Latest product reviews
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A

Please consider registering
guest

Log In Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

  
 

— Match —

   

— Forum Options —

    

Minimum search word length is 4 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install package for RK3066 and RK3188 devices available.

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

Topic RSS
[ ROM ] Cube U18GT2 Android 4.1 JB rooted firmware (from official version 1.06 dated 2012/12/14)
Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5 Topic Rating: 5 (3 votes) 
2012/12/17
23:56
admin


Please donate to support our work


admin
Forum Posts: 5631
Thanks Received: 3071
Member Since:
2010/09/11
Offline
My tablet:
JMI Pulse 10
1
5

Cube has released an Android 4.1 Jelly Bean update for the Cube U18GT2.

Cube U18GT2 official firmware version 1.06    U18GT2_v1.06_20121214.zip (2012/12/14) 

 

Android 4.1 build: rk30sdk/rk30sdk/rk30sdk:4.1.1/JRO03H/20121122.205441:eng/release-keys

Linux Kernel: Linux version 3.0.8+ (eyes#0001@eyes) (gcc version 4.4.3 (GCC) ) #301 SMP PREEMPT 2012-12-14 10:57:43 5:50

 

This is a major upgrade to Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, Google Translation of Cube version history says this firmware changed the following:

1. Solve the crash problem of aging; 
2. sometimes save bookmarks into the browser screen flicker; 
3. enter the e-mail will be error phenomenon;

4. HDMI output Touch interference problems.

Here is our custom rooted firmware version of the Android 4.1 JB based on official Cube version 1.06

Features:

- root with latest SuperSU version 0.99 (free version)

- writable /system partition

- removed most Chinese and unnecessary applications

- increased space for application (/data partition) to 2 GB

- updated busybox to version 1.20.2-cm9

- included hackerskeyboard (a 5-row keyboard using full PC key layout)  as latest Cube update had regular non Chinese keyboard removed

 

Rooted custom firmware for the CUBE U18GT2: kasty-cube_u18gt2-41-106-rooted.zip

Using Rockchip Batch Tool version 1.5 to flash the firmware.

 

Please report any problem with this firmware, I can’t verify if this custom firmware works properly as I don’t own a Cube U18GT2  to test it.

The following users say thank you to admin for this useful post:

pejerrey, andyhoney

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

2012/12/18
02:42
andyhoney

Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Thanks Received: 4
Member Since:
2012/12/04
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device

Thanks ill update and test the new firmware, i did notice with the old FIRMWARE that HDMI output was buggy, as i connected it to TV yesterday and lost all control until i removed the HDMI cord, and also noticed that after a few days the system crawled to a halt.  So i guess i had problems 1, and 4.

 

Update.

Installed and Tested works sweet love the keyboard. I also noticed they changed the starting up logo :)

 

Last edited by andyhoney on 2012/12/18 - 04:06

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware) U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)
2012/12/18
04:55
Desmond

Member
Forum Posts: 15
Thanks Received: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/13
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
3
0

Hi Guys,

 

I tried to update my firmware which comes with the original tablet. (dual core U18GT2)

 

I did this :-

 

Run the rockchip batch tool – > load the firm ware version >- hold down the +(positive)  volume key and the power button key together.  Some thing pop up, PC trying to install the driver for the device. After a while, PC say, driver installation was UNSUCCESSFUL  thanit all stop there.

 

Tried again – same thing….

 

Please advise what did I do wrong or what else do i need to do to get my PC load up the correct driver.

 

The above ver 1.06 is it for the dual core U18GT model with rockchip rk3066 ?

 

Thank you so much in advance for advises.

 

 

 

http://moneycow.biz
2012/12/18
05:09
Desmond

Member
Forum Posts: 15
Thanks Received: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/13
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
4
0

Hi again all, newbie here, needs help for a head start:),

 

may I understand what is the rooted version and the original version ?

 

How do we root this U18GT dual core model ?

 

Many thanks again.

 

 

http://moneycow.biz
2012/12/18
05:17
andyhoney

Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Thanks Received: 4
Member Since:
2012/12/04
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device

yes dual-core U18GT types U18GT2 (white) rk3066 chipset (my one) and U18GT-H (black) RK29? chipset.

Ive never tried on my sons one (hes got the black) but it is dual-core elite as well.

 

This is how i did it.

Turn the Tablet right off.

Put in USB cable to BACK USB port not front, then into the CUBE as well

Hold ON and VOL+ for a few secs

Run Rockchip batch tool, it should appear as device 1 green square.

Browse and Find the unzipped location of the update.img file

then click update.

 

rooted = all Chinese language and apps removed, bigger APP space

The image file will make your CUBE rooted when it installs, youll see a program running called SuperSU, some apps require rooting, such as avast antivirus mobile, and various backup apps.

 

Last edited by andyhoney on 2012/12/18 - 05:20

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware) U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)
2012/12/18
18:03
Desmond

Member
Forum Posts: 15
Thanks Received: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/13
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device

andyhoney, Thanks you so much for sharing. :)

 

Great help. I’ll try again. Will update again later if i managed finally.

There is a Youtube video on firmware upgrade – how to. A video demo. I follow his way – nothing happen. May be his is U8GT single core Rockchip 2918 version and not  like our model -> U18GT-2.

 

andyhoney – thanks again. I’ll do it your way :)

 

By the way – anyone using this cube U18GT-2  dual core tablet also facing/having initial cutting in and out charging after the set have gone totally flat and is put on charging. ?

 

Mine, During the initial plugging in of the charger, the set would goes ON and off for quite a while. The tablet could not start up until certain point of power retention after put on charging. Wonder if this is normal.

But I just hope this things doesn’t  have impact on the lifespan of the built in Li-on battery.

 

I thought, maybe the designing engineer may have set lowest threshold limit too low. The lowest threshold limit is the point of power balance when the system will shut down the tablet to avoid serious damage to the weakling battery and a time to charge it up again to max.

 

When the battery lowest power  threshold is set too low, at that point of shut down. it would have very little power, not enough to even start up/turn on the set and run the full system software.(start the tablet)

That is why(I thought) the tablet having revive some power on initial charged, tried to start up (run the Jelly Bean software). But failed due to power drained to that lowest threshold point again.  It keep repeating the situation (attempt to run the jelly bean program) until the battery gets enough of minimum power to power up and run the program software. Than the system no longer shut off and on all over. It become stable till progress to fully charged.

At this point I am also not sure if my charger is having problem  that cost the initial charging intermittent ON/OFF/ON/OFF…..   If most of you owning this set is not having such problem, then it could be the charger that comes with my set is the culprit of the  initial charging cut in/out problem.

Once its fully charged, it function well. So I don[t suspect its any internal circuitry problem or fault  with my set. Its only the initial  charging period after the st is fully drained till auto shut down. Too little power to even run/start up the jelly bean program fully.  That’s why its important to shut off those power consuming program during its process of starting up. That prevent too much draining of power and enable it better chance of smooth starting up of the set. 

 

Just to share problem I am encountering during the initial charging period after the tablet have automatically shut down and needed to be charged. 

 

I am also not sure if this is a common problem or only me :)

 

Please share if you have the same problem. We might be able to help someone in need if they are also facing same problem and is looking around for help. :) (in future)

 

I’ll probably get another charger to see if its actually my charger that is not giving enough power to charge.As the manual comes with it are in Chinese. I am having problem understanding it.  Some said they use 9V charger, other says they uses 12Volt 2000ma charger.  I am not sure if using a charger that is above 5V is ok or not.

 

While charging, i also noticed that it stated that the battery voltage is  around just 4mv. Not even close to 5 Volts. I am a little confused on this part now still as I just got this tablet. Not easy to find a community to hear and look for solution when We face one. When I owned the old  Aiinol Novo 7 advance, there was so much helpful info as the community using it is large. Any problem can be overcome from learning from others. So far Cube’s info have been very little.  Hopefully it can grow.  And We get to learn from one another as we move on.

 

Sorry for my bad English. just hope  I am understood :)

 

 Cheers.

 

 

Last edited by Desmond on 2012/12/18 - 18:45

http://moneycow.biz
2012/12/18
19:22
andyhoney

Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Thanks Received: 4
Member Since:
2012/12/04
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
7
0

Desmond, its not just you its the power adapter.

They have stated to chop the YELLOW end piece off the connector that goes in, apparently in some machines it doesn’t sit right.  I bet you have a white cube u18gt.

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware) U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)
2012/12/18
19:48
Desmond

Member
Forum Posts: 15
Thanks Received: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/13
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device

andyhoney said
Desmond, its not just you its the power adapter.

They have stated to chop the YELLOW end piece off the connector that goes in, apparently in some machines it doesn’t sit right.  I bet you have a white cube u18gt.

Yes andy :)

Mine is the white colour version with black lining though along the screen. I am waiting for my casing to arrive. :) This cube dual core rk3066 is very responsive – smooth.

 

Hope to overcome the problem with this charging situation soon.

 Its sad that since its already a known problem. there is nothing done by the engineers at Cube. New sets still come with this problem. :(  

I think from now I will not wait for full drain to auto shut down. Or mys et will go on and off for quite a while before, it have enough power to have stable ON state and carry on the charging.

 

I was wondering. Since cube is a so call major brand in china. why this basic hiccups on charger can exist.  The quality control department is not doing their part of help current owners. We can’t be finding our own solution they being the inventor/manufacturer. they should come out with some real long term solution to help us overcome this.  If the set start and stop many times in a short time, I m really worry that, it shorten the life of my built in battery. Since the battery is built in and We don’t have a local agent to help us replace the battery should in future it no longer holds charges. It could meant We have to move on to new ones ? :)

 

But for now, hopefully can find some mean to permanently overcome this. 

 

Thanks

Last edited by Desmond on 2012/12/18 - 19:53

http://moneycow.biz
2012/12/18
22:04
andyhoney

Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Thanks Received: 4
Member Since:
2012/12/04
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
9
0

mine came with the proper adapter and didn’t have this issue, it is believed to have been a stock issue, and i guess kinda depends on the luck of the draw if you got the wrong one.

 

Just chop of the yellow end with nail clippers, i just did it to mine (to test to make sure doesn’t damage), and it still works.

 

I don’t know who was at fault, i would assume Cube should have known better, they shipped out a whole bunch of units also with no adapters. (these are the ones that your supplier would have put the different adapter in the case)

The following users say thank you to andyhoney for this useful post:

Desmond
U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware) U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)
2012/12/19
06:48
Desmond

Member
Forum Posts: 15
Thanks Received: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/13
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
10
0

Hi Andy,

Thaks I managed to upgrade the firm ware to 4.11 jelly bean with your method. :)

 

I noted that its version 1.5 and not 1.6 that rooted one.

But its ok – it works fine.

Noted  about the charger solution

 

OK – Thanks.

 

Des

 

 

Last edited by Desmond on 2012/12/19 - 07:33

http://moneycow.biz
2012/12/19
07:26
andyhoney

Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Thanks Received: 4
Member Since:
2012/12/04
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
11
0

Good to hear all went fine, Just to let people know the U18GT-H my son has isn’t dual core, i somehow screwed up and got the single core elite, seems to run fine, main diff is the graphics chipset, apart from the 1 core CPU.

U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware) U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)
2012/12/20
05:02
diveguy

New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/18
Offline
12
0

Hi all – Diveguy – the newbie here -

I just picked up a u18gt elite dual core it is white with a rk3066 chipset, i looked at the system settings and it comes up as a u18gt2 with android 4.0.4.

build number cube u18gt2 v1.02_120922

I am running windows 7 pro 32-bit, and I have a samsung usb cord in the back of my pc’s usb.

 

I tried to run the rock tools 15, following the insructions above:

This is how i did it.

Turn the Tablet right off.

Put in USB cable to BACK USB port not front, then into the CUBE as well

Hold ON and VOL+ for a few secs

Run Rockchip batch tool, it should appear as device 1 green square.

——————————

I never get the device with the green square.

I have a android with a red ! on my screen and in device manager it is looking for drivers for a u30gt-m, i browse to the drivers x86 and win7 from the rock tools directory and it will not find the drivers.

 

Any suggestions?

 

question 2

Also does anyone have any windows 7 drivers for adb?

I use droidexplorer on my phone and want to use it with my new cube.

 

question 3

I moved the update.img file to my sd card on the cube and it prompted me for an upgrade. I ran the upgrade and got the error – can not find firmware image or invaild image.

Thanks!

2012/12/20
05:47
andyhoney

Active Member
Forum Posts: 23
Thanks Received: 4
Member Since:
2012/12/04
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
13
0

weird, i wish i could help more, it seems like you did everything ok,  as for the drivers, dont know if any exist, did u try seeing if you could access the memory card via usb from win 7 ?  the andriod should give that screen to allow access to the card.

 

The following users say thank you to andyhoney for this useful post:

Desmond
U18GT2 - WHITE (DUAL CORE RK33 Running custom firmware) U18GT-H BLACK (SINGLE CORE RK29 stock Standard)
2012/12/20
08:44
Desmond

Member
Forum Posts: 15
Thanks Received: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/13
Offline
My tablet:
No Archos/Arnova device
14
0

Diveguy,

 

Try this :

 

1. Off your cube U18GT-2 tablet.

 

2. Plug the USB cable to the PC first. (DON’T PLUG IN THE Micro USB TO YOUR TABLET YET)

 

3. NOW run the rockchip batch tool program.

(Don’t load the firm ware at this point first.)

 

4. Hold the tablet (just hold  it don’t do any thing yet) now – VISUALISE/think/adjust your position, a way where you can easily and comfortably (a)HOLD DOWN the volume + key  and after that (b)plug in the micro USB plug into the tablet (c) hold down the power button.

 

a -> b -> c   must be done in sequence.

 

Now when you are ready and comfortable with the position and know what to do  – proceed with step 4 for real.

 

> After doing step 4 – (correctly) your PC should have an alarm telling you that it detect some new hardware. At this point you can let free your fingers from the tablet and  the pc would/should be able to look for the right driver already present on your PC in one of the firmware’s folder in the rockchip batch tool program. 

 

And when you see the first button change color, it  mean that, the rockchip batch tool is ready to carry out the firmware upgrade. 

 

5. Now you can load the “correct firmware version on your PC. When the firm ware is loaded successfully. select the “Upgrade” button. ( that will do a full upgrade and format all your old data. all will be lost.

 

Additional note: If you just wants to upgrade but still want to retain your old file. choose “update instead”.

 

From than- all would run in auto. Let it complete the firm ware upgrade with no disruption in-between.

 

-> When the upgrade process is completed – successful (/)  fail (0).

 

The tablet will  automatically restart/on it self after. And that is it :)

 

Hope you can be successful this time.

Thats the best i can help for now :)

 

Let us know if thing work out this time round.

We see how after that (if still cannot )

 

I am also a new user of this.

Thanks to Andy – he has always been very helpful. the pioneer here. :)

 

Good luck, cheers and enjoy .

Des

 

 ( The earlier failing might be due to the sequence of action – just hope it helps.)

 

 

Last edited by Desmond on 2012/12/20 - 10:47

The following users say thank you to Desmond for this useful post:

admin
http://moneycow.biz
2012/12/20
13:13
diveguy

New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2012/12/18
Offline
15
0

weird, i wish i could help more, it seems like you did everything ok,  as for the drivers, dont know if any exist, did u try seeing if you could access the memory card via usb from win 7 ?  the andriod should give that screen to allow access to the card. 

 

- Yes I can access the drives on the device when I mount as a usb device. That is how I moved the update.img to the sd card and then it prompted me to update. I will try what Des suggested next.

 

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: Oma7144, pogodancer, superanders, gaetanolip, zypper3, estevez, androidman27, jonboy, Lainrad, thanos_v, Mikisa257, teac532s, niko71, stefanni
335 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

admin: 5631

globula_neagra: 2416

Oma7144: 2244

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 550

exelletor: 449

JochenKauz: 428

cracktech: 351

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 41

Members: 213848

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 180

Topics: 5042

Posts: 46900

Newest Members: LTK, iddo, natouuu, stefanni, anastasia028, nenogan

Moderators: globula_neagra: 2416, exelletor: 449, JochenKauz: 428, Oma7144: 2244, cracktech: 351


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix

Administrators: admin: 5631