Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Module for Camera GC0308 NOT included in OMA JB v1.2.2 05.10.2012
Tablet with Rockchip RK2906 512MB RAM GT811 GC0308 (Titan 7010A - PC7007ME 8GB) works OK with OMA JB v1.2.2 Android 4.1.1 but camera does not work because the kernel module included for the camera is GC0307
Avatar
superstar
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2014/04/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
2014/04/05 - 22:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hello, I hope someone can help. My tablet (Titan PC7007ME 8GB - same hardware as 7010A - with 512MB RAM, touchscreen GT811, camera GC0308, WLAN RTL8188) was running slow and I decided to flash the original ROM. After the flash (found here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14069232/Internet/Titan7010A/24-0700-0135-TITAN-7010-ICS4.0.3.rar) , the touchscreen was inverted but everything else was OK.

 

Looking for some ROMs, I found: http://www.4shared.com/rar/Amf5RMN4/Etutam_JB_411.html and flashed the tablet with the 512MB kernel. Tablet booted fine and touchscreen inversion was fixed!!!, however, the front camera does NOT work.

 

Connecting the tablet via ADB, I used dmesg to see what the error was, and I found that the camera driver/module included in the kernel is for the GC0307 NOT GC0308.

 

Is downloaded the rk29_kernel_308 (Kernel for RK29 based android devices (V3.0.8)) master branch from github but I have no idea on how to compile an identical kernel as the one OMA has built but adding/replacing the camera module with the gc0308. Is it possible to load the module on the tablet without having to compile the whole kernel?

 

Thank you very much

Avatar
Oma7144

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 5788
Member Since:
2012/10/06
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1281
2
2014/04/05 - 23:00
sp_Permalink sp_Print

No, not possible to load as a module.

 

- Oma -

 

 

Avatar
superstar
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2014/04/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2014/04/05 - 23:13
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

That means I have to compile the kernel, right?

Is there any posibility that you could guide me in including the module (gc0308.c file) to your compiled and working kernel.img?

 

P.S. Thank you for your fast response!

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
4
2014/04/09 - 01:16
sp_Permalink sp_Print

It is not possible to change a kernel included driver after the kernel was built.

If you have the kernel source for a kernel that has the only problem with a wrong camera driver included, there is a small chance that you could compile it with a working camera. But you need a working toolchain to get it up and running.

If you have no experience in compiling a kernel, it is a really hard way.

Without a kernel source, and only a kernel.img, it is nearly impossible to get it working, without deep knowledge of the exact parameters of the tablet. 


Avatar
superstar
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2014/04/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
2014/04/09 - 21:33
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Thanks for the info. Since the current working kernel on my tablet is 3.0.8+ dong@dong #735 and is based on Oma's JB v1.2.2 (according to the "About Tablet" information) I am currently working on successfully compiling the kernel based on the rk29_ddr3sdk_defconfig.

I have been modifying some .c files to solve a few compilation errors (rk29_camera.o, rk29_vout.o, rk29_adc_battery.o and others to come) but after the first compilation is complete I think I will be able to modify the _defconfig file (and probably the board_rk29_ddr3sdk.c) to add the gc0308 camera and the rest of correct hardware.

 

After I successfully compile the kernel, the pain of creating a bootable image will begin.

By the way, does anybody has the .config file for a Titan tablet PC7007ME 8GB or Titan 7010A (512MB RAM, Rockchip 2918/2906, RTL8188, RT5621, GT811) This will shorten my compilation process since I will be fixing only problems related to the correct hardware.

 

Thanks

Avatar
superstar
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2014/04/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
6
2014/04/10 - 01:37
sp_Permalink sp_Print

I have sorted out many errors and now the compilation takes about 5 minutes but it then stops at:

arch/arm/mach-rk29/built-in.o:(.data+0x1110): undefined reference to `rk29_button_light_info'

This rk29_button_light_info is a struct that is not defined anywhere. In arch->arm->mach-rk29->devices.h there is a declaration like:

extern struct rk29_button_light_info rk29_button_light_info;

I am guessing it is an empty struct that gets data assigned in rk29_buttonlight.c:

static s32 rk29_set_button_light(struct backlight_device *bl)
{
    struct rk29_button_light_info *button_light_info = bl->dev.parent->platform_data;

 

Anybody has any ideas on how to solve this?

Avatar
JochenKauz

Moderator

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 450
Member Since:
2012/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 76
7
2014/04/11 - 00:29
sp_Permalink sp_Print

What kernel source did you use, and what defconfig in it?

Avatar
superstar
New Member
Forum Posts: 5
Member Since:
2014/04/05
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
8
2014/04/12 - 18:48
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Sorry for the late response. I have been modifying .c files and disabling CONFIG_xxx options in .config triying to solve this problem.

I am using the rk29_ddr3sdk_defconfig and with make menuconfig I set the drivers that my tablet has. (I only modify the touchscreen: goodix gtxxx - gt811, camera gc0308, audio rt5621 & wifi rtl8188 8192 drivers)

I am in the process of setting up the build environment again. I had Ubuntu 13.10 64-bits and I will try with Ubuntu 12.04.04 32-bits. I have read that 64-bits IS REQUIRED but some people have reported that compilation can be done on a 32-bits Ubuntu.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: daolcer, hotair1983, Mruk, kizzar07, Otura
220 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (190), Phone (26), Tablet (9)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5788

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 432

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

Cuver

Kamenniy

vkil

marlonggg

camoril

agimsopa

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5916

Posts: 58868

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 256548

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix