Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
OMA's ROM for Kata FishTab 3
Need to clarify a few things about it for a noob....
Avatar
Lightpost
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2016/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
2016/05/14 - 19:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Just installed Sir Oma's rom for Kata FishTab 3s and I've noticed a few things about it such as the headset icon not being displayed at the top whenever I plug a working one in.

Also, I noticed that it doesn't have the option to adjust at what percentage the device would alert me about the battery and that it just suddenly shuts down even if it still has more than 30% left.
I Googled about it and found out about battery calibration. Is it because flashing the device doesn't automatically create the appropriate battery stats file?

If I do have to use battery calibration apps, I don't understand how to actually use it. Should I just plug the tab to the charger, wait for it to fully charge then hit the app's calibrate button and it's done? 
I keep reading on various calibration apps that it's recommended to let the battery drain and fully charge it again without interruption after the calibration - this is the part that I don't understand much.
When they say to let the battery drain, do I have to just leave the tablet on and not use it ("without interruption")? And after draining it and then recharging it to 100%, should I hit the calibrate button again?

Most importantly, it doesn't have an option to change the default storage location. Is this a hardware limitation and not a feature that was forgotten to be implemented?
I am aware that the phone has an Internal SD Card and that the external one I can insert is simply used to store files such as docs, music, movies, etc., but not apps.
Whenever I move Apps from the internal storage to the external one, it goes back to the internal SD Card after rebooting.

Second to the last thing I'd like to know how the "swap external to internal storage for Kata fish tab3." actually works as requested in this old thread (post # 9 and 10)? 
[ ROM ] Kata FishTab 3 Android 4.2.2 custom root firmware (2014/07/02)
I've Googled enough to know that it makes the tablet think my external SD Card is the internal/built-in SD Card so that the apps would be move there instead. That's nice and all if only the apps don't go back after rebooting the device.

Sir Oma's instructions indicate to do a factory reset right after installing it via CWM, I assume the SD Swap Fix doesn't get deleted as well, right? Because for some reason, applying the fix doesn't seem to work -- it still treats my external 8GB SD Card as is.
Is this fix similar to the one where you need to edit something in a text file and change sdcard0 to sdcard1 on some lines of a certain file?
Also, if I manage to get it to work, I no longer need to bother with Link2SD and FolderMount, correct? 
How would the swapped storages appear (labelled) when viewed on the Settings > Storage screen and on the File Manager?

I apologize for being very wordy and my grammatical errors, English isn't my native language. I wish I didn't have to dig deep into Google to clarify these stuff for myself but for some reason, the answers I need seem to elude me.

I'd really appreciate it if someone could clear those things up for me! 
Thanks in advance!

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5784
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOnlineSmall Online

Thanks Received: 1281
2
2016/05/16 - 08:19
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Lightpost said
Just installed Sir Oma's rom for Kata FishTab 3s

Do not use this very old rom for other hardware revisions.

- Oma -

Avatar
Lightpost
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2016/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2016/05/17 - 09:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said

Lightpost said
Just installed Sir Oma's rom for Kata FishTab 3s

Do not use this very old rom for other hardware revisions.

- Oma -

Thanks Sir Oma for looking into this. 

I tried Googling for your latest rom made for my Kata FishTab 3 but I can't seem to find it. All I end up with which relates to my Kata FishTab 3 is on the link I posted on my first post.

I eventually found your download page and I assume that's where I can get the latest but I don't know which one I should download - I'm guessing that as long as it's for RK3066, it should work?

Edit:
       I think I found it but I just want to make sure because I have a feeling that it's the one I'm already using; http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?s=Oma+RK31+Kata+FishTab3+JB+4.2.2&submit=Suchen 

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5784
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOnlineSmall Online

Thanks Received: 1281
4
2016/05/17 - 19:52
sp_Permalink sp_Print

The 3s has obviously a sligthly different hardware. So, one need at least a specific kernel for it. Did you backup the stock firmware?

- Oma -


Avatar
Lightpost
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2016/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
2016/05/22 - 05:36
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
The 3s has obviously a sligthly different hardware. So, one need at least a specific kernel for it. Did you backup the stock firmware?

- Oma -  

Just like on of the users of the rom you created for the KT3, I got the tab with the stuck-on-fish-logo boot issue and unfortunately for me, there were no backups of the stock firmware. 

The one you created specifically for this tablet works fine, it's just that I was hoping that it could've been better; the minor things I pointed out on my first post isn't really a big deal but being able to set the external SD Card as the default storage would be really great.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5784
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOnlineSmall Online

Thanks Received: 1281
6
2016/05/22 - 11:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I get lost now. You mentioned the not working battery stats, which is most likely driven by an other PMU.

The build has an unified storage. So, there is no internal sdcard.

- Oma -

Avatar
Lightpost
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2016/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
7
2016/05/23 - 16:41
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
I get lost now. You mentioned the not working battery stats, which is most likely driven by an other PMU.

The build has an unified storage. So, there is no internal sdcard.

- Oma -  

I'm sorry for the confusion. I managed to get the battery to work fine by using a battery calibration app - it used to suddenly shut down even with 38% battery left.
I'm not sure if it's designed that way but my FishTab 3 doesn't have an option to set at which % I'd get the low battery warning.

I also got confused about the internal memory because I was used to my old phone with a "Phone Memory" and an "Internal Memory."
My FishTab 3 gives me an option to move apps to the SD Card but it doesn't actually move it there - when I check my SD Card, it's still empty (not including the default folders created).
Also, when I reboot the tablet, all the apps that I move to the "SD Card" (not the external one), return to the phone memory - if I check the App info, it says "Move to SD Card" again instead of "Move to Phone", which is kinda annoying.

I'm currently using Link2SD and FolderMount to get over that memory limitation, it's just that it takes a long time for those two apps to link and mount my other apps, which prevents me from using it right away after booting it up.

Thanks again, Sir Oma for looking into this. If there isn't a solution for my gripes, it's alright. I'm still happy with the rom you made for Kata FishTab 3!

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5784
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOnlineSmall Online

Thanks Received: 1281
8
2016/05/23 - 17:59
sp_Permalink sp_Print

You are welcome. Unified storage means there is only one physical partition on the NAND for internal storage (apps space) and internal sdcard. So, Android will do all the work for you. No need for symlincing via external apps.

- Oma -

Avatar
Lightpost
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2016/05/14
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
9
2016/05/28 - 19:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
You are welcome. Unified storage means there is only one physical partition on the NAND for internal storage (apps space) and internal sdcard. So, Android will do all the work for you. No need for symlincing via external apps.

- Oma -  

Ah, I think I get it now. 

Since the FishTab 3 only uses the External SD Card as media storage (can't install apps on it), and since the tablet only has one partition, if I use the "Move to SD Card" option for the apps, it actually just moves it to the same place, that's why the apps seem to return to the tablet from the SD Card after I reboot it, correct?

 

One last concern; I think I read in the description that the rom you made for FishTab 3 supports the Xbox 360 controller. Does it also support the wireless version?

I found out about Sleepless Ninja's fix (dunno if you've heard about him) for the Wireless Xbox 360 controller and applied it to my tablet but it still doesn't seem to work.

Here's what happens;

I have the Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver that works perfectly fine with my two 360 controllers on the PC. 

I plug the wireless receiver to my tablet via OTG and press the Sync button which makes the green LED start blinking, meaning it's searching for a controller.

I turn the wireless contoller on and the LEDs around the Xbox Guide Button also starts blinking but as soon as I press the Sync button on top of the controller to pair it with the wireless receiver, the wireless receiver suddenly turns off (the blinking LED goes out).

I already tried turning the controller on first then plugging the receiver in and then pair it but the same thing happens. 

I also tried holding the controller's sync button first and then pressing the button on the receiver but it the light only just blinks once (I'm sure it just powered off as soon as it detected that the controller's trying to sync with it).

 

I was wondering if you have any ideas what's wrong or if the tablet just can't support the wireless version of the controller. I have a feeling that the receiver just doesn't get enoug power to operate while it's syncing with yhe controller.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: Oma7144, leitwolf, stoicris, mrsman
241 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (196), Phone (41), Tablet (8)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5784

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 432

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

mrsman

stoicris

CHALBER

jfaghy

flitzer731

Fitter

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5916

Posts: 58851

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 256504

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix