Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
KitKat has landed on rk31board ;-)
If you have some feedback.
Avatar
dadihu
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2014/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
151
2014/04/21 - 05:15
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
Thank you for testing. The build is published here: http://crewrktablets.arctablet.com/?p=3319

To hoist the colors of the build just press several times on the Android Version (settings/About the tab) ;-)

 

- Oma -

 

Hey Oma, i did i little review on your rom here =)

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1386
152
2014/04/21 - 15:20
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thank you for sharing.

One picture shows Titanium. Restore data could be the reason for the descriped problems.

 

- Oma -

Avatar
Mr.R
Active Member
Forum Posts: 25
Member Since:
2013/12/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
153
2014/04/21 - 15:55
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said

Mr.R said
Partitions/system setup is still messed up just so you, used the included default para file first, partitions are spot on now but you cant move apps so when system is full your done, which is no good for large apps and games.

Which build? Which tab? Example of a large app?

- Oma -

 

Oma_RK31_Chuwi_V88_KK_4.4.2_v2.3_gen1 loader build, pipo m9 max and any app that is say 200mb+ or has extra files that dont use the internal sd card/obb folder as it should, id have to check for specific apps but i dont have the tablet with me currently

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1386
154
2014/04/21 - 16:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hm, everything is like it shold. We have the 4 GB internal storage for apps and the 10,5 GB internal sd for app data.

v2.3_10maiden.pngImage Enlarger

Downloading Asphalt 8 from Play-Store:

v2.3_10download.pngImage Enlarger

Will add the app of 56 MB to the internal storage and the app data of 885 MB to the internal sd.

v2.3_10downloaded.pngImage Enlarger

- Oma -


Avatar
RoGuE_StreaK
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/05/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
155
2014/05/16 - 02:47
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Oma, and special mention to 4WheelSpyder and dadihu and any others with the Cube U9GT5; I just picked one up and after much deliberation and reading decided to reflash straight away with Oma's ROM.  Been running it for a day or two but haven't had too much chance to really put it through it's paces.

A few questions though;

- On bootup I get the Oma lightning for about 7seconds, then the screen is completely blank for about 40seconds; is this normal?  it's a bit disconcerting / worrying when you flash an unknown ROM and it looks like it's dead.

- Owner shows up as "Eigentumer", any way of changing that?

- How are people changing the resolution and DPI?  I've tried looking for resolution changer apps but most will only display the current resolution, and I dont want to have to pay for an app when I don't know whether it will work.  I'd like a quick switch to/from 2048x1536 and 1600x1200, so I can check out how much impact the res has on various performances.

- dadihu, I see in your linked thread that you've got Flash listed in your apps; does it work, and if so how did it you get it to work?  I need to get SWF Player to work rather than in browsers, as I have lots of swf files/games that I've developed in the past that I'd like to get working

- screen touches feel a little off; I can't find any settings or apps anywhere to calibrate touches, anyone know of a way?

- Portrait-mode apps always seem to rotate to what feels like an upside-down orientation for this tablet; of particular concern/nuisance is that it puts the power button on the bottom edge, so resting the tablet anywhere is likely to press teh power.  Any known workaround for this?

 

Thanks for the work Oma!

Avatar
dadihu
New Member
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
2014/03/09
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
156
2014/05/16 - 06:17
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

RoGuE_StreaK said
Hi Oma, and special mention to 4WheelSpyder and dadihu and any others with the Cube U9GT5; I just picked one up and after much deliberation and reading decided to reflash straight away with Oma's ROM.  Been running it for a day or two but haven't had too much chance to really put it through it's paces.

A few questions though;

- On bootup I get the Oma lightning for about 7seconds, then the screen is completely blank for about 40seconds; is this normal?  it's a bit disconcerting / worrying when you flash an unknown ROM and it looks like it's dead.

- Owner shows up as "Eigentumer", any way of changing that?

- How are people changing the resolution and DPI?  I've tried looking for resolution changer apps but most will only display the current resolution, and I dont want to have to pay for an app when I don't know whether it will work.  I'd like a quick switch to/from 2048x1536 and 1600x1200, so I can check out how much impact the res has on various performances.

- dadihu, I see in your linked thread that you've got Flash listed in your apps; does it work, and if so how did it you get it to work?  I need to get SWF Player to work rather than in browsers, as I have lots of swf files/games that I've developed in the past that I'd like to get working

- screen touches feel a little off; I can't find any settings or apps anywhere to calibrate touches, anyone know of a way?

- Portrait-mode apps always seem to rotate to what feels like an upside-down orientation for this tablet; of particular concern/nuisance is that it puts the power button on the bottom edge, so resting the tablet anywhere is likely to press teh power.  Any known workaround for this?

 

Thanks for the work Oma!

Hi Rogue, i use this app to change resolution. It`s pretty easy to use. I`m using the res 1792x1344 with 240dpi. (dont ask, i`ve found this res on wikipedia and it works quite well).

About the flash, though luck bro, this app was restored using titanium, so i haven`t used it in ages.

my touch feels alright and some apps like to rotate upside-down too but i`ve had no problem whatsoever after the initial startup, they rotate back. 

 

my bootup happens exactly like yours and it concerns me too mainly because my tablet freeze with to much force exerted on it and it only bootup again if i connect it to the electricity. That means that sometimes(half of the time) when i put my tablet in my bag i end up with a dead tablet while i dont hook it up on the charger.

Lastly i`ve changed my username clicking on my username tag (you case Eigentumer) then clicking on the image that appeared and then clicking on the pencil icon on the top right corner.

Avatar
Mr.R
Active Member
Forum Posts: 25
Member Since:
2013/12/15
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
157
2014/05/16 - 07:59
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
Hm, everything is like it shold. We have the 4 GB internal storage for apps and the 10,5 GB internal sd for app data.

Downloading Asphalt 8 from Play-Store:

Will add the app of 56 MB to the internal storage and the app data of 885 MB to the internal sd.

- Oma -

Is this on the pipo m9 max? As it wasnt working that way for me, can't currently test as ive had to send it for repair

Avatar
RoGuE_StreaK
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/05/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
158
2014/05/23 - 13:21
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Things seem to have gone dead aroud here...

dadihu said
Hi Rogue, i use this app to change resolution.

Thanks dadihu, works as advertised, though it would definitely be better if you could at least specify your own templates. I guess it works well enough for switching back and forth between custom and hi-res settings, as you can use "Restore defaults" to go back to high-res, and your custom figures will remain in the input boxes for next time. So it's "kinda" a toggle.

As a test example, Plants vs Zombie 2 runs much faster/smoother on 1600x1200 vs the 2048x1536 settings. It's good to be able to go back to high-res for photo viewing etc though.

my touch feels alright and some apps like to rotate upside-down too but i`ve had no problem whatsoever after the initial startup, they rotate back.

I turned on "show touches" and "pointer location" in Developer Options, and it did seem to report accurately. Still don't know about the rotation thing, as any app that only displays in portrait (not rotation for orientation) displays "upside down". Apps that use sensor data work fine, it's the apps that force portrait mode that are the issue, the major issue being the location of the physical power button.

my bootup happens exactly like yours

I've figured out that Oma's bootsplash.zip must be incorrectly coded for loop, it displays once and then disappears; I've just put in a properly looping bootsplash and it continues to loop onscreen until the lockscreen comes up.

Lastly i`ve changed my username clicking on my username tag (you case Eigentumer) then clicking on the image that appeared and then clicking on the pencil icon on the top right corner.

Thanks for that, seems that "Eigentumer" essentially translates to "owner", and wasn't the actual username; strange that it persisted when I changed the language to English.

Avatar
4WheelSpyder
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2014/03/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
159
2014/06/16 - 00:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi to all Oma KitKat ROM users. Not sure if this latest problem is unique to my platform but since I installed  the latest update of the Tunein app (Great app to listen to just about any internet radio station in the world) my tablet will reboot after a while - a time that could range from anything between 5 minutes and to more than an hour. At first I thought it was unique to the app but then I tried a few full length movies on youtube, and it is happening there too - not nearly as frequently though. Anyone else seeing the same?

Avatar
RoGuE_StreaK
New Member
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
2014/05/16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
160
2014/06/16 - 01:24
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

I haven't had any reboots like that, but I haven't used Tunein (not even sure if I have it installed), and haven't really used youtube on it, especially not loooong videos.

But I have played 720p videos with MX Player all the way through as a battery test; for info, running Despicabe Me 2 (about 1.5hrs) on about "6" for brightness only took 13% battery; that's pretty darn good!  Based on that, that's easily 10hrs use.  When boosted to high brightness ("15"), it used about 30%, which is to be expected.

Oh, that's on 1600x1200 setting; haven't retried on full res.

Using Plants vs Zombies 2 (much higher def grahics than the original), I have noticed that running at 1024x768 is faster again than 1600x1200, probably the correct speed for the game, but everything starts looking a bit too ugly at that res so I stick with 1600x1200 for general use.

 

All-in-all this is a nice stable ROM, but my biggest bug-bear is the amount of time it takes to load, nearly a full minute; guess I'm used to the ultra-fast load of my phone.  As such, I tend to just turn the screen off rather than a full power-down, yeah it does use a bit of power (say 5% overnight) but I'll live with that.

Oh, and microphone volume, can't seem to get a usable microphone level for Skype, can't find a fix for that anywhere?

Avatar
4WheelSpyder
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2014/03/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
161
2014/06/16 - 04:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the replay. I will look into it a bit further. The previous version of Tunein would play all day - no problem.

Having the same problem with the low microphone volume for skype.

Avatar
4WheelSpyder
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2014/03/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
162
2014/06/22 - 21:35
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Update to my re-booting problem with tunein. If I "minimize" the app without exiting (i.e displaying the launcher screen) it would stream for hours without rebooting. I have a hunch that there is some form of a memory leak related to updating the app screen when streaming.

Avatar
4WheelSpyder
Active Member
Forum Posts: 41
Member Since:
2014/03/08
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
163
2014/06/27 - 04:51
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

There is  'new' Stock Firmware KitKat ROM available for the  Aoson M33 RK3188 quad core tablet on the geekbuying blog. I tried it on the U9GTV but the touch screen is inversed.

Edit:

For what it is worth.

The kernel version on this ROM is 

3.0.26+

root@ok-desktop #4

Fri May 9 14

Build number 

rk3188-eng 4.4.2 KOT49H eng.root.20140509.1600005 test-keys

It appears as if the wifi is not compatible with the U9GTV either. It is not rooted.

 

PS Used a mouse to navigate on the screen 

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 803

Currently Online: desluk
99 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (96), Phone (4)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

desluk

cimoral

merlin077

nrod

midnight-gr

Pajaro047

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix