Forum switched to read-only as of 2020/06/01


Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Criteria for finding a ROM........
Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
46
2014/08/23 - 19:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oma7144 said
Can I have the logs?

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1383
47
2014/08/23 - 19:32
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Still curious.

08-23 19:19:04.300 I/WifiService( 353): WifiService starting up with Wi-Fi enabled

Do again with the files from the Fusion model fix.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

roses2at
Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
48
2014/08/23 - 19:56
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
Still curious.

08-23 19:19:04.300 I/WifiService( 353): WifiService starting up with Wi-Fi enabled

Do again with the files from the Fusion model fix.

So it says the WF is starting - why the hell can I not turn it on from Settings???? Blöd!

I'm also curious about why you had a model fix from a Prestigio PMP5780D - does it have the same WF chip as my Fusion? (I used to have a PMP3570B but it was crap. Sold it before I even got a chance to think about rooting or changing the FW...)

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1383
49
2014/08/23 - 20:11
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yes, the Prestigio has the same very, very untypical wifi chip for a rk30board and the more then untypical solution that the wifi driver is in the kernel.

It seems we cannot "correct" the strange "behaviour" of your kernel on the Android side. Sorry.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

roses2at

Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
50
2014/08/23 - 20:27
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
Yes, the Prestigio has the same very, very untypical wifi chip for a rk30board and the more then untypical solution that the wifi driver is in the kernel.

It seems we cannot "correct" the strange "behaviour" of your kernel on the Android side. Sorry.

The end of the road...........how sad.

Many kilos of kudos to you for trying (did you see my PM?).

It was an interesting journey and I learnt a lot of new tricks and techniques along the way.

As I said in my first post, my "raison d'etre" for all this is to solve a Bluetooth problem involving a Nokia 3D-LW GPS receiver, which works fine with a very old HP iPAQ Pocket PC, but not with my tablet. (OK, OK, I did find a workaround on the Fusion by first pairing it, then using a third party app called GPS Bluetooth which involves connecting to the Nokia within the program, then allowing Mock Locations.)

I thought this inability to be able to pair and connect natively within Jelly Bean was because of the low version number of BT programmed into 4.1.1.

I even tried connecting and authorising to it from Terminal Emulator using hcitool but that was unsuccesful, although I will be the first to admit I'm not the world's most competent with command line interfaces.

But I was in my local computer store (Saturn) the other day with my LD-3W switched on and I tried it out with 3 different tablets with 4.2x, 4.3 and 4.4. Unfortunately I couldn't do this research work surreptitiously because every tablet had the "Einstellung" button programmed with a password - very clever!. But the assistant was very helpful, and although those tabs all discovered the device, they wouldn't pair with it. (Some very expensive Apple Mac tabs couldn't even discover it from half a metre away!!! What a waste of money they are!)

So that told me that the problem does not lie with Android JB or KK per se, but with the Nokia. I am already in contact with their technical department, but they are exceedingly slow, incompetent and have no customer care skills whatsoever - and I'm glad I can tell that to the world. Their recent takeover my M$ was about the worst thing that could have happened in corporate land.

The outlook for me is that I will probably keep my Fusion and eventually revert to the original FW. After rooting it and finding out how to remove the bloatware and do other tweaks it just about meets my needs and I don't have a lot of dosh to splash out on anything else right now.

Finally, I have to say ome of the apps in CM10.1 are really good (eg RebootMenu, Pimp My ROM, CPU Tweaks, etc) so I've taken some screenshots so I remember to install them in my FW.

 

Thanks again Oma for all your help...............

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1383
51
2014/08/23 - 20:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yeah, it is not the end I like much.

Have seen your PM and everything is ok as it is. Try to exchange the tab.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

roses2at
Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
52
2014/08/23 - 21:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
..........exchange the tab.

 

Exchange it? For what? 

My needs: a 7 inch tab with WiFi and BT, SIM-card slot not required, good quality display, dual or quad core, at least 1.5GHz, 8GB, SD-card slot, pref JB 4.2x or higher, easy to root, easy to flash with new ROMs, many ROMs for it available..........

Suggestions from anyone out there who is following this thread? 

 

Oma, I owe you a beer (or two) if you're ever passing my way..........................

Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
53
2014/08/23 - 21:23
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I would now like to restore my original Fusion FW JB 4.1.1 from my Nandroid backup on ext sd card......

.....but I keep getting the error message: make_extf4fs failed on dev/block/mtdblock9

 

Is there a simple solution please?

Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
54
2014/08/23 - 21:44
sp_Permalink sp_Print

roses2at said

But the assistant was very helpful, and although those tabs all discovered the device, they wouldn't pair with it. 

Correction to this sentence:

........those tabs all discovered the device, they WOULD pair with it but NOT CONNECT.

So in other words, don't buy the LD-3W. It's cheap (15 GBP, 19 EUR) and compact and easy to use, but will probably not work with any Android device. Furthermore, Nokia only guarantee it to work with another Nokia device.

....it is safe to say that we can only confirm connectivity if both devices are nokia [sic, uncapitalised] branded. 

Regards,

Brian
2nd Level Technical Support

and

.....if the devices do not work together there is nothing we can do. Also, [sic, no definite article] Nokia LD-3W is quite [sic, no 'an'] old product and there are no new software updates etc. expected to come to that device.

Regards,

Edward D.
Central Technical Support UKIRE
Microsoft Mobile Support

 

Conclusion? Don't buy Nokia stuff.

Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
55
2014/08/24 - 11:40
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

roses2at said
I would now like to restore my original Fusion FW JB 4.1.1 from my Nandroid backup on ext sd card......

.....but I keep getting the error message: make_extf4fs failed on dev/block/mtdblock9

 Is there a simple solution please?

 

I have 4 Nandroid backups of my original Fusion FW JB 4.1.1 which I know all (except one) used to work and I have previously managed to restore successfully from. (The first backup I did using the Online Nandroid app as outlined in my second post of this thread shows an MD5 mismatch which I don't know how to correct. I think it's because I renamed it from the date/time default format to something more user friendly. However, after renaming it back to what it was originally, it still shows that mismatch. The other 3 backups were all done from within CWM 6.0.1.5 to ext sd card.)

I have now managed to install CWM so that it DOESN'T give me the error message above (sorry, not quite sure how I did it).........but I still can't restore to my original FW. MD5 sums are accepted and the restore process runs normally to completion via boot, system, data & cache. But on reboot, it either goes into boot-CWM loop or I get the Odys booting...please wait splash screen followed by the Jelly Bean 4.1 splash screen - and then it hangs and there's no further progress even after 10 minutes.

Advice please?

Alternatively, how can I convert the CWM backup files on my PC (which contain vfat.tar and ext4.tar files) into .img files and then using as a template the RKAndroidTool as found in "ODYS_Fusion - Firmware 20130627" (for example) and substituting my four image files?

Perhaps it possible to install these CWM backup files without converting them via ADB sideload, but I think that this method needs a zip file as its source. Do I just take all those files in the back up folder and compress them all into the same zip file and use that? Is it as straightforward as that?

If there's already posts on this forum giving these answers, please point me in their direction.............

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1383
56
2014/08/24 - 12:08
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Partition layout doesn't fit. The layout is defined in parameter. Simply flash the ODYS Fusion firmware incl. eraseIDB (to wipe the current layout). You can later flash the CWM with the included RKAndroidTool and do a backup again.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

roses2at
Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
57
2014/08/24 - 15:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
Partition layout doesn't fit. The layout is defined in parameter.

Which method are you referring to? Converting the vfat.tar and ext4.tar files from the CWM backup files into image files? Or using ADB sideload? Or both??

 Simply flash the ODYS Fusion firmware incl. eraseIDB (to wipe the current layout)

Not good news I'm afraid.

Downloaded a fresh version of ODYS_Fusion – Firmware 20130627 and did EraseIDB/Run with that, and then reflashed with other recovery images but no joy. Either got CWM-boot loop, or splash screen but hangs with no boot animation, or the green droid lying down with red triangle/exclamation mark.

Usually I was able to hard reset and get back into CWM to try restore with my 3 known working Nandroids, but all with the same result, usually the first two of those 3 above.

Are you sure this FW has been properly tested? On a Fusion I mean? Did you take this firmware dump yourself or did someone send it to you?

My concern now is that installing CM10 and applying those format_NAND and int_SD_to_NAND fixes has somehow corrupted or damaged irretrievably/irreparably the internal memory of my device. Is that possible? 

If so, I accept that doing these ROM upgrades is at my own risk and I must face the consequences of my actions.

Is it really true that bricking a device (for a professional like you) is extremely unlikely? That if a person says that what it really means is that they don't have the skills or experience (or computer tools) to recover the tab into a working state again.

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1383
58
2014/08/24 - 15:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

You cannot brick a Rockchip device. However, all what I have seen indicates that the tab has a defective NAND. The Odys Fusion firmware is untouched from the Odys server. Flash back this firmware and make use of your warranty.

- Oma -

The following users say thank you to Oma7144 for this useful post:

roses2at
Avatar
roses2at
Active Member
Forum Posts: 44
Member Since:
2014/08/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
59
2014/08/24 - 16:27
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

Oma7144 said
You cannot brick a Rockchip device. However, all what I have seen indicates that the tab has a defective NAND. The Odys Fusion firmware is untouched from the Odys server. 

It's not possible to brick it?? Really?? That's a really INTERESTING factoid......

However, all things are possible where I am concerned. English proverb "don't count your chickens before they hatch". I might be the first person in the history of tablets to achieve this feat.

 

The Odys Fusion firmware is untouched from the Odys server. 

And you got this FW from the Odys server? Even more incredible. Is that link for public consumption cos I couldn't find ANYTHING like that at all? Can you put it here or send me it via PM?

There's not even a web page for the Fusion anymore and when I complained to Support and also to the QC & Technical Director at Axdia, they told me "we don't offer this product on our website", presumably because it is a discontinued tablet. (Likewise for the Genio, yet they are both still available for sale on Amazon.)

 

However, all what I have seen indicates that the tab has a defective NAND.

OMG, that's a problem. Can you give me your reasons why you think this?

Is there no way to test that for sure, even if I get back into a functioning JB system, maybe via Terminal Emulator?

Even if flash back with this FW, if the device doesn't turn on, and I send it back, Amazon will not refund my money, I think.

I was also told there is a flash counter hidden deep inside the system and that it's possible for them to check if I've been rooting the device and flashing the ROM. That would also void my warranty.

How do I reset that counter?

 

And anyway, I still can't decide what other tablet to buy to replace it.....................

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 6315
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1383
60
2014/08/24 - 16:57
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Not possible. Odys do not support these tabs any longer. All links are dead. That's why it is stored on our server.

- Oma -

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online:
76 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (60), Phone (15), Tablet (1)

Top Posters:

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

maikal: 394

mussonero1: 350

alex: 252

damo: 243

DanielVd: 237

Mark06: 222

Newest Members:

favorit

Альфвоф

kevbez

xxxdddd

xxxddd

Kaydc__

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 6037

Posts: 60500

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 262194

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix