Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Odys Iron OmniRom 4.4.4 custom root firmware (2014/05/30)
Avatar
livendead
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2014/07/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
46
2014/07/12 - 02:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

pmerrill said
I tried this build Odys Iron Omni 4.4 V1.3 on a Vido N80RK in the hopes it may work. The RKAndroidTool seemed to work fine but I could not get it to boot into CWM Recovery. I ended up having going back to Oma RK31 Vido N80RK JB 4.2.2 V3.4.

A couple of questions. Should it work on this tab if I apply the 160dpi fix? If not, is there any chance that you could make a ROM that will work on this tab? If it should work, then any tricks to flashing the rom that I should have followed?

Your stock ROM will need to be rooted, you will need to have installed 'CWM recovery', and on top of that, you must be using a 'kernel' from a boot-loader version 1, in order to follow my steps below.

What I did for my 'Aoson M30Q' was backed up my kernel on the latest updated 'STOCK ROM' with CWM recovery.
I then proceeded to copy my 'kernel.img' that was backed up into 'clockworkmod/backups' and replaced it in the flash tool; File folder "/rockdev/image/kernel.img" is where you must place your backed up stock kernel.
Run RKAndroidTool, then hit 'EraseIDB', then hit 'Run', now it's finished flashing.
It will reboot, you will be presented with the 'CWM Recovery by OMA', you will want to 'Factory Wipe'.
"Reboot to system" now and ignore any warnings (select no for each one), and the boot will take up to 5 minutes. Choose your language in the settings, reboot once more, and voila, you're in the clear.

Warning: This version is for boot-loader devices version 1. If your firmware is stock flashed with a boot-loader 2, use a different ROM than the one presented here. This 'KitKat' ROM was developed for use of the old 'Jelly Bean' Kernels, running boot-loader version 1!

----To the developers----

Greetings,

I've managed to successfully install this ROM (IRON by CrewRKTablets OmniROM 4.4.4 v1.3) onto the "Aoson M30Q" device, as demonstrated in the aforementioned steps above. Now, seeing as your download section is missing the stock kernel for Aoson M30Q (RK3188), is there anything I can do to help out you developers, and other users?

By the way, this ROM also has 16GB, and I love the unified storage method being used, it's given me about 2GB more space compared to STOCK for storage space

Tested both version 1.2 of the Omni ROM, and the latest 1.3 Omni ROM. I've noticed a large improvement across them both. Version 1.2 was missing HDMI output, where as version 1.3 has it in the settings now, and definitely much more stable WiFi (with both 2.4Ghz, and 5Ghz), and Bluetooth, exceptional work everyone!

I still have the 'auto-rotation' problem although, I am testing a few things, but I am no developer. I will test out the earlier post outlining the 'rotation fixes', until then, I will post back with updates later.

Great work everyone contributing with the OmniROM, keep up the amazing stuff!
I look forward to experimenting some more.

Regards,
Livendead

P.S. - There is one other KitKat ROM that works with this Tablet too. The "IRON by CrewRKTablets CM11 4.4.3 v1.0", with the same steps outlined in the posts by the developers, and my backed up kernel with the steps outlined above allowed me to successfully install it.
The general rule is, if you're using a boot-loader version 1 (1.24), you can experiment with other ROM choices that support the boot-loader 1 kernels. The rest all depends on the hardware, like chip, and WiFi to find a working ROM with support for your hardware.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
47
2014/07/12 - 09:25
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Thank you for feedback. Can you pls upload a dmesg log that I can see your hardware?

What is the rotation issue? No auto-rotation or just an orientation missmatch?

Latest build and instructions are here: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?p=3555

Changelog v1.3 build:

- stable RTL8723 wifi/BT
- RK903 wifi/BT
- HDMI settings
- ro.sf.hwrotation implemented
- screenshot functionallity
- volume buttons in UI
- updated sources

- Oma -

v1.3_01.pngImage Enlargerv1.3_02.pngImage Enlargerv1.3_03.pngImage Enlarger

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
48
2014/07/12 - 09:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

pmerrill said
I tried this build Odys Iron Omni 4.4 V1.3 on a Vido N80RK

Try again incl. eraseIDB.

Change kernel in folder rockdev/Images before flash: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=1911

In CWM do a factory reset and run this fix: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=1910

- Oma -

Avatar
LolloPS
Active Member
Forum Posts: 28
Member Since:
2014/05/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
49
2014/07/12 - 10:05
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Oma excuse me but this time there is no need of FormatNand fix?? i can't find it in the page of the rom ...it's all automatic? or i have to use the one from Odys iron kk v.1.2 build? thank you in advance!


Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
50
2014/07/12 - 10:12
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Unified internal storage - no internal sd any longer ;-)

To format user partitons just do a factory reset in CWM (see also instructions).

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

LolloPS
Avatar
livendead
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2014/07/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
51
2014/07/12 - 12:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
Thank you for feedback. Can you pls upload a dmesg log that I can see your hardware?

What is the rotation issue? No auto-rotation or just an orientation missmatch?

Thanks for the reply, I've actually encountered some issues, and also acquired the dmesg on the ROM that I am having an issue, I am about to also re-flash v1.2 ROM with the latest kernel and dmesg for you as well.

Below is my new current problem!

My problem now is WiFi only works on v1.2 of the Omni ROM, I've got no idea how to replicate how to get it working on the 1.3, as I spent a great ordeal of time tinkering around with multiple ROMs last night, this morning, and what not.

I also get on and off 'process android.acore' FC after I flash. I thought it was the method of USB, and the extension cable I used, so I reverted back to my higher quality USB cables during the flashes.

When I turn on WiFi, the system pauses, and then crashes. A couple of times it stayed in a boot-loop, and also three times it 'optimized apps' at boot; I re-flashed everything all over, from boot-loader, erasing IDB, All blocks, onto the next tool to flash, EraseIDB, and hit run. I cannot seem to get Omni ROM version 1.3 working with WiFi for Bluetooth any more.

I retried flashing with, and without erasing IDB, and from versions 1.2>1.3, I've tried my older kernel, and my updated kernel; Yes, I got two backed up kernels, from STOCK, one is an outdated build from AOSON that I got pre-installed, and the latest kernel I started using two days ago from latest STOCK update. (I need to test old kernel on the new version 1.3 Omni ROM, just in case!)

To sum it all up - Omniv1.2 works with latest kernel - WiFi (Both 2.4Ghz, and 5Ghz), Bluetooth works as well.
Omni v1.3 crashes when turning on WiFi, and or Bluetooth.

As for the Rotation, the touch is fine, perfect in fact, the screen is native resolution, and it loads up as 'landscape' which is how 'stock ROM' loads too.

The 'auto-rotation' problem is when I flip the tablet, it does not move, it is literally stuck in landscape, but 'some' apps force it in 'vertical' position, thus making it locked that way until I reboot! So I'm assuming it's related to the sensors of the gyro, unable to flip the screen as I move it. (I tested the 'fakerotation=true', and set the rotation degrees, which worked fine, but still unsure if it stays that way with all apps.)

I will update this post with all dmesg logs per kernel change, and version of Omni flash.

Thanks a lot for the help, and see you around!

Regards,
Livendead

P.S. - I had the orientation mismatch/inverted touch when testing the KitKat version M33Q that you posted recently which used the boot-loader 2 (I am back to boot-loader v1.2). It installed and booted, but I couldn't unlock the device, as the touch was all wrong. I assumed that it was kernel related, and nothing to be done, and I believe the WiFi may not work with that one... not sure though.) I actually tested many ROM's released here at CrewRKTablets, and had similar touch problems where what I was touching, was not exactly on the screen, and the rotation was a mismatch.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
52
2014/07/12 - 12:54
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Just let me have a dmesg from a build with working wifi. I'd like to see the wifi-chip.

Can you also upload the firmware dump that I can check your touch?

- Oma -

Avatar
livendead
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2014/07/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
53
2014/07/12 - 13:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
Just let me have a dmesg from a build with working wifi. I'd like to see the wifi-chip.

Can you also upload the firmware dump that I can check your touch?

- Oma -

I've attached the dmesg, with working WiFi, which is using the latest kernel, and Omni ROM v1.2

When you say firmware dump, you mean like the below code? A system dump, meaning it will be 100+MB?

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
54
2014/07/12 - 13:49
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Ok, AP6330 wifi.

<4>[ 56.376687] Current WiFi chip is AP6330.
<4>[   58.573912] RKWIFI WiFi driver (Powered by Rockchip,Ver 4.53.WFD) init.
<4>[ 59.177704] FW_PATH = /system/etc/firmware/fw_RK903_ag.bin
<4>[ 59.177709] NVRAM_PATH = /system/etc/firmware/nvram_AP6330.txt

I was of the opinion you said you have a dump or Nandroid backup of the M30Q fimware. If so, zip and upload it to a filehoster.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

livendead
Avatar
livendead
New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2014/07/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
55
2014/07/12 - 14:18
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Update -

Link! Nandroid backup of Aoson M30Q Latest update rooted, and CWM Recovery: http://www.mediafire.com/download/zrxp5bhicod1uzb/M30Q_LatestStockROM-Root-CWM.7z

So I just did a fresh install of the latest stock ROM anyways, rooted, and backed up with CWM Recovery.
Then restored the backup, to confirm it's all in working order.

Thank you a whole lot!

Regards,
Livendead

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
56
2014/07/12 - 19:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Ok, kernel is now in the archive: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=1913

Do a clean install of the v1.3 build incl. eraseIDB.

In CWM do a factory reset and install this fix: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?wpfb_dl=1912

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

livendead
Avatar
ti5002000
Active Member
Forum Posts: 21
Member Since:
2014/06/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
57
2014/07/12 - 19:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print

sorry for the offtopic but someone has a backup of the Qilive97r original firmware that you can provide it to me?

i really need it..

 

thanks

Avatar
ti5002000
Active Member
Forum Posts: 21
Member Since:
2014/06/28
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
58
2014/07/12 - 20:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

netlars said
Thanks for your response.

Please test the new 1.3 build. Now you can rotate your picture in the build.prop with the entries ro.sf.hwrotation=0  (90,180,270) and ro.sf.fakerotation=false   (true).

I hope this help you for your cam picture.

Thanks netlars but it didnt work.

Still rotated .

 

Thanks anyway :)

Avatar
LolloPS
Active Member
Forum Posts: 28
Member Since:
2014/05/20
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
59
2014/07/12 - 20:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Oma i tried the rom on my mediacom M-MP84S4 so here is my feedback

I tried 3 kernels with different results : 

1) Mediacom Kernel "feng #24 preempt 26.06.2013" ---> wifi works , bluetooth only works when wifi is on ...if i turn off the bluetooth when the wifi it's not on  the tab freeze or reboot itself 

2)Prestigio Multipad 4 Quantum 7.85 kernel --->wifi works , bluetooth doesn't work

3)Mediacom Kernel "feng #28 preempt 05.09.2013"----> wifi works , bluetooth works only with a modified boot.img (see below)

I have also to replace the battery images in boot.img (with the one from stock 4.2.2 boot.img) because they are not showing right when i charge the tab

---->Modified boot.img=

      1)Replaced "init.connectivity.rc" with the one from Odys Iron v1.2 KK rom 

      2)Copied battery images of stock boot.img in res/images/charger

      3)replaced the file "charger" with the one from the stock 4.2.2 boot.img

I have always the problem of screen tearing with hdmi but i give up on that and the antutu score is low 15550 sometimes 16000 (with odys iron kk build i have a score of 19950/20100) 

Anyway the rom is smooth and the video decoding it's finally working right Laugh so thank you !

 

 

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1378
60
2014/07/12 - 20:42
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thank you for feedback. Yes, charger.bin is the wrong one.

Did you set governor to performance before run Antutu?

HDMI works pretty well on all my tabs. Something wrong with the cable?

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
90 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (77), Phone (12), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

jone2122

NOnoS

ammie

Andreasse

richard0085

saradavis1

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix