problem.

If you give me a link to the 2.03 rom that avoids your problems, I can try to do some comparisons and byte-level checks, and see if I can find anything.

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
validatus
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 180
Member Since:
2013/06/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 18
93
2013/09/21 - 11:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello guys

 

who knows what about data in buildprop file

definitions, properties, ..

thanks

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
94
2013/09/21 - 12:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

For the average person, build.prop is best left alone - you can brick your device if you don't know what you are doing. If you really want to know, do a google search.

PS: I am no admin, but posting the same message in 3 different forums is not a brilliant idea.

 

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta


Avatar
validatus
Advanced Member
Forum Posts: 180
Member Since:
2013/06/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 18
95
2013/09/21 - 14:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Dear DarthJabba

 

I was a research engineer in projects ( my name validatus ) and I allways look as large as possible it's a bad aspect of my personnality

 

Best and best regards

 

PS: do people clear sd before installing a new rom I am not sure that recovery is exhaustiv in that way

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
96
2013/09/21 - 15:30
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Ok, but if it all goes pear-shaped, you've been warned!

You can start your research here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2212162

https://geekyogi.tumblr.com/post/24692879082/android-buildprop-tweaks-root-only

 

Note: I am NOT endorsing anything said in these places; my view is still the same - it is best to stay away from build.prop.

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

validatus

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
97
2013/11/02 - 02:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

 Please take a moment to visit this conversation regarding the the possible change of the Arctablet Logo if you have a minute.

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
98
2013/11/02 - 09:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hmm ... I am not an admin, but isn't it against netiquette to post the same message several times in different threads?

The following users say thank you to DarthJabba for this useful post:

validatus

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Florentpraha
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/10/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
99
2013/11/02 - 12:42
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi guys,

have a problem with U30GT2 with this ROM and looking for some solution. I flashed this ROM, tablet started normally and everything was ok. Yesterday, after 3 days of normally using tablet (without crashes etc.) tablet going off and I can start him. I copied some videos from PC to tablet (to internal memory, SD card is not inserted), in the middle of copying tablet normally goes off, it means, tablet finished application, send me message "going shutdown" (have any idea how is this message in english, using czech language) and going off. So no hard crash, it seems to same as I normally power off tablet thru menu or button. But tablet si totally dead now. Battery was full before crash. So have you some help for me pls? And sorry for my english, do my best...LaughWink

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
100
2013/11/02 - 13:31
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Looks like a hardware fault.

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Florentpraha
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/10/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
101
2013/11/02 - 13:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Im not sure, bucause it power off normally with message. If it was hardware fault, tablet crashed immidiatelly, or not? Have you some tip, what can I try to test? Could it help to dissassembly tablet and dissconect battery?

Avatar
DarthJabba

Contributor
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
2013/04/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 396
102
2013/11/02 - 13:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Connect the main power. The tablet should come on automatically. If it doesn't turn itself on, then you have your problem. If it turns on, and off again, that is usually a sign of a dead battery. If the battery is full, then perhaps there are loose connections inside the tablet. If the tablet is new, then you might want to return it.

Darth Jabba, the Dark Jedi from Nal Hutta

Avatar
Florentpraha
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2013/10/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
103
2013/11/02 - 14:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Have a tablet 8 days... :-( So lets see... Btw how I can try to start with recovery in this rom? Normally volume + and power button?

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
104
2013/11/02 - 21:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

If you have any of the latest roms, then you can try the arctools app. It has a reboot button with options on what type of reboot that are available.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 803

Currently Online:
197 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
6 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (183), Phone (14)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

ppaofe

kabelodinternetu

waterwall

sufak79

ntukinal

Miguelcnc

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix