Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
[ ROM ] Nextbook 8 Quad Core NX785QC8G Android 4.4.2 custom root firmware (2014/07/13)
Avatar
vangelislam
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2014/09/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
16
2014/09/17 - 13:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

ok i will try again .... but i can't complete this step : a) go to app drawer, open RebootMenue and Reboot to Bootloader
because my tablet don't open or if it open sticks at menu...!
maybe i do something wrong at installation ...! 

Avatar
Durtturbine
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/10/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
17
2014/10/21 - 02:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

So, I have an issue. After I put this rom on my nextbook. It randomly shuts off. It isn't any particular app that makes it do it. I can't replicate the issue. It just happens. It wont boot back up until I've put it on the charger. But it still says the batter has juice in it. It is different amounts as well.( like 73%, 65%, 30%) I've seen like one other post and someone says that it could be that it isn't tracking the battery percentage right. I was wondering if anyone else had any insight or recommendations?

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1374
18
2014/10/21 - 08:03
sp_Permalink sp_Print

A lot of owners of the tab reports that. Root cause is that the battery plug is part way out of the connector, which leads to an inaccurate measure of the battery level.

- Oma -

Avatar
Durtturbine
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/10/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
19
2014/10/21 - 21:09
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I appreciate it Oma! I will look into that. 


Avatar
Durtturbine
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/10/21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
20
2014/10/22 - 18:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Ok So I opened it up and messed with the battery a little bit. Nothing seemed off about it..but so far it hasn't been acting up. I found instructions for opening it as well on http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php?15184-Nextbook-8-(NX785QC8G)-Official-Firmware-Update-Is-Out/page13&highlight=nextbook+8 . Just to help anyone else out having the same issue. There really isn't enough development for this tab lol. I appreciate what you do Oma!

Taking it apart is simple, but difficult to do without bending or possibly even cracking the front bezel.

It's just a matter of shoving something in the very narrow crack around the side edges between the front bezel and the back cover and sliding it around to pop the tabs loose (don't forget to remove your external sd card first). Most plastic "spudger" tools made for removing electronics cover would be too thick. I managed to use my thumbnail... one of the guitar pick shaped (but thinner corners) spudgers might work too.

The danger here is bending the edges of the front bezel (mine is a little warped now), popping the very thin edge band off of the front bezel (mine is loose in spots now) or cracking the front bezel / touch digitizer or lcd (someone reported breaking theirs).

You don't want the front bezel to come off (it is attached to the digitizer/lcd, which is attached to the main board and battery), you want the back cover to come off of the rest of the assembly.

Also, be careful with the speaker wire. The speaker is attached to the inside of the back cover and the extremely thin speaker wires are soldered to the main board. (I broke my speaker wires and had to resolder them.)

Once apart it is pretty easy to spot the problem (my battery plug was at nearly a 45 degree angle to the connector slot). The battery cables were stretched too tight, with a gap under them. A little pressure in the right spot pushes the cables into the gap between them and the back of the lcd and pulls the plug partway out of the connector.

The best solution would likely be moving the battery a little closer to the main board to give the battery cables some slack... but the battery is glued to the back of the lcd. I don't think it can be pulled off without damaging the soft battery or the lcd and I was afraid to use a heat gun to soften the glue.

I cut small squarish piece of soft plastic scrap material to fit in the gap between the battery and main board where the cables were stretched across the gap so they have less space available to move, which is mostly working, but I think maybe some low temp hot glue to hold the battery plug in the connector might be a better solution. (Haven't tried that yet.)

When done, just line up the buttons and ports with the cover, angle that corner in first, and then gently pop the edges of the cover back on.

ShaunMT

 

Avatar
justinuyasha
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2014/11/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
21
2014/11/02 - 08:27
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I got everything work SEEMINGLY perfect! I can't get many apps to work. Any that require SD card will not work. I cannot use the Camera, Dropbox, I cannot update Xposed Framework. Titanium Backup. Several more. Any ideas? I cannot access the phones internal sd card from my PC either. 

Avatar
TehLexinator
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2015/01/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
22
2015/01/14 - 20:22
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Awesome ROM, thank you.

 

I installed the 2.1 version and have a few questions.

 

I have a 32GB card that is now getting used as NAND, and whenever I try to move an APP to SD card, it actually goes to the limited space that is set as the SD card in the system (little over 2GB). Any way to fix this?

 

Finally, in Entropy Fixer, I set it to 256 and told it to apply at start up, but my Entropy is constantly over that threshold (according to this app). Am I doing something wrong?

 

Thank you!

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1374
23
2015/01/15 - 10:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print

No app2sd necessary. Internal storage for apps is 2 GB. That should be enough.

- Oma -

Avatar
42210
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2015/01/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
24
2015/01/23 - 16:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print

How does gamepad support work? My otg cable and xbox 360 pad won't respond.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1374
25
2015/01/23 - 21:58
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Other connected usb devices work? Wireless Xbox Controller? Open the included app USB Host Controller and let me have a screenshot from Connected USB devices.

- Oma -

 

V3.1_08.pngImage Enlarger

Avatar
42210
New Member
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
2015/01/23
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
26
2015/01/23 - 22:03
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Actually got it to work. It was a faulty otg cable. Bought a new one just to see and my gamepad lit right up. Thank you so much. This rom is excellent. Good work. 

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1374
27
2015/01/23 - 22:14
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Fine.

- Oma -

Avatar
ryanlecocq
New Member
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
2015/02/03
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
28
2015/02/03 - 21:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I'm having trouble with my CPU speeds.  It never hits the highest clock speeds @1600MHz, always limits to 1400MHz.  As a result my benchmarks and have actually dropped below stock.  Everything else works perfectly, root access granted to the CPU control app.  If I try to force it to run at full speed by setting the minimum and maximum clocks to 1600, the tablet crashes.

I can confirm that it did work before on the factory image.  I benchmarked it at 22703 in AnTuTu with stock rom and watched the clocks hit 1.6GHz.  As a result my score has now dropped to just under 20k.  Anyone else having this issue?

Avatar
merlinoflore
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2015/02/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
29
2015/02/16 - 09:10
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Question... I recently purchased  a Nextbook NXT785QC8G table. Rooted it using Kingo root but can't seem to access the bootloader. I downloaded the package in the original thread, installed the driver successfully, and can open the RKAndroidTool however I cannot get it to say 'Found' instead of 'Not Found'. USB Debugging and Allow Mock Location are checked on the device. ADB and Cydia Impactor can connect and reboot the device without issue. Am I missing something? Is Power + Vol-Up not the correct key combination? Any assistance is appreciated....

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1374
30
2015/02/16 - 16:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Which windows?

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
107 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (95), Phone (12)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

3006

abel99999

Mbcpro

RIADAB2

RIADAB

Herbertx333

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6030

Posts: 60484

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 261585

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix