Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Cube U18GT2 Android 4.1 JB rooted firmware (from official version 1.06 dated 2012/12/14)
Avatar
andyhoney
Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Member Since:
2012/12/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
16
2012/12/20 - 19:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Damn i feel stupid, yeh the drivers are in the rockchip batch tool, in a folder called rockusbdriver.

I think i had to point the system to the folder for it to add mine as well.

 

The following users say thank you to andyhoney for this useful post:

Desmond

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware)
U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)

Avatar
Desmond
Member
Forum Posts: 15
Member Since:
2012/12/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
17
2012/12/20 - 19:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Andyhoney - Please don't feel that way. Everyone make mistakes. We all still learning. Its ok that We missed out something sometimes. When We found out by our-self or from others, We leaned. And than We share like what others shared with us.. :)

 

Thanks / Cheers.

 

After note: I still got one more way to get the PC to install the driver. If all mentioned method failed.

I did quite a bit of research online and come across some useful sharing. Some I tried and follow - OK. Others I tried to follow I can't managed what other managed. But finally and eventually, found the way to get things done. :)

 

I don't want to post it now as i don't want to cause unnecessary confusion.

I will try to share it , if someone after trying those ways that were already described/mentioned still fails.

http://moneycow.biz

Avatar
diveguy
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/18
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
18
2012/12/21 - 00:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Desmond said
Diveguy,

 

Try this :

 

1. Off your cube U18GT-2 tablet.

 

2. Plug the USB cable to the PC first. (DON'T PLUG IN THE Micro USB TO YOUR TABLET YET)

 

3. NOW run the rockchip batch tool program.

(Don't load the firm ware at this point first.)

 

4. Hold the tablet (just hold  it don't do any thing yet) now - VISUALISE/think/adjust your position, a way where you can easily and comfortably (a)HOLD DOWN the volume + key  and after that (b)plug in the micro USB plug into the tablet (c) hold down the power button.

 

a -> b -> c   must be done in sequence.

 

Now when you are ready and comfortable with the position and know what to do  - proceed with step 4 for real.

 

> After doing step 4 - (correctly) your PC should have an alarm telling you that it detect some new hardware. At this point you can let free your fingers from the tablet and  the pc would/should be able to look for the right driver already present on your PC in one of the firmware's folder in the rockchip batch tool program. 

 

And when you see the first button change color, it  mean that, the rockchip batch tool is ready to carry out the firmware upgrade. 

 

5. Now you can load the "correct firmware version on your PC. When the firm ware is loaded successfully. select the "Upgrade" button. ( that will do a full upgrade and format all your old data. all will be lost.

 

Additional note: If you just wants to upgrade but still want to retain your old file. choose "update instead".

 

From than- all would run in auto. Let it complete the firm ware upgrade with no disruption in-between.

 

-> When the upgrade process is completed - successful (/)  fail (0).

 

The tablet will  automatically restart/on it self after. And that is it :)

 

Hope you can be successful this time.

Thats the best i can help for now :)

 

Let us know if thing work out this time round.

We see how after that (if still cannot )

 

I am also a new user of this.

Thanks to Andy - he has always been very helpful. the pioneer here. :)

 

Good luck, cheers and enjoy .

Des

 

 ( The earlier failing might be due to the sequence of action - just hope it helps.)

 

 

Thank you!

Thank you!

Thank you!

Thank you!

Thank you!

I finally worked!

 

Just a few notes for the next person:

1) When I did the order a-b-c the screen on the device screen never came on but windows 7 did pop up a warning that it could not find drivers for a device. The device name was:

RK30

Updated drivers and pointed to the rock tools drivers,  x86, win7 - BAM! found them!

2) USB Cable, USB ports on the and back of the PC USB, and port position - very important!

I relooked at my USB cable and it was one I used for my HP Touchpad - I switched it out with the one I used for my sammy phone, I also used a different USB port on the back of the PC. So I think becuase of that and the order of A-B-C was the trick! Thank you again!

 

Tags for the next person who like me is searching on google for answers:

u18gt elite dual core window 7 drivers

mcbub

u18gt2 windows 7 drivers

rk3066 chipset windows 7 drivers

rk30 windows 7 drivers

 

Thanks again for all your help - For me this is a very Happy Christmas & my 5 year old who will be the one using the device - provided by Santa!

Avatar
Desmond
Member
Forum Posts: 15
Member Since:
2012/12/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
19
2012/12/21 - 04:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Diveguy(Santa),

 

Congrats !

Your effort of searching for solutions have reaped result.

Just like me, when I found Andyhoney's post.

 

I also note that you left some extra hint to facilitate extra ways and clarity to the method :)

Well done dude.

 

I believe our input would help new owners get result they looked for online(Like us - once)

But I guess, there will never be end to hiccups and shortcoming for any devices(or things) We are using. Including this :).  Occasionally, minor issues will crop up. We try to solve as We encounter and move on... 

 

Anyway, since We are all mostly new to this. We learn as We move on. We share when We found ways to solve problem from others or our own chance discovery .............

 

Cheers guys - And have a very Happy Christmas and later - A very HAPPY and PROSPEROUS New Year 2013. (Gosh how time flies - It doesn't and never wait for people)

Thank God. ( last night the world didn't end :) )

 

Have a good weekend for now...Take care ! 

 

http://moneycow.biz


Avatar
andyhoney
Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Member Since:
2012/12/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
20
2012/12/21 - 18:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

And i ended up here as i found the firmware post in google.

Im also wanting to make custom roms for this device, so that's the next thing ill be looking into

anyone have any ideas who to ask about that (apart from google our friend)

 

Found this a while back suits today fine.

http://www.spacestationplaza.com/images/kinserts/Bizarro2012pic.gif

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware)
U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)

Avatar
kearin
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2012/12/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
21
2012/12/28 - 02:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

does this upgrade work on the H model or is there a similar upgrade. Got one for my daughter and it wont play angry birds (her favourite game). I also cant change the build.prop as its read only

any help appreciated

cheers

Avatar
andyhoney
Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Member Since:
2012/12/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
22
2012/12/28 - 04:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

kearin said
does this upgrade work on the H model or is there a similar upgrade. Got one for my daughter and it wont play angry birds (her favourite game). I also cant change the build.prop as its read only

any help appreciated

cheers

u18gt-h ?  (single core)

only major diff is the single core is rk29 chipset and GT-2 is rk30, and dual core cpu.

not sure if it is. sorry havnt tried it on my sons

I download angry birds on his and it doesnt load either.

 

** update **  Posted on rovios forum in bug section, its a known issue with some devices.

 

 

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware)
U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)

Avatar
ur1deadman
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2012/12/31
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
23
2012/12/31 - 07:27
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Tried it and bricked =( trying again now =( its stuck at the screen where it says no cube no fun, it just plays it over and over

Also to help those running on 64 bit -  you gotta search for 64bit drivers for rk3066 (i found but cant find now, its 130am) and then install those.also if you computer has trouble installing drivers, after the driver install fails,

1. Go to Start>Control Panel

 2. Click on Hardware and Sound

3. Click on Device Manager

4. Right click on "unlisted device" or something similiar to that

5. Update the drivers,click the bottom option, and then browse to wherever you saved the driver.

That should work. WOOT as I was typing this, my device unbricked on the 4th try. No clue why, but I'm happy. Good karma for typing this maybe ;)

Avatar
andyhoney
Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Member Since:
2012/12/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
24
2012/12/31 - 07:42
sp_Permalink sp_Print

good to hear you un-bricked it.

Just for reference

what model did you upgrade the u18gt-h  (single core) or u18gt-2 (dual core)

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware)
U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)

Avatar
Desmond
Member
Forum Posts: 15
Member Since:
2012/12/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
25
2013/01/06 - 18:35
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Just want to update and share solution on the problem I encounter with the charging of the tablet  and I have identified and solve the problem I had had pertaining to the  charging intermitten (on/off state).

As Andyhoney have correctly pointed out. The problem was likely due to the "charger that came with the set.  The power output from the charger was inconsistent and unstable.

A few days after using the tablet, the worst happened. I was desperate. I thought my tablet really gone dead this time. After the battery went flat the last time and the set shut off by itself, I thought I will have to do the usual stuffs such as plugging in the charger,  facing the problem of tablet boot up halfway and shut down quite many times before it finally  goes stable and begin charging till "fully charged"   This time was worst.  The tablet did not start up at all after plugging in the charger. After plugging in and out a couple of times, it show a little sign of the start up logo and went dead again.  For following few days, tried to plug in again and hope for the best. BUT really no more sign of life of my tablet.  Than out of desperate, I use a pin to poke into the positive contact of the charger and manage to measure the output voltage of the charger when turning it on. This is to confirm if indeed  it was the charger at fault.  I manage to measure the output of the charger at around 4.5 volts DC.  

I search my drawers and eventually manage to spot a old modem 's  charger having a dc output of 5.1 Volts and rated at 3 amperes having a bigger plug head which doesn't fits into the cube's socket.  I was contemplating to cut off the plug head from the cube's charger and rejoin to this one.   Connection is not a concern but the higher output amperes  at 3 amperes of the modem's DC  adapter was a worry as I was afraid it might burn the cube's circuit  while plugging it in as the tablet's requirement was 5 V at 2 amperes.  So to be on the safe side, I did some search in google and found an answer to my initial doubt.  Some guys in one site clarified that,  AS long as the adapter is of 5 volts  and the current output of the adapter can be higher, even at 1,000,000 amperes.  Its safe to use that to charge, because that ampere rating of the adapter actually meant that at MAXIMUM it was able to supply up to that mentioned current. In my case, the spare modem's adapter has a maximum output current of 3 amperes.  IT will not pump maximum of 3 amperes into my tablet.  The maximum current that is going to be taken from the adapter would be just 2 amperes though it has a capacity to supply up to 3 amperes of current. So based on this assurance. I went ahead and cut off  the plug head of the original charger and joint to this 5V, 3 amperes  DC adapter.   

I was still a little worry on plugging in.  I proceeded after doing a proper join and tape up  all the exposed part,  plug in the charger head into my cube tablet - turn on the power for the adapter -  voila !!!  the tablet boot up smoothly and began charging..................with no sign of ON, off, on, off. very smooth...........

So its confirmed that, the culprit of the problem is the charger that came with the tablet. The tablet itself have absolutely no problem at all.

So if any of you out there facing the problem like what I had - Tablet won't charge, won't start, or  when plugging in the charger to charge the tablet, it goes ON and off for quite a while ....

Simply replace the power adapter(charger). It will solve your problem. Or if like me, you have a spare adapter of 5 Volts, 2 ampere or larger output. (don't worry about the current output but at least it must have more than 1 amp..can be 2,3,4 or even 5 amperes or more output. As long as its  5V or 5.1 volts like mine.(DON'T use a 9 or 12 volt adapter).  You can simply swap the charger head and use that to charge your tablet and solve the charger issue. :)

The current rating on the adapter just tell you that particular charger can supply up to that rated current level at MAX. But  the load (your tablet or any appliances you wants to charge) will only draw the current it is designed to.  The charger will not pump the maximum current into your tablet. so no worries there.  Just make sure that the voltage is the same as the originally required :) not more...

 Hope this help someone in need and in doubt or having problem of similar nature.

Please forgive me for my bad English yeah.

        Hope, my description can be understood. 

Cheers.

 

Desmond said
andyhoney, Thanks you so much for sharing. :)

 

Great help. I'll try again. Will update again later if i managed finally.

There is a Youtube video on firmware upgrade - how to. A video demo. I follow his way - nothing happen. May be his is U8GT single core Rockchip 2918 version and not  like our model -> U18GT-2.

 

andyhoney - thanks again. I'll do it your way :)

 

By the way - anyone using this cube U18GT-2  dual core tablet also facing/having initial cutting in and out charging after the set have gone totally flat and is put on charging. ?

 

Mine, During the initial plugging in of the charger, the set would goes ON and off for quite a while. The tablet could not start up until certain point of power retention after put on charging. Wonder if this is normal.

But I just hope this things doesn't  have impact on the lifespan of the built in Li-on battery.

 

I thought, maybe the designing engineer may have set lowest threshold limit too low. The lowest threshold limit is the point of power balance when the system will shut down the tablet to avoid serious damage to the weakling battery and a time to charge it up again to max.

 

When the battery lowest power  threshold is set too low, at that point of shut down. it would have very little power, not enough to even start up/turn on the set and run the full system software.(start the tablet)

That is why(I thought) the tablet having revive some power on initial charged, tried to start up (run the Jelly Bean software). But failed due to power drained to that lowest threshold point again.  It keep repeating the situation (attempt to run the jelly bean program) until the battery gets enough of minimum power to power up and run the program software. Than the system no longer shut off and on all over. It become stable till progress to fully charged.

At this point I am also not sure if my charger is having problem  that cost the initial charging intermittent ON/OFF/ON/OFF.....   If most of you owning this set is not having such problem, then it could be the charger that comes with my set is the culprit of the  initial charging cut in/out problem.

Once its fully charged, it function well. So I don[t suspect its any internal circuitry problem or fault  with my set. Its only the initial  charging period after the st is fully drained till auto shut down. Too little power to even run/start up the jelly bean program fully.  That's why its important to shut off those power consuming program during its process of starting up. That prevent too much draining of power and enable it better chance of smooth starting up of the set. 

 

Just to share problem I am encountering during the initial charging period after the tablet have automatically shut down and needed to be charged. 

 

I am also not sure if this is a common problem or only me :)

 

Please share if you have the same problem. We might be able to help someone in need if they are also facing same problem and is looking around for help. :) (in future)

 

I'll probably get another charger to see if its actually my charger that is not giving enough power to charge.As the manual comes with it are in Chinese. I am having problem understanding it.  Some said they use 9V charger, other says they uses 12Volt 2000ma charger.  I am not sure if using a charger that is above 5V is ok or not.

 

While charging, i also noticed that it stated that the battery voltage is  around just 4mv. Not even close to 5 Volts. I am a little confused on this part now still as I just got this tablet. Not easy to find a community to hear and look for solution when We face one. When I owned the old  Aiinol Novo 7 advance, there was so much helpful info as the community using it is large. Any problem can be overcome from learning from others. So far Cube's info have been very little.  Hopefully it can grow.  And We get to learn from one another as we move on.

 

Sorry for my bad English. just hope  I am understood :)

 

 Cheers.

 

 

http://moneycow.biz

Avatar
andyhoney
Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Member Since:
2012/12/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
26
2013/01/06 - 18:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print

My sons charger blew up , (U18GT-H) (Black single core) maybe a week ago, seems the chargers for some models supplied are pretty rubbish, i used a multi PSU adapter that had USB output and plugged his tablet into that, runs sweet as, and chargers within an hr, as the old charger took like 6-8 hrs to charge.

The following users say thank you to andyhoney for this useful post:

admin

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware)
U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3170
27
2013/01/06 - 18:55
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the tip Andy Wink

Cube seems to have some issues with accessories, I have read many reports and experienced problems with their power chargers and USB cables, which seems to be pretty low quality.

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

andyhoney

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
Desmond
Member
Forum Posts: 15
Member Since:
2012/12/13
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3
28
2013/01/06 - 19:37
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The cube U18GT-2,  Dual core, Rockchip rk3066 is not bad.  Cost below $100 with "shipped" via UPS.

A  good bargain. Brand new set. Only thing is , the charger ( NOT cube brand) is always the basic cause  to problem for new users.

 

I was wondering why can't Cube's parent company when manufacture the set, provide the original appropriate charger as a standard provision. That way, they can built up their reputation.  Selling a reasonable good and affordable tablet but not providing or let the re-sellers to pack a bad quality or even faulty charger can spoilt its reputation as a brand.  can't be that they are not aware of the issue ?

Its quite a sad thing, making reasonably good affordable tablet but let new users goes thru the charging misery is like giving its customers a half boil egg. Just cannot understand their thinking.

Now producing quad core tablets already. They should make it a standard provision of a cube brand tablet's charger. With their brand "Cube" printed on the charger to give customer some confidence to buy their product. Its really no rocket science.  If Yan can derive such thoughts so can you and so can a quality product manufacturer. Some thing is missing.

Anyway - just to share some thoughts openly.

Cheers.

 

I was wondering why my last post were all highlighted when i post them. ? :)

 

The following users say thank you to Desmond for this useful post:

admin, andyhoney

http://moneycow.biz

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5878
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3170
29
2013/01/06 - 19:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Desmond said
I was wondering why my last post were all highlighted when i post them. ? :)

 

You may have started your post quoting another one and removed the content but the quote was still there, hidden in the html Wink You should be able to see that with the "HTML" button in the editor toolbar.

The thing is "new" forum users can only modify their post if it hasn't been answered... so you can't change post #25, I can clean it up for you if needed.

Cheers.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
andyhoney
Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Member Since:
2012/12/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 4
30
2013/01/06 - 20:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

my u18gt-2 (dual core) rk3066, was supplied with the original charger, they were i believe aware of the issue, however the original is not much better as i managed to bend the connector plug, so i have to replace that at some stage with a 3rd party plug from Jaycar.

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware)
U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
79 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (65), Phone (14)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

lbalexa001

rkg2303

sergey-tax

houseofcandy

duviauxi

benevento89

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix