Latest product reviews
ARCHOS 50 Diamond
ARCHOS GamePad2
ARCHOS
Smartphones
ARCHOS
TV Connect
ARCHOS 101 XS

A A A
Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —






— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?

ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery easy install for RK3066 and RK3188 -- TWRP/CWM Flash-Tool and root for RK3288

 Please donate to support OMA and CrewRKTablets firmware work, thank you !

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Any thoughts on how to use all of the 512mb RAM instead of just 256mb?
Avatar
elevener
New Member
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
2011/10/02
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
2011/12/09 - 12:39
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Most of you must have noticed the limited RAM that is available, seems like it´s only 256mb even though every 10G2 comes with 512mb RAM.

Some forums talk about that the other 256mb is reserved for the Android OS, but it can´t be using the whole 256mb all of the time. I think a few extra mb of RAM would really make a difference..

I wonder if there is a way to overclock the ram or somehow lower the OS RAM to 128mb or something...?

 

Any thoughts on this?

Avatar
admin

admin
Forum Posts: 5872
Member Since:
2010/09/11
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 3163
2
2011/12/09 - 21:26
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

To figure out how much memory is available you can use tools such as Quick System Info PRO.

You will see that Android system itself eats more than 200 Mb even when no other application is started. This corresponds to the kernel, the drivers, services and running applications, etc… 

512 Mb total is enough for most situations. If you look back, you will find that Archos Gen8 devices were running on 256 Mb and it was about OK. Archos G9 runs Honeycomb (and soon Ice Cream Sandwich) on 512 Mb and   

In a recent developers conference, Marc de Courville (director of software engineering at Archos) mentionned that they adapted Android source code for better memory management on Archos G9.

/blog/archos-tablet/paug-conference-android-honeycomb-porting-to-archos-g9/

 

On Rockchip devices, such as the Arnova 10 G2, memory management may be less optimal but it should be fine with 512 Mb on Gingerbread. You can help it a little by using Task killer applications, but they shouldn't be need on post 2.0 versions of Android.

If you like our web site, applications and firmwares, feel free to support our site. Donations are used to pay the bills for our server hosting costs, development tools and purchase new tablets to support.

Avatar
ttz642t

Firmware Guru
Forum Posts: 53
Member Since:
2011/11/19
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
3
2012/01/14 - 13:38
sp_Permalink sp_Print

elevener said

Most of you must have noticed the limited RAM that is available, seems like it´s only 256mb even though every 10G2 comes with 512mb RAM.

Some forums talk about that the other 256mb is reserved for the Android OS, but it can´t be using the whole 256mb all of the time. I think a few extra mb of RAM would really make a difference..

I wonder if there is a way to overclock the ram or somehow lower the OS RAM to 128mb or something...?

 

Any thoughts on this?

rootfs, tmpfs, devfs are all ram based, by default they will be given half the physical memory less the kernel, and if you do a df you'll find :

$busybox df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                  153.0M     32.0k      8.0M   0% /dev
tmpfs                  153.0M         0      8.0M   0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs                  153.0M         0      8.0M   0% /mnt/obb

 

Now half of 512M is 256M, if we subtract 153M we get 103M (which is probably the kernel).

This isn't a problem with systems that have swap as the unused/infrequentlyused will get swapped out, but we don't have swap.

I've tried remounting and have some success but the devfs & rootfs get allocated too early in the boot process.

I'm looking into another rom because of this limit...

Avatar
snakekiller
Active Member
Forum Posts: 25
Member Since:
2012/01/07
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks Received: 1
4
2012/01/14 - 13:45
sp_Permalink sp_Print

This would be nice


Avatar
simondo

Contributor
Forum Posts: 78
Member Since:
2012/01/04
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
5
2012/01/14 - 14:43
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

People keep forgetting the gpu will be taking some

Forum Timezone: Europe/Paris

Most Users Ever Online: 749

Currently Online: Gnostyk
217 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)


Devices in use: Desktop (171), Phone (41), Tablet (6)

Top Posters:

Oma7144: 5786

globula_neagra: 2424

finless: 604

DarthJabba: 551

exelletor: 450

JochenKauz: 450

cracktech: 432

maikal: 394

Newest Members:

raiko258

keon

Werfkjl

goldmon

rarera

richo

Forum Stats:

Groups: 10

Forums: 185

Topics: 5917

Posts: 58864

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 43

Members: 256534

Moderators: 5

Admins: 1

Administrators: admin

Moderators: globula_neagra, exelletor, JochenKauz, Oma7144, cracktech


CrewRKTablets moderators: JochenKauz and Astralix