Latest product reviews
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A

Please consider registering
guest

Log In Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

  
 

— Match —

   

— Forum Options —

    

Minimum search word length is 4 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install package for RK3066 and RK3188 devices available.

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

Topic RSS Related Topics
Recover your Not-So-Bricked Arnova 7 G2 Or Any Other Rock 2918 Device
Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5Topic Rating: 5 Topic Rating: 5 (1 votes) 
2012/01/15
07:40
Hellsgremlin

Contributor
Forum Posts: 10
Thanks Received: 1
Member Since:
2012/01/15
Offline

                     So last week i was browsing the web on my Arnova 7 G2 Device.  Out of nowhere i get got a Force Close Process error and the the device froze.  After I hit the reset button The tablet Restated to the Arnova Screen and just Hung there Occasionally Flashing But never started up.  It SEEMED as if i had a Brick On my hands………….I WAS WRONG!

After a few Hours of Searching How to Fix Arnova 7 Blah Blah Blah I came up short.  Somewhere along the way i read something about Flashing Firmware for another Device not & All related to the Arnova / Archos Devices. However  I Noticed they Used the same Rockchip versions & the tutorial Mentioned the flashing method should In theory work for any Rockchip 918 device.

 

SINCE FINDING THIS INFORMATION & THE PROPER DRIVERS FOR OUR DEVICE WAS SO DIFFICULT TO FIND I HAVE DECIDED TO MAKE A TUTORIAL OF MY OWN SPECIFIC TO OUR DEVICE.

This Tutorial Assumes You Are Using Windows 7

Its Recommended That Your SD card Is Removed Before Continuing

Follow The Steps Below:


(1.) Downloadhttp://www.megaupload.com/?d=FDG7TJ7R

And I just wanted to throw a BIG THANK YOU out to Finless Bob For Making this Firmware,  When i purchased 3 of these tablets i was Pretty sad when i found there was not Root Available,  Within a Week after i purchased them you dropped your Firmware….. U Rock Thanks for your hard work!

 

If You decide you want to Go back to the original firmware you can just download the Update.img From The Archose Website to your SD card.  Your device will take over from there

Last edited by Hellsgremlin on 2012/01/15 - 09:41

2012/01/15
16:17
finless

Contributor
Forum Posts: 604
Thanks Received: 2
Member Since:
2011/12/10
Stanton, Ca
Offline

Your megauploads link says not available?

My post here has a link to my firmware:

/blog/forum/arnova-7-g2/arnova-7-g2-first-custom-firmware-fully-rooted-by-finless/

Here is the direct link:

http://www.helifreakswag.com/arn7g2_23_1_0_arctools.zip

 

Glad you like the firmware.  I will be doing a new version soon with some more added goodies :)

Wifi timer change (may fix the waking up problem)
1 gig memory space for apps
Customize your own boot screen
Better Arctools support and hopefully solve the Market login problems

 

>If You decide you want to Go back to the original firmware you can just download the Update.img From The Archose Website to your SD card.  Your device will take over from there

 

Also this will not work.  Because of the structural changes going to my ROM, to go back you must flash the update.img with the RKBatchtool as explained here:

/blog/featured/flashing-arnova-g2-rockchip-2918-rockchip-flashing-tool/

 

Bob

Last edited by finless on 2012/01/15 - 17:21

2012/01/15
17:00
Reisen Inaba

Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2012/01/14
Offline
3
0

Nice guide hellsgremlin! Should help alot of stuck people.
Also looking forward to your update bob, will the custom boot screen be as simple as a bmp/jpg image packaged in one of the .img files?

2012/01/15
23:57
Hellsgremlin

Contributor
Forum Posts: 10
Thanks Received: 1
Member Since:
2012/01/15
Offline
4
0

finless said

Your megauploads link says not available?

My post here has a link to my firmware:

/blog/forum/arnova-7-g2/arnova-7-g2-first-custom-firmware-fully-rooted-by-finless/

Here is the direct link:

http://www.helifreakswag.com/arn7g2_23_1_0_arctools.zip

 

Glad you like the firmware.  I will be doing a new version soon with some more added goodies :)

Wifi timer change (may fix the waking up problem)
1 gig memory space for apps
Customize your own boot screen
Better Arctools support and hopefully solve the Market login problems

 

>If You decide you want to Go back to the original firmware you can just download the Update.img From The Archose Website to your SD card.  Your device will take over from there

 

Also this will not work.  Because of the structural changes going to my ROM, to go back you must flash the update.img with the RKBatchtool as explained here:

/blog/featured/flashing-arnova-g2-rockchip-2918-rockchip-flashing-tool/

 

Bob

Checked The Mega Upload link – Works for me… but i am going to Upload it to a few more Sources In case it goes down on one or another.

Just wanted to add, Since your current firmware I have not had Any Wake up Issues. I only ever notice because My girlfriends is alway plugged into next to mine Her’s is always on when i unplug mine from the charger.  she’s still on stock

 

I

2012/01/16
01:10
finless

Contributor
Forum Posts: 604
Thanks Received: 2
Member Since:
2011/12/10
Stanton, Ca
Offline
5
0

Interesting.  every time I have tried to go back to the stock ROM by just copying over the Arnova update.img to the root sdcard, it would flash and all that no problem but would hang on the Arnova boot screen.  Are you sure you tried it by just copying update.img and made sure it booted all they way going back to stock from my ROM?  I would try it again but I do not want to reflash right now.

For sure you cannot go to my ROM from stock doing this you have to use the flash tool.  This I have tried many times to make a udpate.img that people do not need a flash tool to make work but alas it is not possible.  The recovery system just does not want to flash my system.img properly.

 

Bob

2012/01/16
01:20
Hellsgremlin

Contributor
Forum Posts: 10
Thanks Received: 1
Member Since:
2012/01/15
Offline
6
0

finless said

Interesting.  every time I have tried to go back to the stock ROM by just copying over the Arnova update.img to the root sdcard, it would flash and all that no problem but would hang on the Arnova boot screen.  Are you sure you tried it by just copying update.img and made sure it booted all they way going back to stock from my ROM?  I would try it again but I do not want to reflash right now.

For sure you cannot go to my ROM from stock doing this you have to use the flash tool.  This I have tried many times to make a udpate.img that people do not need a flash tool to make work but alas it is not possible.  The recovery system just does not want to flash my system.img properly.

 

Bob

______________________________________________________________________________________

No you were correct,  I will edit that out of there.  That was a Untested Suggestion i shouldnt have put that in there.   I just tested it for the sake of trying and exactly what you have described has occured.  The Update.img Flashed but It did not start up.  Just hung at arnova.

2012/01/16
01:24
finless

Contributor
Forum Posts: 604
Thanks Received: 2
Member Since:
2011/12/10
Stanton, Ca
Offline
7
0

Well not to say good but I thought I was going nuts there for a second ;)

 

Bob

2012/01/16
14:03
Reisen Inaba

Active Member
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
2012/01/14
Offline
8
0

Am I right in saying we don’t have a way of creating an image other current ROM so that’s don’t have to go through settings and reinstalling apps when we have to reflash an Image? Titanium backup is a good way of backing up the apps and system apps/data. It would make things like this a less daunting task especially if you spent ages setting the system the way you want it.

2012/01/16
16:39
finless

Contributor
Forum Posts: 604
Thanks Received: 2
Member Since:
2011/12/10
Stanton, Ca
Offline
9
0

The only way to restore fast (faster than titanium backup) is to use ADB and push everything over to the tablet.

 

Bob

2012/11/11
20:20
chifleta

New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2012/11/09
Offline
10
0

Hellsgremlin said
                     So last week i was browsing the web on my Arnova 7 G2 Device.  Out of nowhere i get got a Force Close Process error and the the device froze.  After I hit the reset button The tablet Restated to the Arnova Screen and just Hung there Occasionally Flashing But never started up.  It SEEMED as if i had a Brick On my hands………….I WAS WRONG!

After a few Hours of Searching How to Fix Arnova 7 Blah Blah Blah I came up short.  Somewhere along the way i read something about Flashing Firmware for another Device not & All related to the Arnova / Archos Devices. However  I Noticed they Used the same Rockchip versions & the tutorial Mentioned the flashing method should In theory work for any Rockchip 918 device.

 

SINCE FINDING THIS INFORMATION & THE PROPER DRIVERS FOR OUR DEVICE WAS SO DIFFICULT TO FIND I HAVE DECIDED TO MAKE A TUTORIAL OF MY OWN SPECIFIC TO OUR DEVICE.

This Tutorial Assumes You Are Using Windows 7

Its Recommended That Your SD card Is Removed Before Continuing

Follow The Steps Below:


(1.) Downloadhttp://www.megaupload.com/?d=FDG7TJ7R

And I just wanted to throw a BIG THANK YOU out to Finless Bob For Making this Firmware,  When i purchased 3 of these tablets i was Pretty sad when i found there was not Root Available,  Within a Week after i purchased them you dropped your Firmware….. U Rock Thanks for your hard work!

 

If You decide you want to Go back to the original firmware you can just download the Update.img From The Archose Website to your SD card.  Your device will take over from there

 

Hopefully i’m in the right section now … repeating my plea here:

pleaaaaaase help a computer illiterate (well, with modern technology anyway – ask me to change a ribbon on an old typewriter and easy peasy) – I was given an Arnova 7G2 new in the box.  It’s been working fine – I don’t want/need any fancy apps, so not worried about google market and whatnot, I literally just use it for convenience for checking emails and playing a game or two.  It has frozen a couple of times in the month or two that i’ve had it, but either with the long hold of the on slide or paperclip in the reset hole would sort it, but the other day the screen froze on boot up with the just the Arnova logo.  I have scrolled through LOADS of forums to find a solution so that “restore to factory settings” pops up on the screen, but to no avail.  The reset hole just closes it down.  I’ve run the battery right down and re-charged.  I’ve reset, then plugged in and slid the on/off switch (slide slide pause slide slide pause) as someone had put on another forum as a solution, i’ve reset and held the reset for 5, 10, 15, 20, 30 up to a minute … i’ve done the same with the on/off button…. i’ve plugged it into computer, nothing, doesn’t even recognise it ….. there is NO volume button on my Arnova, so can’t do the “hold on button and minus volume at the same time” grrr…..

I need instructions in laymens terms pleeeeeease Cry. I’ve read through this forum and really don’t understand much of it – I haven’t opened up the tablet yet though to check battery/cables etc…. so that is the next step I suppose.

 

Oh, the Arnova logo does flash on and off briefly every 20 seconds …

 

So i’ve just read through this thread, and also linked through to this thread /blog/forum/arnova-7-g2/arnova-7-g2-first-custom-firmware-fully-rooted-by-finless/page-6/ and this one blog/archos-tablet/flashing-firmware-rockchip-cpu-based-devices-archos-ht-7-8-arnova-10/ – there seem to be solutions, but my computer won’t even recognise my tablet, will this be a problem? and also, I haven’t got a clue which driver to download to “flash” (whatever that means) my tablet…. HELLLLLLP….. desesperada en Tenerife Cool

2012/11/19
16:03
Hellsgremlin

Contributor
Forum Posts: 10
Thanks Received: 1
Member Since:
2012/01/15
Offline
11
0

If your still looking for help plz either reply yes or pm me. I will set u up so u can talk to me in voice so I can walk u thru step by step…..if u read the tutorial carefully it should fix your problem….however use a more up-to-date firmware then that….either way ur request for help is a week old…. I rarely log in here but will check back frequiantly for the next 3 days to see if ur still looking for help

The following users say thank you to Hellsgremlin for this useful post:

chifleta
2012/11/19
16:35
chifleta

New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2012/11/09
Offline
12
0

Oh thanks for replying – I’ve actually sent it off for repair – it was a present and didn’t have receipt, but the shop accepted it and sent it off and promised a new one if it isn’t returned within a month :D , so have my fingers n toes crossed – although this looks like a regular occurence, so may contact you again in the future. Thanks again.

 

One question, when you say firmware? is this something I need to download onto the tablet when I get it back? shall I follow the instructions (eeek) at the start of this thread? I really only use it for checking emails and (embarrasingly) FB… so don’t need lots of apps n things, which is why I was so miffed that it froze.  Mind you, even setting up email address on the programme on this tablet was fun, found a forum that had instructions on how to do that too, surprising how complicated they make these thing huh!

2012/11/21
08:42
Hellsgremlin

Contributor
Forum Posts: 10
Thanks Received: 1
Member Since:
2012/01/15
Offline
13
0

  I just now noticed 90% of this tutorial is missing.   The original post was a very detailed step by step tutorial which was broken down in such as if i was explaining it to my grandmother.

 

Im not sure why it is missing or how it has been modified.

 

HOPEFULLY a mod or site was archived @ some point & prehaps a moderater or website admin can restore my tutorial as i feel it was a quality walk thruogh and was helpful to alot of ppl

2012/11/21
14:13
chifleta

New Member
Forum Posts: 10
Member Since:
2012/11/09
Offline
14
0

Well, the shop said it was “irrepairable” … so i’ve now got a gift voucher to get a new one – I still want a 7 inch tablet, which version would you recommend? I think i’ll go for one with volume button LOL because most of the threads I read to do a factory restore said hold on switch and minus volume button together :D

2012/11/21
17:03
admin


Please donate to support our work


admin
Forum Posts: 5719
Thanks Received: 3095
Member Since:
2010/09/11
Offline
My tablet:
JMI Pulse 10
15
0

Don’t worry about the volume button thing in case of firmware flash, it’s just a different setting with tablets such as the Arnova 7 G2, but they are as capable as the other Rockchip based tablets.

The 7G3 is probably one of the best 7″ Arnova model in term of value/price. The 7f G3 isn’t bad but doesn’t have HDMI or Host capable USB port. The newer 7h G3 is similar to the 7 G3 with more limited features and cheaper price.

In the end, all these Arnova G3 tablets aren’t that up to date in term of hardware with considering they run on single core ARM Cortex A8 processors. The newer models based on dual Core A9 RK3066 CPUs (such as the Cube U30GT-MINI) are way better for a similar price (around 120 euros), but they are mostly imports from China and not yet very frequent in stores ouside Asia.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: majkkky, pingu123456, eisbaer373, Khaan, dol54, peter_hastig, stergios1951, pepko, henryso, chwileulotne85, toptony, Barberus, hamzaki3, majnoun, Soxx, peppermint, mykado, mandem, densibanda, LeDouin2, Aiden27, songokuy
376 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

admin: 5719

Oma7144: 2636

globula_neagra: 2416

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 550

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 427

cracktech: 366

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 41

Members: 222758

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 180

Topics: 5199

Posts: 48537

Newest Members: songokuy, songokuyy, waso63, zZneoZz, pietomasz, berginski2

Moderators: globula_neagra: 2416, exelletor: 450, JochenKauz: 427, Oma7144: 2636, cracktech: 366


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix

Administrators: admin: 5719