Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U30GT2 Android 4.2.2 custom root firmware version 2.02 (2013/06/01)
Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3171
46
2013/06/10 - 17:59
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Well, I usually prefer to leave stock recovery by default, as it fits most users needs.

Still, I'm looking on a way to easily replace stock recovery by CWM right from the tablet, without any need to flash again. I'll post when it's ready Wink

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
Fedalo
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/05/12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
47
2013/06/10 - 19:12
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi

I have just installed the new firmware and everything are looking so good, I dont have any problem, but what I miss from the orginale firmware is the weather app, i tried to search for it on Google play but could not find it, could you please help me with that app, i love it.

thanks 

Avatar
gilsken
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2013/05/17
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
48
2013/06/10 - 19:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi,

It would be nice if the next release could include /dev/tun (or a module to load at init.d)

Thank you again for your work.

Avatar
Sethi
Brazil
Regular Member
Forum Posts: 93
Member Since:
2013/04/26
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 10
49
2013/06/11 - 19:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello again,

 

For those using the last fw and is missing the HDMI Time Out Screen.. i found a great app (free) that is working 100% after some easy step config.

 

here is the link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nkahoang.screenstandby&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwyLDEsImNvbS5ua2Fob2FuZy5zY3JlZW5zdGFuZGJ5Il0.

 

Enjoy :)

 

The best way for me was setup auto screen off after "x" time.. the 2nd screen (projector;tv) stays on!

The following users say thank you to Sethi for this useful post:

Meewind

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3171
50
2013/06/13 - 15:50
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

CrimsonCode

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
thatoneguysomeplace
Active Member
Forum Posts: 29
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 9
51
2013/06/13 - 17:27
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi,

 

Yesterday I tested all the available ROMs for the U30GT2. All of the ARCTABLET "kasty-cube" versions, all of the 900Supersport versions, and the official ones from Cube.

 

Yes, I WAS, in fact, bored.

 

Also it was kind-of a "puzzle" to see if any of the non-standard 1.03 ROMs would handle Netflix, web-browsing (with flash) any better.

 

Sadly. NONE of the other ROMs besides the standard 1.03 that shipped with my replacement unit (Hardware version 3) from Cube could manage to play Netflix "proficiently" (some would say "at all") and most had terrible video-tearing.

 

Ironically, when trying to reflash back to ANY of the 1.03 ROMs in the hopes of regaining functional Netflix capability... well... the  touchscreen flat out wouldn't function. But I _could_ get the tablet to flash any of the >other< ROMs, and well, that really didn't solve my Netflix issue.

 

I never got anywhere with my hopes of watching Hulu with a browser in some sort of "desktop mode" with flashplayer, either.

 

Anyhoo... That's my feedback. Some unachieved goals, a few disappointments, a couple of strange bugs, and oh yeah, no info on google, bing, xda, or yahoo on how to remove CWM Recovery. I'm wondering if that's what froze up those 1.03 ROMs/froze the touchscreens, or what. It would have been nice to be able to go COMPLETELY back to stock for troubleshooting/peace-of-mind.

 

Aside from the things I _couldn't_ do, I _was_ generally pleased with the performance of the tablet, though personally I think the setup of the Jellybean 4.1.x stock Launcher is a bit more spacious and nicer looking than the cramped & more telephone-like Launcher in the 4.2x version. Though there are 3rd party launchers to explore later.

 

Sorry to ramble...

Avatar
fiji
Greece
Member
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
52
2013/06/13 - 17:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

thank you thatoneguysomeplace :) you seem to be too patient :P

 

I too tested all arctablet Roms except the one posted today, and i concluded that 1.05 is the best if and only if you have a quite strong router and until the 4.2 problems are sorted out. In 1.05 you can have better performance in gaming (also in benchmarking but who cares).

 

One question though, the problems with the phone.apk did not exist in 4.1.1 versions. As thatoneguysomeplace stated, 4.2 is more phone-like.. In the 4.1.1 i cannot see any phone activity in the battery chart at all. Am i wrong?

Avatar
thatoneguysomeplace
Active Member
Forum Posts: 29
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 9
53
2013/06/13 - 18:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

oh hi fiji,

yeah, patient... hmm, you noticed! xD

 

I am reminded of something when you mention the phone activity. In some of the ROMs, in the Settings app, if you select the Item named "More..." under "Data usage" under the "Wireless & Networks" Section;

 

There is a popup panel; the fourth option is "Mobile Networks";

 

if you tap it, it reveals another popup panel titled "Mobile network settings";

 

Always pre-enabled are the properies of:

-- Data enabled (Enable data access over Mobile Network)

and

-- Data roaming (Connect to data services when roaming)

 

...these are obviously related to Mobile Phone Telephony, is it possible that these pre-enabled items turn on services that unnecessarily cause battery drain?

I ended up wandering around the Settings app after the ArcTools apk was unable to "move" the "phone" junk on a couple of ROM installs... and these settings seem similar to what the ArcTools "phone" thingy might have been trying to deal with.

Well they seem slightly related, anyhow.

 

So, I've just installed the 2.03 based kasty-cube firmware.. might as well be thorough! LOL. I have some free time, so what the hay.

 

Everyone take it easy

 

Avatar
CrimsonCode
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/06/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
54
2013/06/29 - 07:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hey Everyone! 

 

I can't express enough how excited I am that I found a good forum that has info and resources for the CUBE U30GT2, and it's in ENGLISH!!! I registered for the actual Cube-Tablet website community to try to report bugs I found in the beta and official releases of 4.2.2 (using Google Translate to translate everything on the site) but in order to post in their forum you needed to identify Chinese characters in a captcha-like image. So I was pretty much screwed.

 

Anyway, I had a question about this release you have posted. Most of the questions I had have been asked and answered already by other users on here, but no one asked if Netflix was working on this release. Does anyone know if it is? The stock release for the CUBE U30GT2 (JB 4.1.1) had no problem with Netflix. But when I installed the beta version of 4.2.2, Netflix stopped working correctly. Everything worked fine up until I started to watch a video, the video looks as if all the interlaced lines are pulled apart into two separate screens. I thought it would be fixed with the official release, but I am still having the same issue. Does anyone know if this ROM will solve that issue?

Avatar
CrimsonCode
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/06/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
55
2013/06/29 - 20:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print

thatoneguysomeplace said
Hi,

 

Yesterday I tested all the available ROMs for the U30GT2. All of the ARCTABLET "kasty-cube" versions, all of the 900Supersport versions, and the official ones from Cube.

 

Yes, I WAS, in fact, bored.

 

Also it was kind-of a "puzzle" to see if any of the non-standard 1.03 ROMs would handle Netflix, web-browsing (with flash) any better.

 

Sadly. NONE of the other ROMs besides the standard 1.03 that shipped with my replacement unit (Hardware version 3) from Cube could manage to play Netflix "proficiently" (some would say "at all") and most had terrible video-tearing.

 

Ironically, when trying to reflash back to ANY of the 1.03 ROMs in the hopes of regaining functional Netflix capability... well... the  touchscreen flat out wouldn't function. But I _could_ get the tablet to flash any of the >other< ROMs, and well, that really didn't solve my Netflix issue.

 

I never got anywhere with my hopes of watching Hulu with a browser in some sort of "desktop mode" with flashplayer, either.

 

Anyhoo... That's my feedback. Some unachieved goals, a few disappointments, a couple of strange bugs, and oh yeah, no info on google, bing, xda, or yahoo on how to remove CWM Recovery. I'm wondering if that's what froze up those 1.03 ROMs/froze the touchscreens, or what. It would have been nice to be able to go COMPLETELY back to stock for troubleshooting/peace-of-mind.

 

Aside from the things I _couldn't_ do, I _was_ generally pleased with the performance of the tablet, though personally I think the setup of the Jellybean 4.1.x stock Launcher is a bit more spacious and nicer looking than the cramped & more telephone-like Launcher in the 4.2x version. Though there are 3rd party launchers to explore later.

 

Sorry to ramble...

 

 

Sorry, I hadn't noticed that someone mentioned the Netflix issue before I posted my question. I too have been having issues with Netflix since the beta version of 4.2.2. When I was running the stock firmware, Netflix ran just fine for me. When you installed the Kasty Cube firmware, did you see any improvement? I haven't had the time to flash the Kasty ROM on my CUBE quite yet, but I will try it out and post my experience.

 

Here is a short summary of the changes I noticed in media playback between firmware:

 

Stock Firmware:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - Working (Not entirely stable)

Hulu (App) - Incompatible

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - Working

 

Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (Beta):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - App Working, Video Not (Interlaced lines split into two screens)

Hulu (App) - Incompatible

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - NOT Working

 

Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (Official):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - App Working, Video Not (Interlaced lines split into two screens)

Hulu (App) - Working (Stable)

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - Working

Avatar
thatoneguysomeplace
Active Member
Forum Posts: 29
Member Since:
2013/05/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 9
56
2013/06/30 - 06:59
sp_Permalink sp_Print

CrimsonCode said

Sorry, I hadn't noticed that someone mentioned the Netflix issue before I posted my question. I too have been having issues with Netflix since the beta version of 4.2.2. When I was running the stock firmware, Netflix ran just fine for me. When you installed the Kasty Cube firmware, did you see any improvement? I haven't had the time to flash the Kasty ROM on my CUBE quite yet, but I will try it out and post my experience.

 

Here is a short summary of the changes I noticed in media playback between firmware:

 

Stock Firmware:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - Working (Not entirely stable)

Hulu (App) - Incompatible

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - Working

 

Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (Beta):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - App Working, Video Not (Interlaced lines split into two screens)

Hulu (App) - Incompatible

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - NOT Working

 

Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (Official):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - App Working, Video Not (Interlaced lines split into two screens)

Hulu (App) - Working (Stable)

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - Working

 

Hi,

 

With the kasty-cube_u30gt2-422-204t_20130621-rooted4.zip posted by admin, based on the SDK 2, I have noticed a couple of positive things:

 

1. the latest Netflix app from the Play Store (not an older, or modified version) works; both in the app, and streaming video (even at high bitrate).

2. the Hulu Plus app from the Play Store installs, but I don't have a Plus account so I couldn't stream any content.

3. There is a Hulu Plus .apk that is available on the xda-developers forum that works on all android devices that I tried the Free Gallery content on my tablet, and it streamed well, without error.

Here is a link to the thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1449110 the .apk's are in the OP.

4. Flashplayer is working well with Boat Browser and Dolphin HD, streaming 1080p content without problems for me.

The following users say thank you to thatoneguysomeplace for this useful post:

CrimsonCode
Avatar
CrimsonCode
New Member
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
2013/06/29
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
57
2013/06/30 - 21:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print

thatoneguysomeplace said

CrimsonCode said

Sorry, I hadn't noticed that someone mentioned the Netflix issue before I posted my question. I too have been having issues with Netflix since the beta version of 4.2.2. When I was running the stock firmware, Netflix ran just fine for me. When you installed the Kasty Cube firmware, did you see any improvement? I haven't had the time to flash the Kasty ROM on my CUBE quite yet, but I will try it out and post my experience.

 

Here is a short summary of the changes I noticed in media playback between firmware:

 

Stock Firmware:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - Working (Not entirely stable)

Hulu (App) - Incompatible

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - Working

 

Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (Beta):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - App Working, Video Not (Interlaced lines split into two screens)

Hulu (App) - Incompatible

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - NOT Working

 

Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (Official):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Netflix (App) - App Working, Video Not (Interlaced lines split into two screens)

Hulu (App) - Working (Stable)

All Other Media (Web browser, Youtube, etc) - Working

 

Hi,

 

With the kasty-cube_u30gt2-422-204t_20130621-rooted4.zip posted by admin, based on the SDK 2, I have noticed a couple of positive things:

 

1. the latest Netflix app from the Play Store (not an older, or modified version) works; both in the app, and streaming video (even at high bitrate).

2. the Hulu Plus app from the Play Store installs, but I don't have a Plus account so I couldn't stream any content.

3. There is a Hulu Plus .apk that is available on the xda-developers forum that works on all android devices that I tried the Free Gallery content on my tablet, and it streamed well, without error.

Here is a link to the thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1449110 the .apk's are in the OP.

4. Flashplayer is working well with Boat Browser and Dolphin HD, streaming 1080p content without problems for me.

 

 

Awesome!!! That was exactly what I wanted to know!! Thanks!

Avatar
tsamnick
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2013/08/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
58
2013/08/24 - 15:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print
HELP guys!

I tried to flash my u30gt2 (latest model – purchased July 2013 – latest firmware) I used Rockchip Batch Tool v. 1.7. Everything seemed to go OK but unfortunately, when rebooting for the first time the tablet just froze in the original manufacturer logo screen!!!
I tried to reboot, restore etc BUT IT REMAINS FROZEN!
When I connect it on my pc, the device is detected, BUT nothing else happens!
I've tried reset (press volume+ and power button) but nothing happens!

I WOULD HIGHLY APPRECIATE IT IF SOMEONE COULD GIVE A … HAND!

Thanks alot

Nick T.

Android 4.2.2
Kernel: 3.0.36+ lcp@tchip-super #36
Thu Jun 6 16:08:57 CST 2013
v2.03 20130606

Avatar
maikal
Jacksonville, Florida

Contributor
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
2013/07/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 51
59
2013/08/24 - 16:28
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Did you try turning it off by holding power button for a bit? Also I have found plunging power cord into tablet while on helps me, or putting it to sleep then waking it up also does trick for me. You can also ask in the first forum listed. Most of us are going in there with latest problems and you may get more attention there from admin. Its our more active bitching session.

 

Good luck and hang in there these folks will get you up and running in short order :-)  

Avatar
tsamnick
New Member
Forum Posts: 9
Member Since:
2013/08/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
60
2013/08/24 - 18:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

maikal said
Did you try turning it off by holding power button for a bit? Also I have found plunging power cord into tablet while on helps me, or putting it to sleep then waking it up also does trick for me. You can also ask in the first forum listed. Most of us are going in there with latest problems and you may get more attention there from admin. Its our more active bitching session.

 

Good luck and hang in there these folks will get you up and running in short order :-)  

Well,

I'm afraid I did try what you mention .... As it seems nothing worked! The screen remains frozen! What I am doing at the moment, is let it "dry" out of power and see what happens when I recharge it! If this doesn't work, then my only hope remains our common forum friends and their suggestions - help

Thank you for your words of sympathy,

tsamnick

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
66 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (56), Phone (10)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

ruta6

rk.13

siwinfi64

dangphat

dpc

ngu

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix