Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
CUBE U30GT-H firmware update 1.07 (2012.09.25) just released
Avatar
leverkusenER78
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2012/11/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
136
2012/11/10 - 13:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

get my Cube u30GT 32GB Version H today from China.

Flashing kasty-cube_u30gt_h-41-107-rooted by memory card bricked it. Not possible to power up the device.

Waiting for T2 screwdriver now :-(

Avatar
leverkusenER78
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2012/11/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
137
2012/11/10 - 14:01
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Bäm, alive again!

 

What happened?

After flashing "kasty-cube_u30gt_h-41-107-rooted" deviced turned off and can be switched on again. Thought it is dead (no reaction on volume + and power button) but by playing around with it, of corse after ordering T2 screwdriver at ebay ;-) , my laptop detected a new device on usb port.

Driver from Rockchip_Batch_Tool_v1.5 worked fine for hardware set up but device wasn online on RKBatchTool.

Using three different USB-cables from mobile phones doesn't help but then I remember the hint that only black USB ports should be used. I can confirm as I tried USB3.0 first (blue) and it doesn't work but as soon as plugging in into black USB 2.0 device was recognized by RKBatchTool and could be flashed with 1.07.

 

Now everything seems to be finde...

 

THX Forum!!!

Avatar
steve1976
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2012/10/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
138
2012/11/12 - 21:35
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I'm running build 106 at the moment and I want to upgrade to this newer version, but can I do it without losing all my apps and saved games etc? Will drag and drop into windows restore my cube's settings??

Avatar
drguild
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2012/09/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
139
2012/11/13 - 05:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

steve1976 said
I'm running build 106 at the moment and I want to upgrade to this newer version, but can I do it without losing all my apps and saved games etc? Will drag and drop into windows restore my cube's settings??

 

If you are rooted you can copy the entire '/data/data' which is all your program settings and data or you can use titanium backup which will do it for you.

 

I personally copy the folders manually then when needed copy the folders in first then re-install the application.

 

Make sure you copy the folders in first before re-install in-case anything has changed with the structure and they should be upgraded if that is the case.


Avatar
unreal
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/11/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
140
2012/11/13 - 12:30
sp_Permalink sp_Print

admin said
Cube has just released a firmware update 1.07 dated 2012/09/25 for their Cube U30GT-H model.

Download

 

Hi,

the download link refers to a Chinese page. Since my Chinese is a bit rusty, I have no idea, where to click to :)

Tried 2 find the English version, but there is hardly anything on the download page.

Pls advise

Avatar
kovacspityu2
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2012/11/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
141
2012/11/13 - 13:46
sp_Permalink sp_Print

unreal said

admin said
Cube has just released a firmware update 1.07 dated 2012/09/25 for their Cube U30GT-H model.

Download

 

Hi,

the download link refers to a Chinese page. Since my Chinese is a bit rusty, I have no idea, where to click to :)

Tried 2 find the English version, but there is hardly anything on the download page.

Pls advise

Try from here: http://115.239.249.24/down/U30GT-H_V1.07_20120925.zip?cts=1501899228&ctp=89.133.41.220&ctt=1352810683&limit=1&ctk=b902f0a746a66f54f7067cd5b66030b3&chk=23dfd12d6917b5a6e635127dc0cf83be-300090366

:)

The following users say thank you to kovacspityu2 for this useful post:

unreal
Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3172
142
2012/11/13 - 13:55
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I have updated post #1 with the mirror of the stock 1.07 firmware: CubeU30GT-H_V1.07_20120925.zip

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

unreal

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
unreal
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/11/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
143
2012/11/13 - 16:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print

kovacspityu2 said

unreal said

admin said
Cube has just released a firmware update 1.07 dated 2012/09/25 for their Cube U30GT-H model.

Download

 

Hi,

the download link refers to a Chinese page. Since my Chinese is a bit rusty, I have no idea, where to click to :)

Tried 2 find the English version, but there is hardly anything on the download page.

Pls advise

Try from here: http://115.239.249.24/down/U30GT-H_V1.07_20120925.zip?cts=1501899228&ctp=89.133.41.220&ctt=1352810683&limit=1&ctk=b902f0a746a66f54f7067cd5b66030b3&chk=23dfd12d6917b5a6e635127dc0cf83be-300090366

:)

koszike ;)

The following users say thank you to unreal for this useful post:

cubebaz
Avatar
drguild
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2012/09/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
144
2012/11/18 - 14:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Also please note that the firmware the Admin here is releasing is exactly the same as you download officially with a couple minor differences being that the Chinese apps have been removed and its rooted no other modifications to the system have been done.

It's the same official version with just those changes.

A update for me my dad who knows electronics is looking at the tablet and it it seems that something in the power supply circuitry has gone and blown.

He is going to look more into it as he has it apart but hasn't been under the board yet and will see if he can fix it.

If he can I will have a tablet again if not we will see about finding someone who can work on the motherboard and do the fix if its too small etc for us to do ourselves.

So I might be having my tablet back in a few days or week etc.

I have seen a few issues around forums etc with peoples tablets not powering on or charging and looks like the internal power circuitry may be utter crap.

Avatar
drguild
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2012/09/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
145
2012/11/18 - 18:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Hey Admin can you give me some info how to edit the .img files I'm curious about them and packaging my own apps before update myself.

I used to do that on a cheap tablet as they were stright zip files etc but looking around I cant work out how to open and update these .img files.

I see once you get in there's all the different ext file systems boot.img system.img etc.

Feel free to message me or something if you don't want to release the info publicly.

Update: After a small look I used wendal tools and winimage to open the files, is that how you do it with wendal but on linux?.

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3172
146
2012/11/18 - 19:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

drguild, I hope you'll get your tablet fixed.

As for the img file editing I haven't yet found a good tutorial that covers the many image variants, but there are many information pieces all over the Internet, that you can read and experiment with.

Here are some pointers:

http://www.slatedroid.com/topic/19808-rk29xx-imagetools-v21/

https://github.com/lamegopinto/rk2918tools

Edit: there are also Steve's pages in our WIKI: 

http://www.arctablet.com/wiki/index.php/Rksp#Unpacking_and_repacking_boot.img

(while it's made for RK2918 based tablets, there are still some info valid for RK3066 based tablets like the Cube's too)

 

In my case, I have built my own tools some based on the ones given in those links.

I'd suggest that you open a different topic if you have any questions Wink

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
drguild
Active Member
Forum Posts: 46
Member Since:
2012/09/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 8
147
2012/11/18 - 19:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

No problem and will start a new thread if I have more questions most tuts refer to wendal which I have now and all the info about using a vm of ununtu etc.

Just want to see what I can do with my own image files initially extract the metro ui launcher which I did to try on a updated rom.

And yea Ill keep you guys updated about the fix and what blew in another thread as it may be use for others as there are allot of similar stuff.

Avatar
unreal
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/11/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
148
2012/11/19 - 19:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

unreal said

kovacspityu2 said

unreal said

admin said
Cube has just released a firmware update 1.07 dated 2012/09/25 for their Cube U30GT-H model.

Download

 

Hi,

the download link refers to a Chinese page. Since my Chinese is a bit rusty, I have no idea, where to click to :)

Tried 2 find the English version, but there is hardly anything on the download page.

Pls advise

Try from here: http://115.239.249.24/down/U30GT-H_V1.07_20120925.zip?cts=1501899228&ctp=89.133.41.220&ctt=1352810683&limit=1&ctk=b902f0a746a66f54f7067cd5b66030b3&chk=23dfd12d6917b5a6e635127dc0cf83be-300090366

:)

koszike ;)

well, this link is dead too

Avatar
unreal
Active Member
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/11/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
149
2012/11/19 - 21:06
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Bigben said

StevenJDM said
I think the RK Batch Tool is just too risky. Problems will occur if you do not do it 100% perfectly. That's why I asked if a recovery image was flashed with this ROM so that way can flash this without the USB cables or a PC but the im pretty sure it isn't.

rename the update to missing the Quotes "update.img"
4) you will need to save this to an sd card
5) put sd card in tablet
6) Restart and cube will detect the update

Or this way.

4) You will need to copy this to your desktop and rename it update
5) you will need to save this to an sd card
6) put sd card in tablet
7)press and hold the volume up button and power button until you see the logo and let go of both buttons
8) You then will see an android guy with a red ! press and hold the volume up and power and another screen comes up with reboot system now, when you see these you let go. It should happen right away after you do power up and volume
9) Use the volume down button to select update rkimage from/sdcard then click the power button to select it.
10) Then use the volume down button down to wipe data/factory reset click power button to select it. Use volume button to go down to yes- delete all user date click power button to select it
11) reboot system now- click power button to select it

When I tried is it stated my update files was faulty, I use the RK batch tool instead.

I think its called a System 4 update

Tried to update from sd card with the same result: 'Can not found (sic!) firmware image or invalid image" while it was on the root of the newly formatted sdcard. (When I insert the sdcard it says update detected etc.).

Rockchip Batch Tool does not detect my U30GT with a perfectly operational USB cable (eventhough explorer sees it perfectly) not even after a series of connections and disconnections.

Pls. advise

Finally Rockchip Batch Tool detected the device (USB debugging was turned on this caused the no detection), but as a result it says "This operation didn't do beacuase of not supporting !"

My tab's data:

U30GT-H

Android version: 4.0.4

Build number V 1.03

The image I tried to update with was downloaded from Post #2.

Avatar
pixellegolas
Member
Forum Posts: 18
Member Since:
2012/11/10
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 5
150
2012/11/19 - 23:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I used rockchip batch tool. I first made sure that the drivers where installed once so windows recognises it every time.

 

What  I do then is:

 

- Turn of the tablet

- Hold volume up

- While volume up also press power

- Windows will almost immediatly make a "something was plugged in" sound

- Release everything

- Screen is now totally black on tablet and that is ok

- Start Batch tool, it should now a green connection

The following users say thank you to pixellegolas for this useful post:

unreal
Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 803

Currently Online:
68 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (56), Phone (12)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

fouadbkf05

jima

Azabatxe1

Azabatxe

igijabet

jacksonrid

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix