Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Rom request for Tolino Tab 8.9
CM 10 or better Kitkat would be nice
Avatar
Astralix
Germany

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/12/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
121
2015/01/16 - 14:55
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Reading rainless' reply I would like to request 2aladin to really double check his filenames...

02:15:36 671 <LAYER 5-7> ERROR:PrepareIDB-->Loader-->No Found IDB
02:15:36 671 <Layer 5-7> Prepare IDB Fail
02:15:37 000 <Layer 5-7> Test Device Start

Is never a good sign, but

02:15:43 359 Error:RKU_Read-->ReadFile failed,bRet=0,err=998,size=64,read=0
02:15:48 562 Error:RKU_ClearBuffer-->totalRead=77
02:15:48 562 Error:RKU_Read-->ReadFile failed,bRet=0,err=998,size=64,read=0
02:15:53 781 Error:RKU_ClearBuffer-->totalRead=77
02:15:53 781 <LAYER 5-7> ERROR:GetBlocksState-->RKU_TestBadBlock failed,RetCode(-4)

looks like the flash tool cannot access required files too.
So the best way is really to stay in one directory.... However in linux you never run into these traps and you can easy distinguish between NAND errors and file errors....

Astralix

Avatar
rainless
Active Member
Forum Posts: 32
Member Since:
2014/11/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
122
2015/01/16 - 15:14
sp_Permalink sp_Print

You have ABSOLUTELY missed the point of the guy's... and my... posts.

 

The point is not to help someone who bricked their tablet, but to explain to people who have yet to even INSTALL Omnirom yet how to do it without having to go through this whole thread following subtle clues to figure it out.

Avatar
Astralix
Germany

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/12/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
123
2015/01/16 - 16:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Ah, I am not in any way angry about your post.

The problems with a forum is that the communication is single top down, but many posts then require to branch. And then it gets chaotic. So someone sends a special problem, 12 unrelated posts later there is a question and 24 unrelated posts later an answer to the question... That is quite hard.

But solving such special cases by PN is not the solution as others might run into that problem too, and you don't like to solve all user problems by PN...

And then, scrambling some NAND content, so you have some work to do until you recover the tablet, is not in any way related to any special CROM. Not Omni, not CM not AOSP. It can happen to anyone and it even happened to me as well as OMA7144 or Jochen... If you play with the device, you'll need to recover now and then.

Just keep posting good hints and tricks. I just wanted to keep the answers to the bricked devices close together before continuing the normal thread.

Astralix

Avatar
2aladin
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2015/01/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
124
2015/01/18 - 11:30
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Dear Astralix,

Thanks a lot for your support. Really appreciate,

I am going to try your procedure now, I was not able to do so earlier because I was not at home.

I'll report as soon as I know more.

Thanks again


Avatar
2aladin
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2015/01/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
125
2015/01/24 - 20:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

@astralix:

after a few days of testing in several computers there seem something wrong with your instructions.

I followed every single step and it worked like it should. Well almost. Everytime I try
"sudo upgrade_tool"
I've got a
"command not found"

I'm not able to go any further with your instructions after this. :(

Please see screenshot and you will see that I followed everything.

Can you please help me out?

Thank you.

Screenshot.jpgImage Enlarger

Avatar
Astralix
Germany

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/12/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
126
2015/01/24 - 23:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi!

Sorry, as a Linux-only user, you sometimes forget...

Simple solution for you would be to copy the upgrade_tool and the config.ini of it to the same directory where you have parameter file. This is usually rockdev. Then you change to this directory.
In Linux a program call _always_ calls the program via the PATH. If the program is not available in the directories of PATH, it is stated as not found. This is different to windows, where a program in the local directory is always preferred over any PATH.

So you need to tell Linux the point where the program is: ./ is you current directory:
sudo ./upgrade_tool di -k Image/kernel.img
and so on.

A different way, that I prefer is to:
In your home directory create a bin directory, and add it to PATH:
mkdir ~/bin
cp upgrade_tool ~/bin
cp config.ini ~/bin
export PATH="~/bin:$PATH"

Now you can add any special Linux tool into ~/bin (you private home directory) and can call it just by name without any special options.
That last command has to be repeated every time you start the VM unless you edit your ~/.bashrc and add this line somewhere inside.
But then you can call
sudo upgrade_tool di -b boot.img
and so on.

Avatar
2aladin
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2015/01/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
127
2015/01/25 - 02:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

OK.

with " ./ " it worked the other thing with PATH didn't work at all ...
Anyway ... I got stuck with IDB Fail

here is the terminal feedback:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/Oma_RK31_toliono_tab8.9_JB_4.2.2_v1.1/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool

List of rockusb connected

DevNo=1 Vid=0x2207,Pid=0x310b,LocationID=104 Loader

Found 1 rockusb,Select input DevNo,Rescan press <R>,Quit press <Q>:q

ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/Oma_RK31_toliono_tab8.9_JB_4.2.2_v1.1/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool ef "RK3188Loader(L)_V1.24.bin"

Loading loader...

Prepare IDB Fail

ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/Oma_RK31_toliono_tab8.9_JB_4.2.2_v1.1/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool ef "RK3188Loader(L)_V1.20.bin"

Loading loader...

Prepare IDB Fail

ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/Oma_RK31_toliono_tab8.9_JB_4.2.2_v1.1/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool ul "RK3188Loader(L)_V1.24.bin"

Loading loader...

Support Type:RK310B Loader ver:1.24 Loader Time:2013-06-20 16:58:25

Prepare IDB Fail

:(

Avatar
Astralix
Germany

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/12/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
128
2015/01/25 - 16:53
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Please provide the full output of the upgrade_tool debug output.
You can use the "code" button here to format the output to a readable format.

Normally upgrade_tool throws a line telling about which loader is currently active. So it says "Loader" or "MASK ROM".
After ef command it must be in MASK ROM mode otherwise it has not erased the flash.
After ul it must state Loader mode.
And then you need to run lf command, so the new loader formats the BBT and FTL databases.

If it is not in MASK ROM after ef or in Loader Mode after ul and lf, something went wrong and you need to power-cycle and try again. Sometime, if downgrading from Loader 2.xx to Loader 1.xx the system needs a power cycle or reset cycle, before this loader works fine. And please remove any SD-Card first! It may occur that the flash tools try to program the SD Card instead of internal NAND.

Astralix

Avatar
2aladin
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2015/01/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
129
2015/01/25 - 19:07
sp_Permalink sp_Print

It still doesn't work. There's no SD card installed.

Here's the log output of upgrade_tool:

18:54:31 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:31 Test Device Start
18:54:31 Test Device Success
18:54:31 Get FlashInfo Start
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FlashInfo: 46 DF BD B0 0 4 4 0 28 0 1
18:54:31 Get FlashInfo Success
18:54:31 Prepare IDB Start
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:CS(1) (1447867MB) (SAMSUNG)
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> ERROR:PrepareIDB-->Loader-->No Found IDB
18:54:31 Prepare IDB Fail
18:54:31 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:31 Test Device Start
18:54:31 Test Device Success
18:54:31 Check Chip Start
18:54:31 Check Chip Success
18:54:31 Get FlashInfo Start
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FlashInfo: 46 DF BD B0 0 4 4 0 28 0 1
18:54:31 Get FlashInfo Success
18:54:31 Prepare IDB Start
18:54:31 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:CS(1) (1447867MB) (SAMSUNG)
18:54:32 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:32 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:32 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:32 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:32 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:54:32 <LAYER 1-5> ERROR:PrepareIDB-->Loader-->No Found IDB
18:54:32 Prepare IDB Fail
18:54:32 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:33 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:33 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:33 ERROR:Download_Image-->memcmp failed,Checked(64K)
18:54:33 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:33 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:54:33 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:33 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:54:33 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:33 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:54:35 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:54:35 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:56:17 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:17 Test Device Start
18:56:17 Test Device Success
18:56:17 Get FlashInfo Start
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FlashInfo: 46 DF BD B0 0 4 4 0 28 0 1
18:56:17 Get FlashInfo Success
18:56:17 Prepare IDB Start
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:CS(1) (1447867MB) (SAMSUNG)
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> ERROR:PrepareIDB-->Loader-->No Found IDB
18:56:17 Prepare IDB Fail
18:56:17 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:17 Test Device Start
18:56:17 Test Device Success
18:56:17 Check Chip Start
18:56:17 Check Chip Success
18:56:17 Get FlashInfo Start
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FlashInfo: 46 DF BD B0 0 4 4 0 28 0 1
18:56:17 Get FlashInfo Success
18:56:17 Prepare IDB Start
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:CS(1) (1447867MB) (SAMSUNG)
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> INFO:FindBackupBuffer-->No Found Tag
18:56:17 <LAYER 1-5> ERROR:PrepareIDB-->Loader-->No Found IDB
18:56:17 Prepare IDB Fail
18:56:17 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:18 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:18 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:19 ERROR:Download_Image-->memcmp failed,Checked(64K)
18:56:19 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:19 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:56:19 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:19 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:56:19 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:19 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!
18:56:20 Upgrade Tool ver 1.21
18:56:20 get_parameter_loader->Check parameter tag failed!

and here is the output of the console:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool ef "RK3188Loader(L)_V1.24.bin"
Loading loader...
Prepare IDB Fail
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool ul "RK3188Loader(L)_V1.24.bin"
Loading loader...
Support Type:RK310B Loader ver:1.24 Loader Time:2013-06-20 16:58:25
Prepare IDB Fail
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool lf
Lower Format Device,total(1),current(0)
Lower Format Device OK.
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool di -p parameterDownload parameter ok.
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool di -k Image/kernel.img
Download kernel start...
Compare data failed in checking,exit download image!
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool di -b Image/boot.img
parameter is invalid,please check!
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool di -r Image/recovery.img
parameter is invalid,please check!
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool di -m Image/misc.img
parameter is invalid,please check!
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$ sudo ./upgrade_tool di -s Image/system.img
parameter is invalid,please check!
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Downloads/tolino/rockdev$

I'm getting very frustrated ... :( I hope you'll be able to find a solution. 

Avatar
2aladin
Member
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
2015/01/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
130
2015/01/29 - 11:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Is there no more solution for my tablet? 

Avatar
rainless
Active Member
Forum Posts: 32
Member Since:
2014/11/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
131
2015/01/29 - 12:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print

2aladin said
Is there no more solution for my tablet? 

I've got a couple:

 

1. It could be that the NAND is simply corrupted. In that case why not just send it in under warranty and have Trekstor repair it.

2. You could just take it back to the place where you've got it from and get another one.

 

I really think at this point you and Astralix should probably be handling the situation through PMs because it seems whatever happened is VERY specific to your tablet and won't provide any general knowledge that everyone else could use. (Though it would be nice if you posted the solution if you were able to find one eventually.)

 

Either way I'm sure Astralix or Oma will get back to you when they have time. In the meantime though... if you'd sent it in to Trekstor you'd probably already have it back by now.

Avatar
Astralix
Germany

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 27
Member Since:
2012/12/27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 7
132
2015/02/04 - 23:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Sorry,

I am very busy these days in the company and the vew minutes I have, I spend with Android 4.4.4 and 5.0 for RK.
2aladin, we should continue via PM, cause that thing starts to look crasy. I never had such a tablet, that absolutely retreats from working except the one over here, where the DRAM died for some reason we never find out.

So I come back to you via PM. May be we can do remote session via ssh or teamviewer. Years ago some cool guy rescued my HTC Desire HD that way, so may be I can give back that favour to someone else.

Astralix

Avatar
rainless
Active Member
Forum Posts: 32
Member Since:
2014/11/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
133
2015/02/05 - 22:49
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Yo Oma!

 

I finally updated to 3.0.3. Thanks a lot!

(Though I went back and flashed the original boot animation because LIGHTNING on the Tolino rom just seemed silly... like putting racing stripes on a Honda Civic...)

 

:)

Avatar
perilon
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2015/01/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
134
2015/03/07 - 23:11
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello Oma,

due to some IT-insecurities in Android 4.2 I decided updating my Tolino to Omnirom 4.4.4 v1.4.1. Of course I had some problems :-(

I wanted to keep the newer kernel with HDMI working, so I kept it. Everything else was the same as with bloedack in post #61. When I tried to install "CrewRKTablets_KK_Omni_v1.4.1_model fix_tolino_tab8.9.zip" with CWM it did not work:

Opening update package...
Verifying Update package...
Installation aborted.

I thought that this might be caused by my newer kernel, but flashing the older one did not help, either. In the end I copied the files manually via ADB into the correct directories, and everything is as expected. And after reflashing the newer kernel HDMI is also working.

So this looks like a success story, but I am not totally sure:

1) Does the kernel really accepts the modules of Omnirom and the older Tolino kernel? Wouldn't it be a better idea to copy the modules from your latest 4.2.2-ROM?

2) Why did the update via CWM not work?

3) The last question is a little bit out of topic: the Tolino has a resolution of 1920x1200. When I connect it to my TV it is shrinked to 90% and displayed with black bars on the side. The visible area is 1728x1080. When I change the resolution of the Tolino to 1920x1080 the visual HDMI output is 1728x972 with black bars around it. Does anyone know how to disable this downsizing? I really liked that the Tolino has a 16:10 display, but with HDMI this is a PIA.

Bye Perilon

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1386
135
2015/03/08 - 08:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I guess this is more a problem of the partition layout on the NAND. Did you flash the Omni build incl. eraseIDB?

Is the effect with HDMI also there in tolino build v1.1?

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
89 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (82), Phone (7)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

swan12

fansosagelos

Snowm

andrewbest

heftpflaster

ruta6

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix